advertisement
Hazardous Waste News
December 12, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Environmental Toxins Impair Immune System Over Multiple Generations

New research shows that maternal exposure to a common and ubiquitous form of industrial pollution can harm the immune system of offspring and that this injury is passed along to subsequent ... read more

Cleaning Pollutants from Water With Pollen and Spores -- Without the 'Achoo!'

In addition to their role in plant fertilization and reproduction, pollens and spores have another, hidden talent: With a simple treatment, these ... read more

The Fat of the Land: Estimating the Ecological Costs of Overeating

Researchers have proposed a way to measure the ecological impact of global food wastage due to excessive consumption. The results suggest that direct food waste -- thrown away or lost from field to ... read more

Air Pollution Linked to Risk of Premature Death

A new international study has found that air pollution is linked to increased cardiovascular and respiratory death rates. The study is the largest of its kind to investigate the short-term impacts of ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 11:53am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Tackling Air Pollution: Researchers Present Emissions Inventory for Nepal

Data on emission amounts and sources have an important role to play in shaping policy on climate protection and air quality. Now, scientists have presented the first high-resolution inventory to ... read more

Recycling Nutrient-Rich Industrial Waste Products Enhances Soil, Reduces Carbon

Recycling biotechnology byproducts can enhance soil health while reducing carbon emissions and maintaining crop ... read more

Integrated Approach for Managing Aquatic Invasive Species in California

Though small and somewhat nondescript, quagga and zebra mussels pose a huge threat to local rivers, lakes and estuaries. Thanks to aggressive measures to prevent contamination, Santa Barbara ... read more

Sustaining Roads With Grape and Agricultural Waste

The US spends $5 billion a year to repair damages to road infrastructure from winter snow and ice control operations and the use of traditional deicers. A team of researchers is developing a more ... read more

Coastal Fog Linked to High Levels of Mercury Found in Mountain Lions, Study Finds

Researchers have discovered elevated levels of mercury in mountain lions, the latest indication that the neurotoxin is being carried in fog, deposited on the land, and making its way up the food ... read more

Biotech Breakthrough Turns Waste Biomass Into High Value Chemicals

A move towards a more sustainable bio-based economy has been given a new boost by researchers who have been able to simplify a process to transform waste materials into high value ... read more

Leftover Grain from Breweries Could Be Converted Into Fuel for Homes

A researcher has developed a low cost technique to convert left over barley from alcohol breweries into carbon, which could be used as a renewable fuel for homes in winter, charcoal for summer ... read more

A New World Map Rates Food Sustainability for Countries Across the Globe

A global food system sustainability study builds the first map of its kind to score the sustainability of food systems, country-by-country. The study goes beyond usual questions of productivity and ... read more

Clean Air Research Converts Toxic Air Pollutant Into Industrial Chemical

A toxic pollutant produced by burning fossil fuels can be captured from the exhaust gas stream and converted into useful industrial chemicals using only water and air thanks to a new advanced ... read more

Old Newspapers Can Be Used to Grow Carbon Nanotubes

New research has found that old newspaper provide a cheap and green solution for the bulk production of single walled carbon ... read more

Researchers Design an Improved Pathway to Carbon-Neutral Plastics

Researchers have designed a new and improved system for efficiently converting CO2, water, and renewable energy into ethylene -- the precursor to a wide range of plastic products -- under neutral ... read more

Get Over It? When It Comes to Recycled Water, Consumers Won't

If people are educated on recycled water, they may come to agree it's perfectly safe and tastes as good -- or better -- than their drinking water. They may even agree it's an answer to the ... read more

New, Slippery Toilet Coating Provides Cleaner Flushing, Saves Water

Researchers have developed a method that dramatically reduces the amount of water needed to flush a conventional toilet, which usually requires 6 ... read more

Micro-Rubber in the Environment

The tread on the tire is worn out, new tires are needed. Everyday life for many drivers. But where do these lost centimeters of tire tread 'disappear' to? As micro-rubbers, they mainly end ... read more

How Everyday Products Are Supercharging Landfill Gas, and What That Means

Synthetic compounds increasingly used in everyday products like shampoo and motor oil are finding their way into landfills and supercharging the biogas those landfills produce, researchers have ... read more

Turning (More) Fat and Sewage Into Natural Gas

Researchers have developed what is, to date, the most efficient means of converting sewage sludge and restaurant grease into natural ... read more

Deep Learning Expands Study of Nuclear Waste Remediation

A research collaboration has achieved exaflop performance with a deep learning application used to model subsurface flow in the study of nuclear waste ... read more

New Catalyst Efficiently Produces Hydrogen from Seawater

Seawater is one of the most abundant resources on earth, offering promise both as a source of hydrogen and of drinking water in arid climates. Now researchers have reported a significant breakthrough ... read more

Scientists Take Strides Towards Entirely Renewable Energy

Researchers have made a major discovery that will make it immeasurably easier for people (or super-computers) to search for an elusive 'green bullet' catalyst that could ultimately provide ... read more

Geoscientists Hope to Make Induced Earthquakes Predictable

Geoscientists have created a model to forecast induced earthquake activity from the disposal of wastewater after oil and gas ... read more

Monday, December 9, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Friday, November 22, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Friday, November 1, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Friday, October 4, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Saturday, September 28, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Friday, September 6, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Friday, August 30, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Friday, August 9, 2019
Thursday, August 8, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Friday, August 2, 2019
Thursday, August 1, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Friday, July 26, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Friday, July 19, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Friday, July 12, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Thursday, July 4, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Monday, July 1, 2019
Friday, June 28, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019
Thursday, June 20, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Tuesday, June 11, 2019