advertisement
Virtual Reality News
December 12, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Computer Scientists Develop New Tool That Generates Videos from Themed Text

A global team of computer scientists have developed ''Write-A-Video'', a new tool that generates videos from themed text. Using words and text editing, the tool automatically determines which scenes ... read more
Neuroengineers have found the first evidence that individual neurons in the human brain target specific memories during recall. They studied recordings in neurosurgical ... read more

Artificial Skin Creates First Ticklish Devices

A new interface takes touch technology to the next level by providing an artificial skin-like membrane for augmenting interactive devices such as phones, wearables or ... read more

New Haptic Arm Places Robotics Within Easy Reach

Imagine being able to build and use a robotic device without the need for expensive, specialist kit or skills. That is the vision that researchers have now turned into reality, creating a ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 10:22am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Virtual Speed Bump for Lightning-Fast Markets Proposed

A researcher says a tiny tweak to how certain trades happen could make for more efficient stock markets, and it's already being adopted by major ... read more

Compact Depth Sensor Inspired by Spiders

Inspired by jumping spiders, researchers have developed a compact and efficient depth sensor that could be used on board microrobots, in small wearable devices, or in lightweight virtual and ... read more

Escapism: A Powerful Predictor of Internet Gaming Disorder Among Video Gamers

A new study is the first to compare professional electronic sport (esport) players with recreational video game players and explores the similarities and differences between what motivates each ... read more

Novel Method Turns Any 3D Object Into a Cubic Style

Computer scientists have developed a computational method to quantify an abstract cubic style. Additionally, their method also enables users to create new shapes that resemble the input shape and ... read more

New Augmented Reality System Lets Smartphone Users Get Hands-on With Virtual Objects

A new augmented reality system places virtual objects within real-world backgrounds on cell phone screens and lets people interact with those object by hand as if they were really ... read more

Virtual Walking System for Re-Experiencing the Journey of Another Person

Virtual-reality researchers have developed a virtual-walking system that records a person's walking and re-plays it with vision and foot vibrations. Psychological experiments showed that the ... read more

Do We Trust Artificial Intelligence Agents to Mediate Conflict? Not Entirely

We may listen to facts from Siri or Alexa, or directions from Google Maps or Waze, but would we let a virtual agent enabled by artificial intelligence help mediate conflict among team members? A new ... read more

Engineers Solve 50-Year-Old Puzzle in Signal Processing

Engineers have solved a 50-year-old puzzle in signal processing. They've formulated the 'inverse chirp z-transform,' an algorithm related to one that's running on your cell phone ... read more

Virtual Review of Cancer Clinical Trial Treatment Options Quicker Than Conventional Method

Using virtual, cloud-based, interconnected computing techniques applied to 51,000 variables, researchers reduced the time needed to assess a cancer patient's tumor profile and suitability for ... read more

Deep Learning Used to Create Virtual 'Super Instrument'

Scientist describe a new algorithm that combines the capabilities of two spacecraft instruments, which could result in lower cost and higher efficiency space missions. The virtual 'super ... read more

Virtual Reality May Help Foster Learning and Collaboration Across Health Professions

One of the biggest challenges to implementing interprofessional education for health professions students is scheduling. Could virtual reality education help? A small new study focused on palliative ... read more

Using Math to Blend Musical Notes Seamlessly

Researchers have invented an algorithm that produces a real-time portamento effect, gliding a note at one pitch into a note of another pitch, between any two audio signals, such as a piano note ... read more

An Artificial Skin That Can Help Rehabilitation and Enhance Virtual Reality

Scientists have developed a soft artificial skin that provides haptic feedback and -- thanks to a sophisticated self-sensing mechanism -- has the potential to instantaneously adapt to a wearer's ... read more

Virtual Human Hand Simulation Holds Promise for Prosthetics

Animating human hands has long been considered one of the most challenging problems in computer graphics. That's because it has been impossible to capture the internal movement of the hand in ... read more

Scientists Finally Find Superconductivity in Place They Have Been Looking for Decades

Scientists prove a well-known model of material behavior applies to high-temperature superconductors, giving them a new tool for understanding how these materials conduct electricity with no loss. ... read more

Interactive Avatar Boosts Performance of Children With ADHD

A new study has shown that an interactive avatar, which gives both instructions and feedback on the attention of the learner, can improve the performance of ADHD children on a complex problem-solving ... read more

Researchers Recreate Living 3D Displays

A research team is developing a smart skin inspired by the cephalopod which can be used in 3D displays, as interfaces for the visually impaired, and to help reduce drag on marine ... read more

New Augmented Reality Head Mounted Display Offers Unrivaled Viewing Experience

Engineers have developed a new augmented reality (AR) head-mounted display (HMD) that delivers a realistic 3D viewing experience, without the commonly associated side effects of nausea or ... read more

Evolution of Learning Is Key to Better Artificial Intelligence

Since "2001: A Space Odyssey," people have wondered: could machines like HAL 9000 eventually exist that can process information with human-like intelligence? Researchers say that true, ... read more

Introducing 'Mesh,' Memory-Saving Plug-in to Boost Phone and Computer Performance

Applications like web browsers or smartphone apps often use a lot of memory. To address this, a research group has developed a system they call Mesh that can automatically reduce such memory ... read more

Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Friday, September 27, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Tuesday, August 6, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Tuesday, July 9, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Monday, July 1, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Monday, May 20, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Friday, May 10, 2019
Saturday, May 4, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Friday, December 21, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Tuesday, October 23, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Friday, September 28, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018