advertisement
Communications News
December 8, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Trash Talk Hurts, Even When It Comes from a Robot

Trash talking has a long and colorful history of flustering game opponents, and now researchers have demonstrated that discouraging words can be perturbing even when uttered by a ... read more

Computer Scientists Develop New Tool That Generates Videos from Themed Text

A global team of computer scientists have developed ''Write-A-Video'', a new tool that generates videos from themed text. Using words and text editing, the tool automatically determines which scenes ... read more
Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin and Monero -- the names of digital-based 'cryptocurrencies' are being heard more and more frequently. But despite having no physical ... read more
Researchers have made good on their claim to quantum supremacy. Using 53 entangled quantum bits ('qubits'), their Sycamore computer has taken on -- and solved -- a problem ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 11:21am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Machine Learning That Works Like a Dream

Researchers have developed a machine learning algorithm that classifies the sleep stages of mice with record accuracy. This work may be used to greatly enhance the field of sleep ... read more

New Technology Makes Internet Memes Accessible for People With Visual Impairments

People with visual impairments use social media like everyone else, often with the help of screen reader software. But that technology falls short when it encounters memes, which don't include ... read more

Milestone in Quantum Standardization

Researchers have developed a method that could pave the way to establishing universal standards for measuring the performance of quantum computers. The new method, called cycle benchmarking, allows ... read more

Rise of the Bots: Team Completes First Census of Wikipedia Bots

Researchers have completed the first analysis of all 1,601 of Wikipedia's bots, using computer algorithms to classify them by function and shed light on the ways that machine intelligences and ... read more

Bot Can Beat Humans in Multiplayer Hidden-Role Games

Researchers have developed a bot equipped with artificial intelligence that can beat human players in tricky online multiplayer games where player roles and motives are kept ... read more

'Epidermal VR' Gives Technology a Human Touch

Researchers have developed a new thin, wireless system that adds a sense of touch to any virtual reality (VR) experience. Not only does this platform potentially add new dimensions to our ... read more

Making Tiny Antennas for Wearable Electronics

When it comes to electronics, bigger usually isn't better. This is especially true for a new generation of wearable communication systems that promise to connect people, machines and other ... read more

Beyond Moore's Law: Taking Transistor Arrays Into the Third Dimension

Silicon integrated circuits, which are used in computer processors, are approaching the maximum feasible density of transistors on a single chip -- at least, in two-dimensional ... read more

Artificial Intelligence Algorithm Can Learn the Laws of Quantum Mechanics

Artificial intelligence can be used to predict molecular wave functions and the electronic properties of molecules. This innovative AI method could be used to speed-up the design of drug molecules or ... read more

Quantum Computers Learn to Mark Their Own Work

A new test to check if a quantum computer is giving correct answers to questions beyond the scope of traditional computing could help the first quantum computer that can outperform a classical ... read more

Researchers Bring Gaming to Autonomous Vehicles

Researchers have designed multiplayer games occupants of autonomous vehicles can play with other players in nearby self-driving cars. A new study details three games created for level three and ... read more

Digital Media Has Damaging Impact on Reintegration of 'White Collar' Criminals

Offenders convicted of occupational crime and corruption are having their rehabilitation negatively affected by long term 'labels' attached to them on digital media, according to new ... read more

Tiny Low-Energy Device to Rapidly Reroute Light in Computer Chips

Researchers have developed an optical switch that routes light from one computer chip to another in just 20 billionths of a second -- faster than any other similar device. The compact switch is the ... read more

Design Flaw Could Open Bluetooth Devices to Hacking

Mobile apps that work with Bluetooth devices have an inherent design flaw that makes them vulnerable to hacking, new research has ... read more

New Artificial Intelligence System Automatically Evolves to Evade Internet Censorship

Researchers developed a tool called Geneva (short for Genetic Evasion), which automatically learns to circumvent censorship. Tested in China, India and Kazakhstan, Geneva found dozens of ways to ... read more

Research to Make (Fun) Multi-Player Gaming an Educational Experience

A new video game framework brings together two well-studied approaches to educational software in order to keep multiple players engrossed in the learning experience while fostering collaboration and ... read more

Deep Neural Networks Speed Up Weather and Climate Models

A team of environmental and computation scientists is using deep neural networks, a type of machine learning, to replace the parameterizations of certain physical schemes in the Weather Research and ... read more

Robots Appear More Persuasive When Pretending to Be Human

Recent technological breakthroughs in artificial intelligence have made it possible for machines, or bots, to pass as humans. A team of researchers studied study how people interact with bots they ... read more

Larger Than Life: Augmented Ants

The first app of its kind allows users to interact with biodiversity research through augmented ... read more

Large Scale Integrated Circuits Produced in Printing Press

Researchers have shown for the first time that it is possible to print complete integrated circuits with more than 100 organic electrochemical ... read more

Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Sunday, October 20, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Monday, October 14, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Friday, October 4, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Friday, September 27, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019