advertisement
Quantum Computers News
January 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

A surprising new study shows that heat energy can leap across a few hundred nanometers of a complete vacuum, thanks to a quantum mechanical phenomenon called the Casimir ... read more

Toward More Efficient Computing, With Magnetic Waves

Researchers have devised a novel circuit design that enables precise control of computing with magnetic waves -- with no electricity needed. The advance takes a step toward practical magnetic-based ... read more

Ultrafast Quantum Simulations: A New Twist to an Old Approach

Billions of tiny interactions occur between thousands of particles in every piece of matter in the blink of an eye. Simulating these interactions in their full dynamics was said to be elusive but has ... read more

Achieving Quantum Supremacy

Researchers have made good on their claim to quantum supremacy. Using 53 entangled quantum bits ('qubits'), their Sycamore computer has taken on -- and solved -- a problem considered intractable for ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 10:51pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Performance Benchmark for Quantum Computers

Researchers have developed a quantum chemistry simulation benchmark to evaluate the performance of quantum devices and guide the development of applications for future quantum ... read more

In Leap for Quantum Computing, Silicon Quantum Bits Establish a Long-Distance Relationship

In an important step forward in the quest to build a quantum computer using silicon-based hardware, researchers have succeeded in making possible the exchange of information between two qubits ... read more

The Coolest LEGO ® in the Universe

For the first time, LEGO ® has been cooled to the lowest temperature possible in an experiment which reveals a new use for the popular toy -- the development of quantum computing. A figure and four ... read more

No Tempest in a Teacup -- It's a Cyclone on a Silicon Chip

Researchers have combined quantum liquids and silicon-chip technology to study turbulence for the first time, opening the door to new navigation technologies and improved understanding of the ... read more

Scientists Discover First Antiferromagnetic Topological Quantum Material

Scientists have discovered a new type of bulk quantum material with intrinsically magnetic and topological properties. The new material is called manganese-bismuth telluride (MnBi2Te4) and is ... read more

Topological Materials for Information Technology Offer Lossless Transmission of Signals

New experiments with magnetically doped topological insulators at BESSY II have revealed possible ways of lossless signal transmission that involve a surprising self-organizational phenomenon. In the ... read more

Scientists Correlate Photon Pairs of Different Colors Generated in Separate Buildings

The interference between two photons could connect distant quantum processors, enabling an internet-like quantum computer ... read more

New Laser Technique Images Quantum World in a Trillionth of a Second

For the first time, researchers have been able to record, frame-by-frame, how an electron interacts with certain atomic vibrations in a solid. The technique captures a process that commonly causes ... read more

Gamma-Ray Laser Moves a Step Closer to Reality

A physicist has performed calculations showing hollow spherical bubbles filled with a gas of positronium atoms are stable in liquid helium. The calculations take scientists a step closer to realizing ... read more

A Platform for Stable Quantum Computing, a Playground for Exotic Physics

Researchers have demonstrated the first material that can have both strongly correlated electron interactions and topological properties, which not only paves the way for more stable quantum ... read more

Building a Better Battery With Machine Learning

Researchers have turned to the power of machine learning and artificial intelligence to dramatically accelerate battery ... read more

Milestone in Quantum Standardization

Researchers have developed a method that could pave the way to establishing universal standards for measuring the performance of quantum computers. The new method, called cycle benchmarking, allows ... read more

New Twist in Quest to Develop Understanding of Time Crystalline Behavior

The quest to develop the understanding for time crystalline behaviour in quantum systems has taken a new, exciting ... read more

A Super-Fast 'Light Switch' for Future Cars and Computers

Switching light beams quickly is important in many technological applications. Researchers have now developed an 'electro-opto-mechanical' switch for light beams that is considerably ... read more

Artificial Intelligence Algorithm Can Learn the Laws of Quantum Mechanics

Artificial intelligence can be used to predict molecular wave functions and the electronic properties of molecules. This innovative AI method could be used to speed-up the design of drug molecules or ... read more

Quantum Light Improves Sensitivity of Biological Measurements

In a new study, researchers showed that quantum light can be used to track enzyme reactions in real time. The work brings together quantum physics and biology in an important step toward the ... read more

Kick-Starting Moore's Law? New 'Synthetic' Method for Making Microchips Could Help

Researchers have developed a new method for producing atomically-thin semiconducting crystals that could one day enable more powerful and compact electronic ... read more

Quantum Computers Learn to Mark Their Own Work

A new test to check if a quantum computer is giving correct answers to questions beyond the scope of traditional computing could help the first quantum computer that can outperform a classical ... read more

Physicists Irreversibly Split Photons by Freezing Them in Bose-Einstein Condensate

Light can be directed in different directions, usually also back the same way. Physicists have however succeeded in creating a new one-way street for light. They cool photons down to a Bose-Einstein ... read more

A Distinct Spin on Atomic Transport

Physicists demonstrate simultaneous control over transport and spin properties of cold atoms, and thus establish a framework for exploring concepts in spintronics and solid-state ... read more

Thursday, January 2, 2020
Thursday, December 26, 2019
Monday, December 23, 2019
Friday, December 20, 2019
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Friday, December 6, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Saturday, October 5, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Friday, September 27, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Friday, September 6, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Thursday, August 8, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Friday, August 2, 2019
Thursday, August 1, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Friday, July 26, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Monday, July 22, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Friday, July 12, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Tuesday, July 9, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Monday, July 1, 2019
Friday, June 28, 2019