advertisement
Video Games News
December 12, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Trash Talk Hurts, Even When It Comes from a Robot

Trash talking has a long and colorful history of flustering game opponents, and now researchers have demonstrated that discouraging words can be perturbing even when uttered by a ... read more

Computer Scientists Develop New Tool That Generates Videos from Themed Text

A global team of computer scientists have developed ''Write-A-Video'', a new tool that generates videos from themed text. Using words and text editing, the tool automatically determines which scenes ... read more
Researchers are using liquid crystals to create incredibly small, swirling schools of 'fish.' The fish in this case are minute disruptions in the orientations of the ... read more

New Research Analyzes Video Game Player Engagement

In the video game industry, the ability for gaming companies to track and respond to gamers' post-purchase play opens up new opportunities to enhance gamer engagement and retention and increase video ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 10:21am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Elite-Level Video Gaming Requires New Protocols in Sports Medicine

Study authors note multiple health issues including blurred vision from excessive screen time, neck and back pain from poor posture, carpal tunnel syndrome from repetitive motion, metabolic ... read more

Interactive Avatar Boosts Performance of Children With ADHD

A new study has shown that an interactive avatar, which gives both instructions and feedback on the attention of the learner, can improve the performance of ADHD children on a complex problem-solving ... read more

Decoding How Kids Get Into Hacking

New research has identified characteristics and gender-specific behaviors in kids that could lead them to become juvenile hackers. The researchers assessed responses from 50,000 teens from around the ... read more

Personality and Motivation in Relation to Internet Gaming Disorder

A new study examining the relationships among personality, motivation, and internet gaming disorder (IGD) found that predictors of IGD include male gender, neurotic and introverted personality ... read more

This Deep Neural Network Fights Deepfakes

Researchers have developed a deep neural network architecture that can identify manipulated images at the pixel level with high precision by studying the boundaries of objects in the ... read more

Myth-Busting Study Reveals That Gamblers Can't Detect Slot Machine Payout Percentages

It's a common sight on casino floors: patrons jumping from slot machine to slot machine before eventually hunkering down at a game that's due for the next big payout. But can players -- ... read more

Game-Theory Research Better Allocates Military Resources, Fight Cancer

A game-theory research using artificial intelligence may help treat cancer and other diseases, improve cybersecurity, deploy Soldiers and assets more efficiently and even win a poker ... read more

Internet Communities Can Teach Amateurs to Build Personalized Governments

Self-governing internet communities, in the form of games, social networks or informational websites, create their own rule systems that help groups of anonymous users work ... read more

AI Beats Professionals in Six-Player Poker

An artificial intelligence program has defeated leading professionals in six-player no-limit Texas hold'em poker, the world's most popular form of ... read more

How Social Movements Can Use Virtual Worlds

Online virtual worlds can help social movements raise awareness and create safe spaces for their members, according to a new study. The research examined how an LGBT group used a virtual world for ... read more

Want to Boost Creativity? Try Playing Minecraft

Video games that foster creative freedom can increase creativity under certain conditions, according to new research. The experimental study compared the effect of playing Minecraft, with or without ... read more

Video Games Offer Clues to Help Curb Animal Disease Outbreaks

As Asia and Europe battle African swine fever outbreaks, new research shows how farmers' risk attitudes affect the spread of infectious animal diseases and offers a first-of-its kind model for ... read more

Play Games With No Latency

One of the most challenging issues for game players looks to be resolved soon with the introduction of a zero-latency gaming environment. A team has now developed technology that helps game players ... read more

Do Video Games Drive Obesity?

Are children, teenagers and adults who spend a lot of time playing video games really more obese? A meta study has looked into this question. The cliché is true -- but only for ... read more

Could Playing Computer Games Improve Your Peripheral Vision?

Researchers have found a significant improvement in the peripheral awareness of people who played computer games specially designed around using peripheral vision. This finding opens up the ... read more

Deep Learning Techniques Teach Neural Model to 'Play' Retrosynthesis

Chemical engineers have trained a neural network model to plan synthetic routes to any target molecule, optimizing user-specified objectives such as cost, time, and ... read more

Do Video Games With Shooting Affect Kids' Behavior With Real Guns?

A randomized clinical trial in a university laboratory examined the effects of video games with weapons on children's behavior when they found a real ... read more

How Augmented Reality Affects People's Behavior

Researchers found that people's interactions with a virtual person in augmented reality, or AR, influenced how they behaved and acted in the physical ... read more

New Unsustainable Viewing Habits

A team of computing researchers has taken the closest look yet at the nature and extent of how household viewing habits have changed -- providing valuable new evidence for the researchers, who are ... read more

Train Your Brain With Computer Game to Eat Less Sugar

A recent study shows that a computer game can be used to train its players to eat less sugar, as way of reducing their weight and improving their ... read more

Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Friday, July 19, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Friday, July 12, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019
Monday, June 17, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Friday, May 31, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019
Tuesday, May 7, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Tuesday, September 11, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Tuesday, August 7, 2018
Thursday, July 26, 2018
Monday, July 23, 2018
Friday, July 20, 2018
Monday, July 16, 2018
Thursday, July 12, 2018
Monday, July 9, 2018
Thursday, June 28, 2018
Tuesday, May 22, 2018
Monday, May 14, 2018
Thursday, May 10, 2018
Wednesday, May 9, 2018
Tuesday, May 8, 2018
Friday, April 20, 2018
Tuesday, April 10, 2018
Tuesday, March 6, 2018
Wednesday, March 7, 2018
Thursday, February 22, 2018
Friday, February 16, 2018
Friday, February 2, 2018
Friday, January 19, 2018
Tuesday, January 16, 2018
Monday, January 15, 2018
Monday, January 8, 2018
Tuesday, January 2, 2018
Monday, December 18, 2017
Thursday, December 14, 2017
Wednesday, December 13, 2017
Tuesday, December 12, 2017
Thursday, December 7, 2017
Wednesday, December 6, 2017
Monday, December 4, 2017
Tuesday, November 28, 2017
Monday, November 27, 2017
Tuesday, November 21, 2017
Monday, November 20, 2017
Wednesday, November 15, 2017
Monday, October 23, 2017
Thursday, October 5, 2017
Tuesday, October 3, 2017
Friday, September 29, 2017
Tuesday, September 26, 2017
Tuesday, September 19, 2017
Monday, September 18, 2017
Thursday, August 24, 2017
Monday, August 21, 2017
Tuesday, August 8, 2017