advertisement
Pollution News
April 1, 2020

Top Headlines
 

As global temperatures rise, permafrost and methane hydrates -- large reservoirs of ancient carbon -- have the potential to ... read more
Researchers measured methane levels in ancient air samples and found that scientists have been vastly underestimating the amount of methane humans are emitting into the ... read more
Rising sea surface temperatures and acidic waters could eliminate nearly all existing coral reef habitats by 2100, suggesting restoration projects in these areas will likely ... read more
Toxic and invisible oil spread well beyond the known satellite footprint of the Deepwater Horizon oil spill, according to a new study. These new findings have important ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 12:24pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Concrete Solutions That Lower Both Emissions and Air Pollution

Some common strategies to reduce the greenhouse gas emissions of concrete production could have unintended consequences for local air pollution and related health damages, according to a new ... read more

Fish Scales Could Make Wearable Electronics More Sustainable

Flexible temporary electronic displays may one day make it possible to sport a glowing tattoo or check a reading, like that of a stopwatch, directly on the skin. In its current form, however, this ... read more

Microplastic Fibers Linked to Respiratory, Reproductive Changes in Fish

Chronic exposure to microplastic fibers causes aneurysms, erosion of surface layers and other serious damage to fish gills, and increases egg production in female fish, a sign that chemicals in the ... read more

First-Time Direct Proof of Chemical Reactions in Particulates

Researchers have developed a new method to analyze particulate matter more precisely than ever before. With its help, they disproved an established doctrine: that molecules in aerosols undergo no ... read more

Scientists Find High Concentrations of Toxic Phenyltin Compounds in Local Chinese White Dolphins

A research team confirmed the occurrence of biomagnification of toxic substance TPT compounds along the marine food chain resulted in very high concentrations of TPT in two top predators, the Chinese ... read more

Can Poor Air Quality Make You Gain Weight?

A new study links air pollution to changes in the human gut microbiome which could fuel diabetes, obesity and inflammatory bowel diseases like colitis and Crohn's ... read more

Some Domesticated Plants Ignore Beneficial Soil Microbes

A review by biologists finds that plant domestication has often had a negative effect on plant microbiomes, making domesticated plants more dependent on fertilizer and other soil amendments than ... read more

Wearing Clothes Could Release More Microfibers to the Environment Than Washing Them

In a first-of-its-kind study, scientists compared four different items of polyester clothing and how many fibers were released when they were being worn and ... read more

Ship Noise Leaves Crabs Too Stressed to Hide from Danger

The ocean is getting too loud even for crabs. Normally, shore crabs (Carcinus maenas) can slowly change their shell color to blend in with the rocky shore, but recent findings show that prolonged ... read more

Air Pollution Is One of the World's Most Dangerous Health Risks

Researchers calculate that the effects of air pollution shorten the lives of people around the world by an average of almost three ... read more

Unexpected Discovery: Blue-Green Algae Produce Oil

Cyanobacteria -- colloquially also called blue-green algae - can produce oil from water and carbon dioxide with the help of light. This is shown by a recent study. The result is unexpected: Until ... read more

The World Faces an Air Pollution 'Pandemic'

Air pollution is responsible for shortening people's lives worldwide on a scale far greater than wars and other forms of violence, parasitic and insect-born diseases such as malaria, HIV/AIDS ... read more

Is There a Technological Solution to Aquatic Dead Zones?

Could pumping oxygen-rich surface water into the depths of lakes, estuaries, and coastal ocean waters help ameliorate dangerous dead zones? New work says yes, although they caution that further ... read more

Containing Methane and Its Contribution to Global Warming

Methane is a gas that deserves more attention in the climate debate as it contributes to almost half of human-made global warming in the short-term. A new study shows that it is possible to ... read more

Motley Crew: Rust and Light a Possible Answer to the Conundrum of Hydrogen Fuel Production

Production of hydrogen fuel is a key goal towards the development of sustainable energy practices, but this process does not have feasible techniques yet. Scientists have identified a novel technique ... read more

Tadpoles Break the Tension With Bubble-Sucking

When it comes to the smallest of creatures, the hydrogen bonds that hold water molecules together to form 'surface tension' lend enough strength to support their mass: think of insects that ... read more

Reducing Nutrient Pollution Helps Coral Resist Bleaching

Coral reefs are not doomed. Although human activities threaten the iconic ecosystems in many different ways, scientists maintain that reefs can continue to thrive with the right ... read more

'Grand Challenge' Review Stresses Global Impact of Microplastics

Microplastics are not just an ocean ... read more

Illuminating Interactions Between Decision-Making and the Environment

Employing a game theory model, researchers demonstrate how strategic decisions influence the environment in which those decisions are made, alterations which in turn influence strategy. Their ... read more

Do the Climate Effects of Air Pollution Impact the Global Economy?

Aerosol emissions from burning coal and wood are dangerous to human health, but it turns out that by cooling the Earth they also diminish global economic inequality, according to a new ... read more

Monday, March 23, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020
Thursday, March 12, 2020
Tuesday, March 10, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Friday, February 28, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Monday, February 17, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Monday, February 10, 2020
Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Friday, February 7, 2020
Thursday, February 6, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Friday, January 31, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Friday, January 24, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Monday, January 6, 2020
Friday, January 3, 2020
Tuesday, December 24, 2019
Friday, December 20, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Saturday, December 14, 2019
Friday, December 13, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Friday, December 6, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Friday, November 22, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019