advertisement
Ancient Civilizations News
April 1, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Mysterious bone circles made from the remains of dozens of mammoths have revealed clues about how ancient communities ... read more
A new study documented the earliest known interbreeding event between ancient human populations -- a group known as the 'super-archaics' in Eurasia interbred with a ... read more
The first articulated Neanderthal skeleton to come out of the ground for over 20 years has been unearthed at one of the most ... read more

Ancient 'Chewing Gum' Yields Insights Into People and Bacteria of the Past

Researchers have succeeded in extracting a complete human genome from a thousands-of-years old 'chewing gum.' According to the researchers, it is a new untapped source of ancient ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 1:24pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Ancient Plant Foods Discovered in Arnhem Land, Australia

The new study includes the earliest evidence of Homo sapiens use of plant foods outside Africa and the Middle ... read more

Early North Americans May Have Been More Diverse Than Previously Suspected

Ancient skulls from the cave systems at Tulum, Mexico, suggest that the earliest populations of North America may have already had a high level of morphological diversity, according to a new ... read more

Assessing Geographic Origins of Ancient Humans

Working with lead isotopes taken from tooth enamel of prehistoric animals, researchers have developed a new method for assessing the geographic origins of ancient ... read more

New Study Debunks Myth of Cahokia's Native American Lost Civilization

An archaeologist has dug up ancient human feces, among other demographic clues, to challenge the narrative around the legendary demise of Cahokia, North America's most iconic pre-Columbian ... read more

Native Americans Did Not Make Large-Scale Changes to Environment Prior to European Contact

Contrary to long-held beliefs, humans did not make major changes to the landscape prior to European colonization, according to new research. These new insights into the past could help to inform how ... read more

Pachacamac Idol of Ancient Peru Was Symbolically Painted

The Pachacamac Idol of ancient Peru was a multicolored and emblematic sacred icon worshiped for almost 700 hundred years before Spanish conquest, according to a new ... read more

Early Modern Humans Cooked Starchy Food in South Africa, 170,000 Years Ago

The inhabitants of the Border Cave in the Lebombo Mountains on the Kwazulu-Natal/eSwatini border were cooking starchy plants 170,000 years ago. This discovery is much older than earlier reports for ... read more

New Archaeological Discoveries Reveal Birch Bark Tar Was Used in Medieval England

Scientists have, for the first time, identified the use of birch bark tar in medieval England -- the use of which was previously thought to be limited to ... read more

Ancient Mediterranean Seawall First Known Defense Against Sea Level Rise and It Failed

Ancient Neolithic villagers on the Carmel Coast in Israel built a seawall to protect their settlement against rising sea levels in the Mediterranean, revealing humanity's struggle against rising ... read more

Celebrated Ancient Egyptian Woman Physician Likely Never Existed

For decades, an ancient Egyptian known as Merit Ptah has been celebrated as the first female physician and a role model for women entering medicine. Yet a researcher now says she never existed and is ... read more

A New Early Whale, Aegicetus Gehennae, and the Evolution of Modern Whale Locomotion

A newly discovered fossil whale represents a new species and an important step in the evolution of whale ... read more

Researchers Analyze Artifacts to Better Understand Ancient Dietary Practices

New research from anthropologists is shedding light on ancient dietary practices, the evolution of agricultural societies and ultimately, how plants have become an important element of the modern ... read more

Long-Distance Timber Trade Underpinned the Roman Empire's Construction

The ancient Romans relied on long-distance timber trading to construct their empire, according to a new ... read more

Barbequed Clams on the Menu for Ancient Puerto Ricans

Scientists have reconstructed the cooking techniques of the early inhabitants of Puerto Rico by analyzing the remains of ... read more

Scientist Excavates Medieval Uzbek Cemetery

An Otago scientist has been digging up human remains in the backyards of Uzbek villagers to discover how people lived in the Middle ... read more

Scientists Use Modern Technology to Understand How Ochre Paint Was Created in Pictographs

Ochre was often used as a vivid red paint in ancient rock art known as pictographs. Despite its broad use throughout human history and a modern focus on how the artistic symbolism is interpreted, ... read more

Early DNA Lineages Shed Light on the Diverse Origins of the Contemporary Population

A new genetic study demonstrates that, at the end of the Iron Age, Finland was inhabited by separate and differing populations, all of them influencing the gene pool of modern Finns. The study is so ... read more

Megadrought Likely Triggered the Fall of the Assyrian Empire

The Neo-Assyrian Empire, centered in northern Iraq and extending from Iran to Egypt -- the largest empire of its time -- collapsed after more than two centuries of dominance at the fall of its ... read more

Ancient Egyptians Gathered Birds from the Wild for Sacrifice and Mummification

In ancient Egypt, sacred ibises were collected from their natural habitats to be ritually sacrificed, according to a new ... read more

First Evidence of Feathered Polar Dinosaurs Found in Australia

A cache of 118 million-year-old fossilized dinosaur and bird feathers has been recovered from an ancient lake deposit that once lay beyond the southern polar ... read more

Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Thursday, January 2, 2020
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Friday, September 13, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Sunday, September 8, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Wednesday, July 3, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Thursday, June 20, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Friday, May 31, 2019
Thursday, May 30, 2019
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Monday, May 20, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Friday, May 10, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Tuesday, May 7, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Monday, April 22, 2019
Friday, April 19, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Friday, April 5, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019