advertisement
Computer Programming News
December 8, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Machine Learning Predicts Behavior of Biological Circuits

Biomedical engineers have devised a machine learning approach to modeling the interactions between complex variables in engineered bacteria that would otherwise be too cumbersome to predict. Their ... read more

'Poor Man's Qubit' Can Solve Quantum Problems Without Going Quantum

Researchers have built and demonstrated the first hardware for a probabilistic computer, a possible way to bridge the gap between classical and quantum ... read more

Brain-Inspired Computing Could Tackle Big Problems in a Small Way

While computers have become smaller and more powerful and supercomputers and parallel computing have become the standard, we are about to hit a wall in energy and miniaturization. Now, researchers ... read more

A Smart Artificial Hand for Amputees Merges User and Robotic Control

Scientists have successfully tested new neuroprosthetic technology that combines robotic control with users' voluntary control, opening avenues in the new interdisciplinary field of shared control ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 10:51pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Machine Learning That Works Like a Dream

Researchers have developed a machine learning algorithm that classifies the sleep stages of mice with record accuracy. This work may be used to greatly enhance the field of sleep ... read more

Artificial Intelligence-Based Algorithm for Intensive Care of Traumatic Brain Injury

A recent study presents the first artificial intelligence (AI) based algorithm that may be utilized in the intensive care unit for treating patients with severe traumatic brain ... read more

How to Measure Inequality as 'Experienced Difference'

Researchers propose a novel twist on the widely used Gini coefficient -- a workhorse statistical measure for gauging the gap between haves and ... read more

Machine Learning Microscope Adapts Lighting to Improve Diagnosis

Engineers have developed a microscope that adapts its lighting angles, colors and patterns while teaching itself the optimal settings needed to complete a given diagnostic task. In the initial ... read more

A New Parallel Strategy for Tackling Turbulence on Summit

A team developed an algorithm for simulating turbulence on Summit, the world's most powerful and smartest supercomputer. The team distributed the problem in such a way that the algorithm reached ... read more

New Artificial Intelligence System Automatically Evolves to Evade Internet Censorship

Researchers developed a tool called Geneva (short for Genetic Evasion), which automatically learns to circumvent censorship. Tested in China, India and Kazakhstan, Geneva found dozens of ways to ... read more

Research to Make (Fun) Multi-Player Gaming an Educational Experience

A new video game framework brings together two well-studied approaches to educational software in order to keep multiple players engrossed in the learning experience while fostering collaboration and ... read more

Deep Neural Networks Speed Up Weather and Climate Models

A team of environmental and computation scientists is using deep neural networks, a type of machine learning, to replace the parameterizations of certain physical schemes in the Weather Research and ... read more

Using AI to Predict Where and When Lightning Will Strike

Researchers have developed a novel way of predicting lightning strikes to the nearest 10 to 30 minutes and within a radius of 30 kilometers. The system uses a combination of standard data from ... read more

No More Traffic Blues for Information Transfer: Decongesting Wireless Channels

The increasing number of devices connected over wireless networks is causing channels of information flow to be congested with heavy information traffic. But, these devices are resource-constrained ... read more

Showing Robots 'Tough Love' Helps Them Succeed

According to a new study by computer scientists, to help a robot succeed, you might need to show it some tough love. In a computer-simulated manipulation task, the researchers found that training a ... read more

Technique Helps Robots Find the Front Door

Engineers have developed a navigation method that doesn't require mapping an area in advance. Instead, their approach enables a robot to use clues in its environment to plan out a route to its ... read more

Worker Robots That Learn from Mistakes

Practice makes perfect -- it is an adage that has helped humans become highly dexterous and now it is an approach that is being applied to ... read more

This AI Birdwatcher Lets You 'See' Through the Eyes of a Machine

It can take years of birdwatching experience to tell one species from the next. But using an artificial intelligence technique called deep learning, researchers have trained a computer to identify up ... read more

Artificial Networks Shed Light on Human Face Recognition

Our brains are so primed to recognize faces - or to tell people apart - that we rarely even stop to think about it, but what happens in the brain when it engages in such recognition is still far from ... read more

AI Outperforms Clinicians' Judgment in Triaging Postoperative Patients for Intensive Care

Artificial intelligence (AI) in the form of a machine-learned algorithm correctly triaged the vast majority of postoperative patients to the intensive care unit in its first proof-of-concept ... read more

Stanford Increasing Access to 3D Modeling Through Touch-Based Display

Researchers designed a tactile display that aims to make 3D printing and computer-aided design accessible to people who are blind and visually ... read more

Compact Depth Sensor Inspired by Spiders

Inspired by jumping spiders, researchers have developed a compact and efficient depth sensor that could be used on board microrobots, in small wearable devices, or in lightweight virtual and ... read more

Teaching Cars to Drive With Foresight

Good drivers anticipate dangerous situations and adjust their driving before things get dicey. Researchers now also want to teach this skill to self-driving ... read more

Natural Language Interface for Data Visualization Debuts

A team has developed FlowSense, which lets those who may not be experts in machine learning create highly flexible visualizations from almost any ... read more

Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Sunday, August 18, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Friday, August 9, 2019
Tuesday, August 6, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Friday, August 2, 2019
Thursday, August 1, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Friday, July 26, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Monday, July 22, 2019
Thursday, July 18, 2019
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Friday, July 12, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Tuesday, July 9, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019
Thursday, June 20, 2019
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Friday, June 7, 2019
Thursday, May 30, 2019
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Friday, May 24, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Sunday, May 19, 2019
Friday, May 17, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Saturday, May 4, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Monday, April 22, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019