advertisement
Severe Weather News
December 8, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Climate change will increase the size of stalled high-pressure systems that can cause heat waves, droughts and other extreme weather, according to a ... read more

3-D Printed Coral Could Help Endangered Reefs

Threats to coral reefs are everywhere -- rising water temperatures, ocean acidification, coral bleaching, fishing and other human activities. But new research shows that 3-D printed coral can provide ... read more

The Last Mammoths Died on a Remote Island

Isolation, extreme weather, and the possible arrival of humans may have killed off the holocene herbivores just 4,000 years ... read more

Brave New World: Simple Changes in Intensity of Weather Events 'Could Be Lethal'

Faced with extreme weather events and unprecedented environmental change, animals and plants are scrambling to catch up -- with mixed results. A new ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 10:24am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Prayers Can Crowd out Donations for Disaster Victims

A new study finds that people who prayed for hurricane victims before donating gave less than they would have otherwise: Because those who prayed believed that prayers improved the victims' ... read more

New Technology Developed to Improve Forecasting of Earthquakes, Tsunamis

Geoscientists have successfully developed and tested a new high-tech shallow water buoy that can detect the small movements and changes in the Earth's seafloor that are often a precursor to ... read more

Dead-Zone Report Card Reflects Improving Water Quality in Chesapeake Bay

The 2019 'dead-zone' report card for Chesapeake Bay indicates that the volume of low-oxygen, 'hypoxic' water was on the high end of the normal range, a finding that scientists ... read more

Boosting Wind Farmers, Global Winds Reverse Decades of Slowing and Pick Up Speed

In a boon to wind farms, average daily wind speeds are picking up across much of the globe after about 30 years of gradual slowing. Research shows that wind speeds in northern mid-latitude regions ... read more

Pollution from Athabasca Oil Sands Affects Weather Processes

Scientists have been looking at pollution affecting the air, land and water around the Athabaska Oil Sands for some time. After looking at contaminants in snow taken from up-to 25 km away from the ... read more

The Forests of the Amazon Are an Important Carbon Sink

The world's tropical forests store huge quantities of carbon in their biomass and thus constitute an important carbon sink. However, current estimates of the amount of carbon dioxide stored in ... read more

Researchers Find Climate Change and Turf Seaweed Causing 'Patchy' Seascape

Researchers find environmental developments caused by climate change are contributing to the transformation of the seafloor to a lower, more patchy seascape dominated by shrub-like seaweed which ... read more

When Reporting Climate-Driven Human Migration, Place Matters

Location matters when talking about how climate might or might not be driving migration from Central America. Climate research in the dry corridor region revealed a complex pattern of change. If you ... read more

Urban Development Reduces Flash Flooding Chances in Arid Western US

Urban development in the eastern United States results in an increase in flash flooding in nearby streams, but in the arid West, urbanization has just the opposite effect, according to a researcher, ... read more

Climate Change Expected to Shift Location of East Asian Monsoons

More than a billion people in Asia depend on seasonal monsoons for their water needs. The Asian monsoon is closely linked to a planetary-scale tropical air flow which, according to a new study, will ... read more

Deep Neural Networks Speed Up Weather and Climate Models

A team of environmental and computation scientists is using deep neural networks, a type of machine learning, to replace the parameterizations of certain physical schemes in the Weather Research and ... read more

This Is What the Monsoon Might Look Like in a Warmer World

In the last interglacial period on Earth about 125,000 years ago, the Indian monsoon was longer, more extreme and less reliable than it is today. This is the conclusion drawn after analyses of a ... read more

Scientists Study Impact of Sediments and Nutrients from Conowingo Dam on Chesapeake Bay

A new study examines the influences of a river dam on the fate of sediments and nutrients on an estuary, using the Conowingo Dam and the Chesapeake Bay as a case ... read more

Hurricanes Have Become Bigger and More Destructive for USA

A new study shows that hurricanes have become more destructive since 1900, and the worst of them are more than 3 times as frequent now than 100 years ago. A new way of calculating the destruction ... read more

Turbulence Creates Ice in Clouds

Vertical air motions increase ice formation in mixed-phase clouds. This correlation was predicted theoretically for a long time, but could now be observed for the first time in nature. Using laser ... read more

Using AI to Predict Where and When Lightning Will Strike

Researchers have developed a novel way of predicting lightning strikes to the nearest 10 to 30 minutes and within a radius of 30 kilometers. The system uses a combination of standard data from ... read more

New Tornado Casualty Analysis Will Improve Future Predictions

New research gives insights into tornado casualty rates across the United States and casualty prediction ... read more

Harmful Emissions from Traffic, Trucks, SUVs

Almost one third of Canadians live near a major road -- and this means they go about their everyday lives exposed to a complex mixture of vehicle air pollutants. A new study reveals that emissions ... read more

Unexpected Outcomes: Damages to Puerto Rican Coffee Farms from Hurricane Maria Varied

Ecologists have studied Latin American coffee farms for a quarter century, and they tracked the recovery of tropical forests in Nicaragua following 1988's Hurricane Joan for nearly 20 ... read more

Why Are Big Storms Bringing So Much More Rain? Warming, Yes, but Also Winds

For three hurricane seasons in a row, storms with record-breaking rainfall have caused catastrophic flooding in the southern United States. A new analysis explains why this trend is likely to ... read more

Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Friday, November 22, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Monday, October 14, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Monday, September 2, 2019
Friday, August 30, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Thursday, August 8, 2019
Tuesday, August 6, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Friday, August 2, 2019
Thursday, August 1, 2019