advertisement
Geology News
April 1, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Heat stress from extreme heat and humidity will annually affect areas now home to 1.2 billion people by 2100, assuming current greenhouse gas emissions, according to a new ... read more
Geologists have studied exposed, 3.2-billion-year-old ocean crust in Australia and used that rock data to build a ... read more
By measuring iron isotopes, researchers have shown that our planet originally formed much faster than previously thought. This finding provides new insights on both planetary ... read more

Earth's Oldest Asteroid Strike Linked to 'Big Thaw'

Scientists have discovered Earth's oldest asteroid strike occurred at Yarrabubba, in outback Western Australia, and coincided with the end of a global deep freeze known as a Snowball Earth. The ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 1:53pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

How Earthquakes Deform Gravity

Researchers have developed an algorithm that for the first time can describe a gravitational signal caused by earthquakes with high accuracy. Tests with data from the 2011 earthquake near Fukushima ... read more

South American Volcano Showing Early Warning Signs of 'Potential Collapse'

One of South America's most prominent volcanoes is producing early warning signals of a potential collapse, new research has ... read more

Coincidences Influence the Onset and Ending of Ice Ages

An analysis of the so called climate spectrum shows why the ice ages have not behaved precisely as the models predict. A large element of coincidence is involved when an ice age begins or ends, the ... read more

Scientists Show Solar System Processes Control the Carbon Cycle Throughout Earth's History

This new work sheds fresh light on the complicated interplay of factors affecting global climate and the carbon cycle -- and on what transpired millions of years ago to spark two of the most ... read more

Twist in the Story of Volcanism and Mass Extinctions

An emerging scientific consensus is that gases -- in particular carbon gases -- released by volcanic eruptions millions of years ago contributed to some of Earth's greatest mass extinctions. But ... read more

Geothermal Energy: Drilling a 3,000-Meter Deep Well

Destabilizing the precarious equilibrium at depth with geothermal wells may reactivate the geological layers causing earthquakes. Researchers have studied the seismic activity linked to a geothermal ... read more

Acid-Loving Microbe Can Improve Understanding of Past Climate

Study of an 'extremophile' found in the hot springs of Yellowstone National Park can be used to help researchers understand climate ... read more

Peeking at the Plumbing of One of the Aleutian's Most-Active Volcanoes

A new approach to analyzing seismic data reveals deep vertical zones of low seismic velocity in the plumbing system underlying Alaska's Cleveland volcano, one of the most-active of the more than ... read more

Arctic Permafrost Thaw Plays Greater Role in Climate Change Than Previously Estimated

Abrupt thawing of permafrost will double previous estimates of potential carbon emissions from permafrost thaw in the Arctic, and is already rapidly changing the landscape and ecology of the ... read more

Viscosity Measurements Offer New Insights Into Earth's Mantle

An international research group has succeeded for the first time in measuring the viscosity that molten solids exhibit under the pressure and temperature conditions found in the lower earth mantle. ... read more

Past Climate Safe Havens Now Most Vulnerable

The profound threat of future climate change to biodiversity demands that scientists seek ever more effective ways to identify the most vulnerable species, communities, and ecosystems. Scientists ... read more

Meteorites Reveal High Carbon Dioxide Levels on Early Earth

Tiny meteorites no larger than grains of sand hold new clues about the atmosphere on ancient Earth, according to ... read more

Upper-Plate Earthquakes Caused Uplift Along New Zealand's Northern Hikurangi Margin

Earthquakes along a complex series of faults in the upper plate of New Zealand's northern Hikurangi Subduction Margin were responsible for coastal uplift in the region, according to a new ... read more

More Rain and Less Snow Means Increased Flood Risk

By analyzing more than two decades of data in the western US, scientists have shown that flood sizes increase exponentially as a higher fraction of precipitation falls as rain, offering insight into ... read more

Seismic Biomarkers in Japan Trench Fault Zone Reveal History of Large Earthquakes

Researchers used a novel technique to study the faults in the Japan Trench, the subduction zone where the magnitude 9.1 Tohoku-Oki earthquake struck in 2011. Their findings reveal a long history of ... read more

Mystery of Grand Canyon's Water Supply

Researchers looked at how scientists model the vulnerability of karst formations around the Grand Canyon. They then created a new model that can give land and water managers more information so they ... read more

Evidence to Explain Behavior of Slow Earthquakes

A team of researchers has made an important breakthrough that will help better understand the origin and behavior of slow earthquakes. Their work presents unprecedented evidence that slow earthquakes ... read more

Complex Rupturing During 2019 Ridgecrest, California, Sequence

The 2019 Ridgecrest earthquake sequence, which startled nearby California residents over the 4 July holiday with magnitude 6.4 and magnitude 7.1 earthquakes, included 34,091 earthquakes overall, ... read more

Signals from Inside Earth: Borexino Experiment Releases New Data on Geoneutrinos

The Borexino collaboration has presented new results for the measurement of neutrinos originating from the interior of the Earth. With this update, the researchers have now been able to access 53 ... read more

Evidence of Strong Early Magnetic Field Around Earth

New research provides evidence that the magnetic field that first formed around Earth was even stronger than scientists previously believed. The research will help scientists draw conclusions about ... read more

Friday, February 21, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Monday, February 10, 2020
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Monday, January 6, 2020
Wednesday, January 1, 2020
Monday, December 23, 2019
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Friday, December 13, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Thursday, November 28, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Friday, November 22, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Monday, October 14, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019