advertisement
Environmental Awareness News
December 5, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Atlantic Ocean May Get a Jump-Start from the Other Side of the World

A key question for climate scientists in recent years has been whether the Atlantic Ocean's main circulation system is slowing down, a development that could have dramatic consequences for Europe and ... read more

Climate Change May Cut Soil's Ability to Absorb Water

Coasts, oceans, ecosystems, weather and human health all face impacts from climate change, and now valuable soils may also be affected. Climate change may reduce the ability of soils to absorb water ... read more

Climate Change Will Alter Waves Along Half the World's Coast

New research finds that a warming planet will also alter ocean waves along more than 50% of the world's coastlines. This research has significant implications for coastal flooding and ... read more

Icebergs Delay Southern Hemisphere Future Warming, Study Shows

Future warming can accelerate the disintegration of the West Antarctic ice sheet. A large fraction of the ice will enter the Southern Ocean in form of icebergs, which melt and provide a cooling and ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 8:53am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Individual Climate Models May Not Provide the Complete Picture

Equilibrium climate sensitivity -- how sensitive the Earth's climate is to changes in atmospheric carbon dioxide -- may be underestimated in individual climate models, according to a team of ... read more

Study Shows Where Global Renewable Energy Investments Have Greatest Benefits

New study finds that the amount of climate and health benefits achieved from renewable energy depends on the country where it is installed. Countries with higher carbon dioxide (CO2) emissions and ... read more

Finding Common Ground for Scientists and Policymakers on Soil Carbon and Climate Change

Scientists argue that public debate about the role of soil carbon in battling climate change is undermining the potential for policymakers to implement policies that build soil carbon for other ... read more

Combatting Air Pollution With Nature

Air pollution is composed of particles and gases that can have negative impacts on both the environment and human health. Technologies to mitigate pollution have become widespread in recent years, ... read more

Does Climate Change Affect Real Estate Prices? Only If You Believe in It

A new study shows that at-risk homes sell for more in areas where people don't believe in climate ... read more

Sea Levels to Continue Rising After Paris Agreement Emission Pledges Expire in 2030

Sea levels will continue to rise around the world long after current carbon emissions pledges made through the Paris climate agreement are met and global temperatures stabilize, a new study ... read more

Satellites Are Key to Monitoring Ocean Carbon

Satellites now play a key role in monitoring carbon levels in the oceans, but we are only just beginning to understand their full ... read more

Where to Install Renewable Energy in US to Achieve Greatest Benefits

A new study shows that to achieve the biggest improvements in public health and the greatest benefits from renewable energy, wind turbines should be installed in the Upper Midwest and solar power ... read more

Fish More Tolerant Than Expected to Low Oxygen Events

Fish may be more tolerant than previously thought to periods of low oxygen in the oceans, new research ... read more

Climate: Uncertainty in Scientific Predictions Can Help and Harm Credibility

The ways climate scientists explain their predictions about the impact of global warming can either promote or limit their ... read more

Climate Change Concerns Have Largely Ignored Role of Access to Effective Contraception

Climate change concerns have largely ignored the importance of universal access to effective contraception, despite the impact of population growth on greenhouse gas emissions, argue ... read more

New Tool Enables Nova Scotia Lobster Fishery to Address Impacts of Climate Change

Researchers use long-term survey data sets and climate models to help fishing communities plan for a warmer ocean. Researchers have developed a tool that incorporates projected changes in ocean ... read more

Believing in Climate Change Doesn't Mean You Are Preparing for Climate Change

Researchers found that although coastal homeowners may perceive a worsening of climate change-related hazards, these attitudes are largely unrelated to a homeowner's expectations of actual home ... read more

Dual Approach Needed to Save Sinking Cities and Bleaching Corals

Local conservation can boost the climate resilience of coastal ecosystems, species and cities and buy them time in their fight against sea-level rise, ocean acidification and warming temperatures, a ... read more

New Method Gives First Global Picture of Mutual Predictability of Atmosphere and Ocean

Scientists have carried out a novel statistical analysis to determine for the first time a global picture of how the ocean helps predict the low-level atmosphere and vice versa. They observed ... read more

Climate Change Could Pit Species Against One Another as They Shift Ranges

Species have few good options when it comes to surviving climate change -- they can genetically adapt to new conditions, shift their ranges, or both. But new research indicates that conflicts between ... read more

Multifactor Models Reveal Worse Picture of Climate Change Impact on Marine Life

Rising ocean temperatures have long been linked to negative impacts for marine life, but a team has recently found that the long-term outlook for many marine species is much more complex -- and ... read more

Cutting Emissions Gradually Will Avert Sudden Jump in Warming

Steadily reducing fossil fuel emissions over coming years will prevent millions of premature deaths and help avoid the worst of climate change without causing a large spike in short-term warming that ... read more

Mechanism Modeling for Better Forecasts, Climate Predictions

Modeling currents together with wind and waves provides more accurate predictions for weather forecasts and climate ... read more

Peatlands Trap CO2, Even During Droughts

Scientists studied the two species of moss that make up the peatland. They discovered that in hot weather and drought conditions, one species resists, whereas the other is negatively impacted. In wet ... read more

Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Friday, September 13, 2019
Friday, September 6, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Friday, August 30, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Saturday, August 10, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Thursday, August 1, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Monday, July 22, 2019
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Tuesday, July 9, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Monday, July 1, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Monday, June 17, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Friday, June 7, 2019
Thursday, June 6, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019
Friday, May 31, 2019
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Friday, May 3, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Friday, April 26, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Sunday, February 17, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019