advertisement
Ancient Civilizations News
February 18, 2020

Top Headlines
 

The first articulated Neanderthal skeleton to come out of the ground for over 20 years has been unearthed at one of the most ... read more

Ancient 'Chewing Gum' Yields Insights Into People and Bacteria of the Past

Researchers have succeeded in extracting a complete human genome from a thousands-of-years old 'chewing gum.' According to the researchers, it is a new untapped source of ancient ... read more

Archaeologists Find Bronze Age Tombs Lined With Gold

Archaeologists have discovered two Bronze Age tombs containing a trove of engraved jewelry and artifacts that promise to unlock secrets about life in ancient ... read more

Ancient Egyptians Gathered Birds from the Wild for Sacrifice and Mummification

In ancient Egypt, sacred ibises were collected from their natural habitats to be ritually sacrificed, according to a new ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 4:54pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Ancient Plant Foods Discovered in Arnhem Land, Australia

The new study includes the earliest evidence of Homo sapiens use of plant foods outside Africa and the Middle ... read more

Celebrated Ancient Egyptian Woman Physician Likely Never Existed

For decades, an ancient Egyptian known as Merit Ptah has been celebrated as the first female physician and a role model for women entering medicine. Yet a researcher now says she never existed and is ... read more

A New Early Whale, Aegicetus Gehennae, and the Evolution of Modern Whale Locomotion

A newly discovered fossil whale represents a new species and an important step in the evolution of whale ... read more

Researchers Analyze Artifacts to Better Understand Ancient Dietary Practices

New research from anthropologists is shedding light on ancient dietary practices, the evolution of agricultural societies and ultimately, how plants have become an important element of the modern ... read more

Long-Distance Timber Trade Underpinned the Roman Empire's Construction

The ancient Romans relied on long-distance timber trading to construct their empire, according to a new ... read more

Barbequed Clams on the Menu for Ancient Puerto Ricans

Scientists have reconstructed the cooking techniques of the early inhabitants of Puerto Rico by analyzing the remains of ... read more

Scientist Excavates Medieval Uzbek Cemetery

An Otago scientist has been digging up human remains in the backyards of Uzbek villagers to discover how people lived in the Middle ... read more

Scientists Use Modern Technology to Understand How Ochre Paint Was Created in Pictographs

Ochre was often used as a vivid red paint in ancient rock art known as pictographs. Despite its broad use throughout human history and a modern focus on how the artistic symbolism is interpreted, ... read more

Early DNA Lineages Shed Light on the Diverse Origins of the Contemporary Population

A new genetic study demonstrates that, at the end of the Iron Age, Finland was inhabited by separate and differing populations, all of them influencing the gene pool of modern Finns. The study is so ... read more

Megadrought Likely Triggered the Fall of the Assyrian Empire

The Neo-Assyrian Empire, centered in northern Iraq and extending from Iran to Egypt -- the largest empire of its time -- collapsed after more than two centuries of dominance at the fall of its ... read more

First Evidence of Feathered Polar Dinosaurs Found in Australia

A cache of 118 million-year-old fossilized dinosaur and bird feathers has been recovered from an ancient lake deposit that once lay beyond the southern polar ... read more

Scientists Explore Egyptian Mummy Bones With X-Rays and Infrared Light

Experiments are casting a new light on Egyptian soil and ancient mummified bone samples that could provide a richer understanding of daily life and environmental conditions thousands of years ... read more

Researchers Lay out First Genetic History of Rome

Despite extensive records of the history of Rome, little is known about the city's population over time. A new genetic history of the Eternal City reveals a dynamic population shaped in part by ... read more

Ancient Bone Protein Reveals Which Turtles Were on the Menu in Florida, Caribbean

Thousands of years ago, the inhabitants of modern-day Florida and the Caribbean feasted on sea turtles, leaving behind bones that tell tales of ancient diets and the ocean's past. An ... read more

Ground Penetrating Radar Reveals Why Ancient Cambodian Capital Was Moved to Angkor

The largest water management feature in Khmer history was built in the 10th century as part of a short-lived ancient capital in northern Cambodia to store water but the system failed in its first ... read more

New Study on Early Human Fire Acquisition Squelches Debate

Fire starting is a skill that many modern humans struggle with in the absence of a lighter or matches. The earliest humans likely harvested fire from natural sources, yet when our ancestors learned ... read more

Science Reveals Improvements in Roman Building Techniques

Researchers have carried out scientific analysis of the materials used to build the Atrium Vestae in Rome. They found that successive phases of modification to the building saw improvements, ... read more

Strong Winter Dust Storms May Have Caused the Collapse of the Akkadian Empire

Fossil coral records provide new evidence that frequent winter shamals, or dust storms, and a prolonged cold winter season contributed to the collapse of the ancient Akkadian Empire in ... read more

Lead Pollution from Native Americans Attributed to Crushing Galena for Glitter Paint

A new study of Native American use of galena increases understanding of how they were using the land and its ... read more

Archaeologists Uncover 2,000-Year-Old Street in Jerusalem Built by Pontius Pilate

An ancient walkway most likely used by pilgrims as they made their way to worship at the Temple Mount has been uncovered in the 'City of David' in the Jerusalem Walls National ... read more

Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Monday, December 16, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Friday, September 13, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Sunday, September 8, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Wednesday, July 3, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Thursday, June 20, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Friday, May 31, 2019
Thursday, May 30, 2019
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Monday, May 20, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Friday, May 10, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Tuesday, May 7, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Monday, April 22, 2019
Friday, April 19, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Friday, April 5, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 14, 2019
Wednesday, January 9, 2019
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018