advertisement
Software News
December 7, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Artificial Intelligence Used to Recognize Primate Faces in the Wild

Scientists have developed new artificial intelligence software to recognize and track the faces of individual chimpanzees in the wild. The new software will allow researchers and wildlife ... read more

Artificial Intelligence Can Diagnose PTSD by Analyzing Voices

A specially designed computer program can help to diagnose post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) in veterans by analyzing their ... read more

New Virtual Reality Tool Allows You to See the World Through the Eyes of a Tiny Primate

Imagine that you live in the rainforests of Southeast Asia, you're a pint-sized primate with enormous eyes and you look a little like Gizmo from the ... read more

Computer Scientists Create Reprogrammable Molecular Computing System

Researchers have designed self-assembling DNA molecules with unprecedented ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 7:51pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Platform for Scalable Testing of Autonomous Vehicle Safety

In the race to manufacture autonomous vehicles (AVs), safety is crucial yet sometimes overlooked as exemplified by recent headline-making accidents. Researchers are using artificial intelligence (AI) ... read more

Extending Wi-Fi Range for Smart-Home Devices

A group of researchers has created a protocol that significantly extends the distance a Wi-Fi enabled device can send and receive signals. The engineering innovation requires no new hardware to ... read more

Machine Learning Helps Plant Science Turn Over a New Leaf

Researchers have developed machine-learning algorithms that teach a computer system to analyze three-dimensional shapes of the branches and leaves of a plant. The study may help scientists better ... read more

Object Identification and Interaction With a Smartphone Knock

Scientists have developed new technology, dubbed 'Knocker', which identifies objects and executes actions just by knocking on them with the smartphone. Software powered by machine learning ... read more

New Method Improves Measurement of Animal Behavior Using Deep Learning

Researchers develop deep learning toolkit for high-speed measurement of body posture in ... read more

Interactive Avatar Boosts Performance of Children With ADHD

A new study has shown that an interactive avatar, which gives both instructions and feedback on the attention of the learner, can improve the performance of ADHD children on a complex problem-solving ... read more

Introducing 'Mesh,' Memory-Saving Plug-in to Boost Phone and Computer Performance

Applications like web browsers or smartphone apps often use a lot of memory. To address this, a research group has developed a system they call Mesh that can automatically reduce such memory ... read more

Software Companies Follow the Skills and Move Where the Staff Are

Software companies are more likely to base their operations in locations where skilled potential recruits already work -- rather than staff moving to new areas for fresh ... read more

Time Saving Software in an Age of Ever-Expanding Data

Before embarking on a new research project, a thorough and exhaustive review of existing literature must be done to make sure the new project is novel. Researchers can also explore the entire body of ... read more

Using Wi-Fi Like Sonar to Measure Speed and Distance of Indoor Movement

Researchers have developed a technique for measuring speed and distance in indoor environments, which could be used to improve navigation technologies for robots, drones -- or pedestrians trying to ... read more

Router Guest Networks Lack Adequate Security, Experts Say

While many organizations and home networks use a host and guest network on the same router hardware to increase security, a new study indicates that routers from well-known manufacturers are ... read more

Google Maps for Tissues

Modern light microscopic techniques provide extremely detailed insights into organs, but the terabytes of data they produce are usually nearly impossible to process. New software is helping ... read more

How Can You Reliably Spot a Fake Smile? Ask a Computer

Real and fake smiles can be tricky to tell apart, but researchers have now developed computer software that can spot false facial ... read more

Flexible User Interface Distribution for Ubiquitous Multi-Device Interaction

Researchers have developed mobile software platform technology that allows a mobile application (app) to be executed simultaneously and more dynamically on multiple smart devices. Its high ... read more

Emotion-Detection Applications Built on Outdated Science, Report Warns

Software that purportedly reads emotions in faces is being deployed or tested for a variety of purposes, including surveillance, hiring, clinical diagnosis, and market research. But a new scientific ... read more

Deep Learning-Powered 'DeepEC' Helps Accurately Understand Enzyme Functions

Researchers have shown that a deep learning-powered computational framework enables the high-quality and high-throughput prediction of enzyme commission numbers, which is essential for the accurate ... read more

Personalized Medicine Software Vulnerability Uncovered

A weakness in one common open source software for genomic analysis left DNA-based medical diagnostics vulnerable to cyberattacks. Researchers identified the weakness and notified the software ... read more

Smart Glasses Follow Our Eyes, Focus Automatically

By using eye-tracking technology to automatically control a pair of autofocus lenses, engineers have created a prototype for 'autofocals' designed to restore proper vision in people who ... read more

Artificial Intelligence Controls Robotic Arm to Pack Boxes and Cut Costs

Computer scientists used artificial intelligence to control a robotic arm that provides a more efficient way to pack boxes, saving businesses time and ... read more

Hackproofing Smart Meters

Cybersecurity researchers have developed an automated program aimed at foiling smart meter hacking and boosting security in the smart ... read more

Friday, October 25, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Friday, July 19, 2019
Thursday, July 18, 2019
Tuesday, July 9, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Monday, July 1, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Thursday, June 6, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Friday, May 31, 2019
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Friday, May 17, 2019
Tuesday, May 7, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Friday, March 8, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Saturday, February 16, 2019
Friday, February 15, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Sunday, September 16, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Friday, September 7, 2018
Tuesday, August 28, 2018
Friday, August 24, 2018
Thursday, August 23, 2018
Wednesday, August 22, 2018
Thursday, August 16, 2018
Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Monday, August 6, 2018
Monday, July 23, 2018
Wednesday, July 18, 2018
Wednesday, July 11, 2018
Thursday, July 5, 2018
Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Wednesday, June 13, 2018
Thursday, May 24, 2018
Wednesday, May 16, 2018
Monday, May 7, 2018
Thursday, May 3, 2018
Wednesday, April 25, 2018
Friday, April 20, 2018
Tuesday, April 17, 2018
Thursday, April 12, 2018
Wednesday, April 11, 2018
Tuesday, April 3, 2018
Thursday, March 29, 2018
Monday, March 26, 2018