advertisement
Computer Modeling News
December 12, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Machine Learning Predicts Behavior of Biological Circuits

Biomedical engineers have devised a machine learning approach to modeling the interactions between complex variables in engineered bacteria that would otherwise be too cumbersome to predict. Their ... read more

'Personalized DJ' Music Playlist Algorithm Matches Songs to Listeners' Changing Moods

Imagine having a disc jockey inside your computer who matches the music played to your current frame of mind. According to new research, machine ... read more

Seeing How Computers 'Think' Helps Humans Stump Machines and Reveals AI Weaknesses

Researchers have figured out how to reliably create questions that challenge computers and reflect the complexity of human language through a ... read more

Neural Nets to Simulate Molecular Motion Cast

New work is showing that artificial neural nets can be trained to encode quantum mechanical laws to describe the motions of molecules, supercharging simulations potentially across a broad range of ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 10:51am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

A New Parallel Strategy for Tackling Turbulence on Summit

A team developed an algorithm for simulating turbulence on Summit, the world's most powerful and smartest supercomputer. The team distributed the problem in such a way that the algorithm reached ... read more

Deep Neural Networks Speed Up Weather and Climate Models

A team of environmental and computation scientists is using deep neural networks, a type of machine learning, to replace the parameterizations of certain physical schemes in the Weather Research and ... read more

Better Autonomous 'Reasoning' at Tricky Intersections

Researchers have designed a new model to help autonomous vehicles determine when it's safe to merge into traffic at intersections with obstructed ... read more

Stanford Increasing Access to 3D Modeling Through Touch-Based Display

Researchers designed a tactile display that aims to make 3D printing and computer-aided design accessible to people who are blind and visually ... read more

Natural Language Interface for Data Visualization Debuts

A team has developed FlowSense, which lets those who may not be experts in machine learning create highly flexible visualizations from almost any ... read more

Novel Method Turns Any 3D Object Into a Cubic Style

Computer scientists have developed a computational method to quantify an abstract cubic style. Additionally, their method also enables users to create new shapes that resemble the input shape and ... read more

Land Management Practices to Reduce Nitrogen Load May Be Affected by Climate Changes

Nitrogen from agricultural production is a major cause of pollution in the Mississippi River Basin and contributes to large dead zones in the Gulf of Mexico. Illinois and other Midwestern states have ... read more

Experiment Measures Velocity in 3D

Many of today's scientific processes are simulated using computer-driven mathematical models. But for a model to accurately predict how air flow behaves at high speeds, for example, scientists ... read more

Hydrologic Simulation Models That Inform Policy Decisions Are Difficult to Interpret

Hydrologic models that simulate and predict water flow are used to estimate how natural systems respond to different scenarios such as changes in climate, land use, and soil management. The output ... read more

Engineers Solve 50-Year-Old Puzzle in Signal Processing

Engineers have solved a 50-year-old puzzle in signal processing. They've formulated the 'inverse chirp z-transform,' an algorithm related to one that's running on your cell phone ... read more

Deep3DFly: The Deep-Learning Way to Design Fly-Like Robots

Scientists have developed a deep-learning based motion-capture software that uses multiple camera views to model the movements of a fly in three dimensions. The ultimate aim is to use this knowledge ... read more

Computer Model Helps Make Sense of Human Memory

Researchers have created an artificial network to simulate the brain, demonstrating that tinkering with inhibitory circuits leads to extended ... read more

Computer Kidney Sheds Light on Proper Hydration

A new computer kidney could tell researchers more about the impacts of medicines taken by people who don't drink enough ... read more

The Fast Dance of Electron Spins

Metal complexes show a fascinating behavior in their interactions with light, which for example is utilized in organic light emitting diodes, solar cells, quantum computers, or even in cancer ... read more

Supercomputing, Neutrons Unite to Unravel Structures of Intrinsically Disordered Protein

Scientists have created the most accurate 3D model yet of an intrinsically disordered protein, revealing the ensemble of its atomic-level ... read more

Why Multipartite Viruses Infect Plants Rather Than Animals

Being in between living and non-living, viruses are, in general, strange. Among viruses, multipartite viruses are among the most peculiar -- their genome is not packed into one, but many, particles. ... read more

Virtual Human Hand Simulation Holds Promise for Prosthetics

Animating human hands has long been considered one of the most challenging problems in computer graphics. That's because it has been impossible to capture the internal movement of the hand in ... read more

Scientists Finally Find Superconductivity in Place They Have Been Looking for Decades

Scientists prove a well-known model of material behavior applies to high-temperature superconductors, giving them a new tool for understanding how these materials conduct electricity with no loss. ... read more

Numbers Limit How Accurately Digital Computers Model Chaos

Digital computers use numbers based on flawed representations of real numbers, which may lead to inaccuracies when simulating the motion of molecules, weather systems and fluids, find ... read more

Do as I Say: Translating Language Into Movement

Researchers have developed a computer model that can translate text describing physical movements directly into simple computer-generated animations, a first step toward someday generating movies ... read more

Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Friday, October 4, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Sunday, August 18, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Friday, August 2, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Monday, June 17, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Thursday, June 6, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Friday, May 17, 2019
Thursday, May 16, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Monday, April 22, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Friday, March 22, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Friday, February 15, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Friday, February 1, 2019
Friday, January 25, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019