advertisement
Distributed Computing News
December 5, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Researchers have made good on their claim to quantum supremacy. Using 53 entangled quantum bits ('qubits'), their Sycamore computer has taken on -- and solved -- a problem ... read more

'Poor Man's Qubit' Can Solve Quantum Problems Without Going Quantum

Researchers have built and demonstrated the first hardware for a probabilistic computer, a possible way to bridge the gap between classical and quantum ... read more

Brain-Inspired Computing Could Tackle Big Problems in a Small Way

While computers have become smaller and more powerful and supercomputers and parallel computing have become the standard, we are about to hit a wall in energy and miniaturization. Now, researchers ... read more

Calculating the Properties of Molecules on a Noisy Quantum Computer

Chemistry and physics researchers have advanced quantum simulation by devising an algorithm that can more efficiently calculate the properties of molecules on a noisy quantum ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 9:52am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

The Best of Both Worlds: How to Solve Real Problems on Modern Quantum Computers

Researchers have developed hybrid algorithms to run on size-limited quantum machines and have demonstrated them for practical ... read more

Beyond 1 and 0: Engineers Boost Potential for Creating Successor to Shrinking Transistors

Scientists offer a solution to the fast-approaching physical minimum for transistor size: a multi-value logic transistor based on zinc oxide, capable of two stable intermediate states between 0 and ... read more

A Step Towards Probabilistic Computing

Researchers demonstrate how skyrmions can be used for future computer concepts that are closer to how the human brain ... read more

Novel Software to Balance Data Processing Load in Supercomputers to Be Presented

The modern-age adage "work smarter, not harder" stresses the importance of not only working to produce, but also making efficient use of ... read more

A Biosynthetic Dual-Core Cell Computer

Researchers have integrated two CRISPR-Cas9-based core processors into human cells. This represents a huge step towards creating powerful ... read more

The Cost of Computation

There's been a rapid resurgence of interest in understanding the energy cost of computing. Recent advances in this 'thermodynamics of computation' are now ... read more

Scientists Develop Way to Perform Supercomputer Simulations of the Heart on Cellphones

You can now perform supercomputer simulations of the heart's electrophysiology in real time on desktop computers and even cellphones. A team of scientists developed a new approach that can not ... read more

Researchers Get Humans to Think Like Computers

Computers, like those that power self-driving cars, can be tricked into mistaking random scribbles for trains, fences and even school buses. People aren't supposed to be able to see how those ... read more

Computer Program Developed to Find 'Leakage' in Quantum Computers

A new computer program that spots when information in a quantum computer is escaping to unwanted states will give users of this promising technology the ability to check its reliability without any ... read more

Can Artificial Intelligence Solve the Mysteries of Quantum Physics?

A new study has demonstrated mathematically that algorithms based on deep neural networks can be applied to better understand the world of quantum physics, as ... read more

Moving Closer to Practical Photonic Quantum Computing

For the first time, researchers have demonstrated a way to map and measure large-scale photonic quantum correlation with single-photon sensitivity. The ability to measure thousands of instances of ... read more

Code Used to Reduce Quantum Error in Logic Gates for First Time

Scientists have for the first time demonstrated improvement in quantum computers by using codes designed to detect and discard errors in the logic gates of such machines. The codes were applied to ... read more

'Immunizing' Quantum Bits So That They Can Grow Up

Qubits need a better immune system before they can grow up. A new material, engineered into a thin strip, is one step closer to 'immunizing' qubits against noise, such as heat and other ... read more

Faster Method to Read Quantum Memory

Scientists have developed a faster way to read information out of qubits, the basic building blocks of a quantum ... read more

Hardware-Software Co-Design Approach Could Make Neural Networks Less Power Hungry

Engineers have developed a neuroinspired hardware-software co-design approach that could make neural network training more energy-efficient and faster. Their work could one day make it possible to ... read more

Computer Hardware Designed for 3D Games Could Hold the Key to Replicating Human Brain

Researchers have created the fastest and most energy efficient simulation of part of a rat brain using off-the-shelf computer ... read more

Quantum Chemical Calculations on Quantum Computers

A new quantum algorithm has been implemented for quantum chemical calculations such as Full-CI on quantum computers without exponential/combinatorial explosion, giving exact solutions of Schroedinger ... read more

Computer Chip Vulnerabilities Discovered

A research team has uncovered significant and previously unknown vulnerabilities in high-performance computer chips that could lead to failures in modern ... read more

High-Efficiency Discovery Drives Low-Power Computing

Challenge any modern human to go a day without a phone or computer, and you'd be hard pressed to get any takers. Our collective obsession with all things electronic is driving a dramatic daily ... read more

Mathematical Solver for Analog Computers

Scientists have been working toward developing a novel mathematical approach that will help advance computation beyond the digital ... read more

Thursday, July 11, 2019
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019
Friday, March 22, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Friday, December 14, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Sunday, September 16, 2018
Friday, September 7, 2018
Wednesday, September 5, 2018
Tuesday, August 21, 2018
Monday, August 20, 2018
Monday, August 13, 2018
Monday, July 30, 2018
Saturday, July 28, 2018
Tuesday, July 24, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Monday, July 16, 2018
Wednesday, July 11, 2018
Tuesday, July 3, 2018
Monday, June 11, 2018
Tuesday, May 29, 2018
Wednesday, May 23, 2018
Tuesday, May 1, 2018
Wednesday, April 18, 2018
Thursday, April 12, 2018
Wednesday, April 11, 2018
Wednesday, March 21, 2018
Monday, March 12, 2018
Monday, March 5, 2018
Thursday, March 1, 2018
Tuesday, February 6, 2018
Monday, January 22, 2018
Wednesday, January 10, 2018
Tuesday, January 9, 2018
Friday, December 22, 2017
Thursday, December 21, 2017
Friday, December 15, 2017
Thursday, November 30, 2017
Tuesday, November 28, 2017
Monday, November 20, 2017
Wednesday, November 15, 2017
Tuesday, November 14, 2017
Monday, November 13, 2017
Monday, November 6, 2017
Tuesday, October 17, 2017
Thursday, October 5, 2017
Wednesday, September 27, 2017
Tuesday, September 26, 2017
Monday, September 25, 2017
Friday, August 18, 2017
Wednesday, August 2, 2017
Tuesday, July 18, 2017
Wednesday, July 12, 2017
Wednesday, July 5, 2017
Monday, June 12, 2017
Friday, June 9, 2017
Wednesday, June 7, 2017
Monday, May 8, 2017
Wednesday, May 3, 2017
Thursday, April 20, 2017
Tuesday, April 18, 2017
Tuesday, April 11, 2017
Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Monday, March 20, 2017
Thursday, March 16, 2017
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Monday, February 27, 2017
Wednesday, February 22, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017