advertisement
Educational Technology News
December 12, 2019

Top Headlines
 

New research comprehensively examined the brain development of young boys and girls. Their research shows no gender difference in brain function or ... read more

New Research Analyzes Video Game Player Engagement

In the video game industry, the ability for gaming companies to track and respond to gamers' post-purchase play opens up new opportunities to enhance gamer engagement and retention and increase video ... read more

Tech Time Not to Blame for Teens' Mental Health Problems

A new study suggests that the time adolescents are spending on their phones and online is not that bad. The study tracked young adolescents on their smartphones to test whether more time spent using ... read more

How the Internet May Be Changing the Brain

An international team of researchers has found the Internet can produce both acute and sustained alterations in specific areas of cognition, which may reflect changes in the brain, affecting our ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 11:51am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Quitting Facebook Could Boost Exam Results

In research that validates what many parents and educators suspect, students whose grades are below average could boost their exam results if they devoted less time to Facebook and other social ... read more

Interactive Avatar Boosts Performance of Children With ADHD

A new study has shown that an interactive avatar, which gives both instructions and feedback on the attention of the learner, can improve the performance of ADHD children on a complex problem-solving ... read more

School Savings Accounts Can Dry Up in 'Financial Deserts'

Children's savings accounts (CSAs), offered by elementary schools throughout San Francisco and in schools across the nation, were introduced to boost college-going rates, limit student debt and ... read more

Novel School Improvement Program Can Raise Teaching Quality While Reducing Inequality

A multi-national European study, looking at over 5,500 students, has found that a novel school intervention program can not only improve the mathematics scores of primary school children from ... read more

Smaller Class Size Means More Success for Women in STEM

A new study demonstrates that increasing class size has the largest negative impact on female participation in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) classrooms, and offers insights ... read more

Are Fertility Apps Useful?

Researchers have carried out an analysis of the largest datasets from fertility awareness apps. Analyzing data from 200,000 users of the apps Sympto and Kindara, they have been able to make ... read more

Play Games With No Latency

One of the most challenging issues for game players looks to be resolved soon with the introduction of a zero-latency gaming environment. A team has now developed technology that helps game players ... read more

Do Video Games Drive Obesity?

Are children, teenagers and adults who spend a lot of time playing video games really more obese? A meta study has looked into this question. The cliché is true -- but only for ... read more

Low-Cost Intervention Boosts Undergraduate Interest in Computer Science

A recent study finds that an online intervention taking less than 30 minutes significantly increased interest in computer science for both male and female undergraduate students. However, when it ... read more

Finnish School Students Outperform US Students on 'Fake News' Digital Literacy Tasks

A recent study revealed students at an international school in Finland significantly outperformed US students on tasks which measure digital literacy in social media and online news. The researchers ... read more

Parental Behavior Affects the Involvement of Children in Cyberbullying

Experts have recently published a study of the perception that adolescents have of the upbringing they have had and their relationship to cyberbullying. In this way, the data obtained highlights that ... read more

Smartphone App Detects Diet Cheat

According to a recent study, a first-of-its-kind smartphone app called OnTrack can predict ahead of time when users are likely to lapse in their weight loss plan and help them stay on ... read more

New Virtual Reality Tool Allows You to See the World Through the Eyes of a Tiny Primate

Imagine that you live in the rainforests of Southeast Asia, you're a pint-sized primate with enormous eyes and you look a little like Gizmo from the movie, 'Gremlins.' You're a ... read more

Unprecedented Privacy Risk With Popular Health Apps

Researchers call for greater regulation and transparency as analysis of medicines-related apps found most directly shared user data -- including sensitive health data -- with third parties, posing an ... read more

Origins and Nature of 'Math Anxiety'

A report out today examines the factors that influence 'math anxiety' among primary and secondary school students, showing that teachers and parents may inadvertently play a role in a ... read more

Multitasking Increases in Online Courses Compared to Face-to-Face

The phenomenon of multitasking across three or four internet-connected devices simultaneously is increasingly common. Researchers were curious to know how often this happens during online education, ... read more

Collaborative Video Games Could Increase Office Productivity

Move over trust falls and ropes courses, turns out playing video games with coworkers is the real path to better performance at the office. A new study by information systems professors found ... read more

'Statistics Anxiety' Is Real, and New Research Suggests Targeted Ways to Handle It

A new study uses an analytical technique called 'network science' to determine factors contributing to statistics anxiety among psychology ... read more

Immigrant Kids in U.S. Deliberately Build STEM Skills

US immigrant children study more math and science in high school and college, which leads to their greater presence in STEM careers, according to new ... read more

In VR Boys Learn Best When the Teacher Is a Drone -- Girls Lean Better from Virtual Marie

The teacher is just as important in a virtual learning environment as in a normal classroom, but a new study shows that boys and girls differ greatly in terms of how they learn best: Boys learn best ... read more

Monday, November 11, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Tuesday, August 6, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019
Monday, June 17, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Friday, April 5, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, November 26, 2018
Wednesday, November 21, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Wednesday, August 22, 2018
Thursday, August 16, 2018
Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Friday, August 3, 2018
Tuesday, July 10, 2018
Monday, July 9, 2018
Thursday, July 5, 2018
Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Tuesday, June 12, 2018
Monday, June 11, 2018
Tuesday, June 5, 2018
Tuesday, May 22, 2018
Thursday, May 17, 2018
Thursday, May 10, 2018
Friday, April 20, 2018
Monday, April 9, 2018
Tuesday, April 3, 2018
Monday, April 2, 2018
Thursday, March 29, 2018
Wednesday, March 7, 2018
Monday, March 5, 2018
Friday, March 2, 2018
Tuesday, February 27, 2018
Friday, February 16, 2018
Monday, February 12, 2018
Thursday, February 8, 2018
Monday, February 5, 2018
Wednesday, January 24, 2018
Wednesday, January 17, 2018
Thursday, January 4, 2018
Thursday, December 28, 2017
Thursday, December 21, 2017
Thursday, December 7, 2017
Wednesday, December 6, 2017
Monday, December 4, 2017
Friday, December 1, 2017
Tuesday, November 28, 2017
Monday, November 20, 2017
Wednesday, November 15, 2017
Friday, November 10, 2017
Monday, October 30, 2017
Monday, October 23, 2017
Thursday, October 19, 2017
Monday, October 9, 2017
Wednesday, October 4, 2017
Tuesday, September 26, 2017
Friday, September 22, 2017
Wednesday, September 20, 2017
Monday, September 18, 2017
Wednesday, September 13, 2017
Tuesday, September 12, 2017
Tuesday, August 29, 2017
Thursday, August 24, 2017
Monday, August 21, 2017
Wednesday, August 16, 2017
Wednesday, August 9, 2017
Thursday, August 3, 2017
Wednesday, August 2, 2017
Friday, July 21, 2017
Thursday, July 6, 2017
Tuesday, June 27, 2017
Wednesday, June 14, 2017
Tuesday, June 13, 2017
Monday, June 12, 2017
Friday, June 9, 2017
Tuesday, June 6, 2017