advertisement
Anthropology News
March 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Neanderthals Ate Mussels, Fish, and Seals Too

Over 80,000 years ago, Neanderthals fed themselves on mussels, fish and other marine life. The first evidence has been found by an international team in the cave of Figueira Brava in Portugal. The ... read more
Geologists have discovered the first ancestor on the family tree that contains most animals today, including humans. The wormlike creature, Ikaria wariootia, is the earliest ... read more

'Wonderchicken' Fossil from the Age of Dinosaurs Reveals Origin of Modern Birds

The oldest fossil of a modern bird yet found, dating from the age of dinosaurs, has been identified by an international team of ... read more
Research on the lamprey brain has enabled scientists to push the birth of the cortex back in time by some 300 million years to over 500 million years ago, providing new ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 7:54am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Cosmic Impact Caused Destruction of One of World's Earliest Human Settlements

Before the Taqba Dam impounded the Euphrates River in northern Syria in the 1970s, an archaeological site named Abu Hureyra bore witness to the moment ancient nomadic people first settled down and ... read more

Siberian Neanderthals Originated from Various European Populations

At least two different groups of Neanderthals lived in Southern Siberia researchers have now shown that one of these groups migrated from Eastern ... read more

As Farming Developed, So Did Cooperation -- And Violence

The growth of agriculture led to unprecedented cooperation in human societies, a team of researchers, has found, but it also led to a spike in violence, an insight that offers lessons for the ... read more

Apes' Inner Ears Could Hide Clues to Evolutionary History of Hominoids

Studying the inner ear of apes and humans could uncover new information on our species' evolutionary relationships, suggests a new ... read more

How Millets Sustained Mongolia's Empires

Researchers examined stable isotopes from bone collagen and dental enamel to reconstruct the diets of ancient Mongolians. Findings challenge the popular notion of a completely nomadic prehistoric ... read more

5,000-Year-Old Milk Proteins Point to the Importance of Dairying in Eastern Eurasia

By analyzing milk proteins extracted from calcified dental plaque, researchers present the earliest evidence for dairy consumption on the eastern Eurasian Steppe and uncover clues to the origin of ... read more

Hunter-Gatherer Networks Accelerated Human Evolution

Humans began developing a complex culture as early as the Stone Age. This development was brought about by social interactions between various groups of hunters and gatherers, a new study has now ... read more

Complex Pattern of Ancient Immigration from Africa, Asia and Europe

Anthropologists have found out that prehistoric migration from Africa, Asia and Europe to the Mediterranean islands took place long before the era of the Mediterranean seafaring civilizations. For ... read more

Human Populations Survived the Toba Volcanic Super-Eruption 74,000 Years Ago

Researchers present evidence that Middle Palaeolithic tool-users were present in India before and after the Toba super-eruption 74,000 years ago. The findings support arguments that Homo sapiens was ... read more

Ancient DNA from Sardinia Reveals 6,000 Years of Genetic History

A new study of the genetic history of Sardinia, a Mediterranean island off the western coast of Italy, analyzed genome-wide DNA data for 70 individuals from more than 20 Sardinian archaeological ... read more

One Billion-Year-Old Green Seaweed Fossils Identified, Relative of Modern Land Plants

Paleontologists have made a remarkable discovery in China: 1 billion-year-old micro-fossils of green seaweeds that could be related to the ancestor of the earliest land plants and trees that first ... read more

New Study Offers Clues to Origin of Laws

A new study found that despite living in separate countries and legal codes separated by thousands of years, people have a universal intuition about whether a punishment fits a ... read more

Oldest Reconstructed Bacterial Genomes Link Farming, Herding With Emergence of New Disease

Using Salmonella enterica genomes recovered from human skeletons as old as 6,500 years, an international team of researchers illustrates the evolution of a human pathogen and provides the first ... read more

DNA from Ancient Packrat Nests Helps Unpack Earth's Past

New work shows how using next-generation DNA sequencing on ancient packrat middens -- nests made out of plant material, fragments of insects, bones, fecal matter, and urine -- could provide ... read more

A new study documented the earliest known interbreeding event between ancient human populations -- a group known as the 'super-archaics' in Eurasia interbred with a Neanderthal-Denisovan ... read more

Dog Domestication During Ice Age

Analysis of Paleolithic-era teeth from a 28,500-year-old fossil site in the Czech Republic provides supporting evidence for two groups of canids -- one dog-like and the other wolf-like - with ... read more

The first articulated Neanderthal skeleton to come out of the ground for over 20 years has been unearthed at one of the most important sites of mid-20th century archaeology: Shanidar Cave, in the ... read more

Ancient Plant Foods Discovered in Arnhem Land, Australia

The new study includes the earliest evidence of Homo sapiens use of plant foods outside Africa and the Middle ... read more

Brain imprints on cranial bones from great apes and humans refute the long-held notion that the human pattern of brain asymmetry is unique, according to new ... read more

5200-Year-Old Grains in the Eastern Altai Mountains Redate Trans-Eurasian Crop Exchange

Cereals from the Fertile Crescent and broomcorn millet from northern China spread across the ancient world, integrating into complex farming systems that used crop-rotation cycles enabled by the ... read more

Friday, March 6, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Friday, February 28, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Thursday, February 13, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Thursday, February 6, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Saturday, February 1, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020
Monday, January 6, 2020
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Friday, November 1, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019