advertisement
Artificial Intelligence News
January 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Scientists repurposed living frog cells -- and assembled them into entirely new life-forms. These tiny 'xenobots' can move toward a target and heal themselves after being ... read more

Trash Talk Hurts, Even When It Comes from a Robot

Trash talking has a long and colorful history of flustering game opponents, and now researchers have demonstrated that discouraging words can be perturbing even when uttered by a ... read more

Two-Legged Robot Mimics Human Balance While Running and Jumping

Engineers have developed a method to control balance in a two-legged, teleoperated robot -- an essential step toward enabling a humanoid to carry out high-impact tasks in challenging ... read more

Artificial Skin Creates First Ticklish Devices

A new interface takes touch technology to the next level by providing an artificial skin-like membrane for augmenting interactive devices such as phones, wearables or ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 11:51pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Milestone in Quantum Standardization

Researchers have developed a method that could pave the way to establishing universal standards for measuring the performance of quantum computers. The new method, called cycle benchmarking, allows ... read more

New Metallic Material for Flexible Soft Robots

A team has created a material that is half as light as paper and highly flexible but also shows enhanced characteristics for electrical conductivity, heat generation, fire-resistance, strain-sensing ... read more

Scientists Help Soldiers Figure out What Robots Know

A research team developed new algorithms and filled in knowledge gaps about how robots contribute to teams and what robots know about their environment and ... read more

How to Design and Control Robots With Stretchy, Flexible Bodies

Researchers have invented a way to efficiently optimize the control and design of soft robots for target tasks, which has traditionally been a monumental undertaking in ... read more

Bot Can Beat Humans in Multiplayer Hidden-Role Games

Researchers have developed a bot equipped with artificial intelligence that can beat human players in tricky online multiplayer games where player roles and motives are kept ... read more

Soft Skin-Like Robots You Can Put in Your Pocket

Stretchable skin-like robots that can be rolled up and put in your pocket have been developed by a team using a new way of embedding artificial muscles and electrical adhesion into soft ... read more

Artificial Intelligence Algorithm Can Learn the Laws of Quantum Mechanics

Artificial intelligence can be used to predict molecular wave functions and the electronic properties of molecules. This innovative AI method could be used to speed-up the design of drug molecules or ... read more

Quantum Computers Learn to Mark Their Own Work

A new test to check if a quantum computer is giving correct answers to questions beyond the scope of traditional computing could help the first quantum computer that can outperform a classical ... read more

Researchers Bring Gaming to Autonomous Vehicles

Researchers have designed multiplayer games occupants of autonomous vehicles can play with other players in nearby self-driving cars. A new study details three games created for level three and ... read more

Tiny Low-Energy Device to Rapidly Reroute Light in Computer Chips

Researchers have developed an optical switch that routes light from one computer chip to another in just 20 billionths of a second -- faster than any other similar device. The compact switch is the ... read more

Human-Machine Interactions: Bots Are More Successful If They Impersonate Humans

An international research team sought to find out whether cooperation between humans and machines is different if the machine purports to be human. They carried out an experiment in which humans ... read more

New Artificial Intelligence System Automatically Evolves to Evade Internet Censorship

Researchers developed a tool called Geneva (short for Genetic Evasion), which automatically learns to circumvent censorship. Tested in China, India and Kazakhstan, Geneva found dozens of ways to ... read more

Robots Appear More Persuasive When Pretending to Be Human

Recent technological breakthroughs in artificial intelligence have made it possible for machines, or bots, to pass as humans. A team of researchers studied study how people interact with bots they ... read more

Flexible Yet Sturdy Robot Is Designed to 'Grow' Like a Plant

Engineers have developed a robot designed to extend a chain-like appendage flexible enough to twist and turn in any necessary configuration, yet rigid enough to support heavy loads or apply torque to ... read more

Showing Robots 'Tough Love' Helps Them Succeed

According to a new study by computer scientists, to help a robot succeed, you might need to show it some tough love. In a computer-simulated manipulation task, the researchers found that training a ... read more

Deep Neural Networks Uncover What the Brain Likes to See

Researchers built deep artificial neural networks that can accurately predict the neural responses produced by a biological brain to arbitrary visual stimuli. These networks can be thought of as a ... read more

Technique Helps Robots Find the Front Door

Engineers have developed a navigation method that doesn't require mapping an area in advance. Instead, their approach enables a robot to use clues in its environment to plan out a route to its ... read more

RoboBee Powered by Soft Muscles

Researchers have developed a resilient RoboBee powered by soft artificial muscles that can crash into walls, fall onto the floor, and collide with other RoboBees without being damaged. It is the ... read more

Worker Robots That Learn from Mistakes

Practice makes perfect -- it is an adage that has helped humans become highly dexterous and now it is an approach that is being applied to ... read more

This AI Birdwatcher Lets You 'See' Through the Eyes of a Machine

It can take years of birdwatching experience to tell one species from the next. But using an artificial intelligence technique called deep learning, researchers have trained a computer to identify up ... read more

Monday, November 25, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Sunday, October 20, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Friday, September 27, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Friday, September 6, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Friday, August 30, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Friday, August 9, 2019
Tuesday, August 6, 2019
Friday, August 2, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Friday, July 19, 2019
Thursday, July 18, 2019
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Friday, July 12, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019