advertisement
Robotics News
January 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Researchers have harnessed the power of a type of artificial intelligence known as deep learning to create a new laser-based system that can image around corners in real ... read more
Scientists repurposed living frog cells -- and assembled them into entirely new life-forms. These tiny 'xenobots' can move toward a target and heal themselves after being ... read more

Trash Talk Hurts, Even When It Comes from a Robot

Trash talking has a long and colorful history of flustering game opponents, and now researchers have demonstrated that discouraging words can be perturbing even when uttered by a ... read more

Two-Legged Robot Mimics Human Balance While Running and Jumping

Engineers have developed a method to control balance in a two-legged, teleoperated robot -- an essential step toward enabling a humanoid to carry out high-impact tasks in challenging ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 10:51pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Finally, Machine Learning Interprets Gene Regulation Clearly

A new brand of artificial neural network has solved an interpretability problem that has frustrated biologists. With it, scientists may solve mysteries about gene regulation and drug ... read more

Artificial Intelligence Tracks Down Leukemia

Artificial intelligence can detect one of the most common forms of blood cancer - acute myeloid leukemia -- with high reliability. Researchers at the DZNE and the University of Bonn have now shown ... read more

Researchers Directly Measure 'Cheerios Effect' Forces for the First Time

In a finding that could be useful in designing small aquatic robots, researchers have measured the forces that cause small objects to cluster together on the surface of a liquid -- a phenomenon known ... read more

AI's Future Potential Hinges on Consensus

The role of artificial intelligence, or machine learning, will be pivotal as the industry wrestles with a gargantuan amount of data that could improve -- or muddle -- health and cost priorities, ... read more

A Soft Robotic Insect That Survives Being Flattened by a Fly Swatter

Researchers have developed an ultra-light robotic insect that uses its soft artificial muscles to move at 3 cm per second across different types of terrain. It can be folded or crushed and yet ... read more

Robots Made from Self-Folding Kirigami Materials

Researchers have demonstrated how kirigami-inspired techniques allow them to design thin sheets of material that automatically reconfigure into new two-dimensional (2D) shapes and three-dimensional ... read more

New Tool Uses AI to Flag Fake News for Media Fact-Checkers

A new artificial intelligence (AI) tool could help social media networks and news organizations weed out false stories. The tool uses deep-learning AI algorithms to determine if claims made in posts ... read more

Artificial Intelligence Boosts MRI Detection of ADHD

Deep learning, a type of artificial intelligence, can boost the power of MRI in predicting attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), according to a new study. Researchers said the approach ... read more

A Robot and Software Make It Easier to Create Advanced Materials

A team of engineers has developed an automated way to produce polymers, making it much easier to create advanced materials aimed at improving human health. The innovation is a critical step in ... read more

Like Pavlov's Dog, This Thermoplastic Is Learning a New Trick: Walking

Researchers are 'training' pieces of plastic to walk under the command of light. The method developed is the first time a synthetic actuator 'learns' to do new 'tricks' ... read more

Successful Instrument Guidance Through Deep and Convoluted Blood Vessel Networks

Researchers have developed a novel approach to tackling one of the biggest challenges of endovascular surgery: how to reach the most difficult-to-access physiological locations. Their solution is a ... read more

Need to Safeguard Drones and Robotic Cars Against Cyber Attacks

Researchers executed successful stealth attacks on real and simulated robotic vehicles, revealing vulnerabilities in the attack detection system most commonly used by such ... read more

Artificial Intelligence-Based Algorithm for Intensive Care of Traumatic Brain Injury

A recent study presents the first artificial intelligence (AI) based algorithm that may be utilized in the intensive care unit for treating patients with severe traumatic brain ... read more

Satellite Broken? Smart Satellites to the Rescue

Scientists are developing robotic networks that can work independently but collaboratively on a common task. The goal? To make smart satellites that can repair other satellites in ... read more

New Metallic Material for Flexible Soft Robots

A team has created a material that is half as light as paper and highly flexible but also shows enhanced characteristics for electrical conductivity, heat generation, fire-resistance, strain-sensing ... read more

Scientists Help Soldiers Figure out What Robots Know

A research team developed new algorithms and filled in knowledge gaps about how robots contribute to teams and what robots know about their environment and ... read more

How to Design and Control Robots With Stretchy, Flexible Bodies

Researchers have invented a way to efficiently optimize the control and design of soft robots for target tasks, which has traditionally been a monumental undertaking in ... read more

New Machine Learning Algorithms Offer Safety and Fairness Guarantees

Scientists have introduced a new framework for designing machine learning algorithms that make it easier for users of the algorithm to specify safety and fairness ... read more

Soft Skin-Like Robots You Can Put in Your Pocket

Stretchable skin-like robots that can be rolled up and put in your pocket have been developed by a team using a new way of embedding artificial muscles and electrical adhesion into soft ... read more

Artificial Intelligence Algorithm Can Learn the Laws of Quantum Mechanics

Artificial intelligence can be used to predict molecular wave functions and the electronic properties of molecules. This innovative AI method could be used to speed-up the design of drug molecules or ... read more

Thursday, December 26, 2019
Monday, December 23, 2019
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Sunday, October 20, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Friday, September 27, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Friday, September 13, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Friday, September 6, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Friday, August 30, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019