advertisement
Archaeology News
December 8, 2019

Top Headlines
 

In ancient Egypt, sacred ibises were collected from their natural habitats to be ritually sacrificed, according to a ... read more
Researchers have succeeded in reconstructing the evolutionary relationship between a two million year old giant primate and the living orangutan. It is the first time genetic ... read more
Experiments are casting a new light on Egyptian soil and ancient mummified bone samples that could provide a richer understanding of daily life and environmental conditions ... read more
Scientists have unearthed new evidence in Greece proving that the island of Naxos was inhabited by Neanderthals and earlier ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 11:54pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Imaging Uncovers Secrets of Medicine's Mysterious Ivory Manikins

Little is known about the origins of manikins -- small anatomical sculptures thought to be used by doctors four centuries ago -- but now advanced imaging techniques have offered a revealing glimpse ... read more

Early DNA Lineages Shed Light on the Diverse Origins of the Contemporary Population

A new genetic study demonstrates that, at the end of the Iron Age, Finland was inhabited by separate and differing populations, all of them influencing the gene pool of modern Finns. The study is so ... read more

World's Oldest Glue Used from Prehistoric Times Till the Days of the Gauls

By studying artefacts that date back to the first 6 centuries AD through the lens of chemistry, archaeology, and textual analysis, researchers have discovered birch tar was being used right up to ... read more

What We Can Learn from Indigenous Land Management

First Nations peoples' world view and connection to Country provide a rich source of knowledge and innovations for better land and water management policies when Indigenous decision-making is ... read more

Human Activities Boosted Global Soil Erosion 4,000 Years Ago

Soil erosion reduces the productivity of ecosystems, it changes nutrient cycles and it thus directly impacts climate and society. An international team of researchers, recorded temporal changes of ... read more

New Study on Early Human Fire Acquisition Squelches Debate

Fire starting is a skill that many modern humans struggle with in the absence of a lighter or matches. The earliest humans likely harvested fire from natural sources, yet when our ancestors learned ... read more

Science Reveals Improvements in Roman Building Techniques

Researchers have carried out scientific analysis of the materials used to build the Atrium Vestae in Rome. They found that successive phases of modification to the building saw improvements, ... read more

Researchers Identify the Sex of Skeletons Based on Elbow Features

In an effort to help identify skeletal remains of Thai descent, researchers have found that examining the distal humerus (elbow) bone is superior to previous techniques that were developed for ... read more

Lead Pollution from Native Americans Attributed to Crushing Galena for Glitter Paint

A new study of Native American use of galena increases understanding of how they were using the land and its ... read more

Archaeologists Uncover 2,000-Year-Old Street in Jerusalem Built by Pontius Pilate

An ancient walkway most likely used by pilgrims as they made their way to worship at the Temple Mount has been uncovered in the 'City of David' in the Jerusalem Walls National ... read more

Belongings of Warrior Found on Unique Bronze Age Battlefield Site

Recent archaeological investigations in the Tollense Valley by a research team has unearthed a collection of 31 unusual objects. Researchers believe this is the equipment of a Bronze Age warrior who ... read more

Discovered: Unknown Yellow Colors from Antiquity

Antique artefacts have been studied by chemists, revealing a hitherto unknown use of yellow in Ancient ... read more

Archaeology: Social Inequality in Bronze Age Households

Archaeogenetic analyses provide new insights into social inequality 4,000 years ago: nuclear families lived together with foreign women and individuals from lower social classes in the same ... read more

Prehistoric Humans Ate Bone Marrow Like Canned Soup 400,000 Years Ago

Researchers have uncovered evidence of the storage and delayed consumption of animal bone marrow at Qesem Cave near Tel Aviv. The research provides direct evidence that early Paleolithic people saved ... read more

Cretan Tomb's Location May Have Strengthened Territorial Claim

Examining the position occupied by tombs in their landscape in Prepalatial Crete gives us new insights into the role played by burial sites, mortuary practices and the deceased in the living ... read more

Early Hunter-Gatherers Interacted Much Sooner Than Previously Believed

A nearly 4,000-year-old burial site found off the coast of Georgia hints at ties between hunter-gatherers on opposite sides of North America, according to new ... read more

Microscopic Evidence Sheds Light on the Disappearance of the World's Largest Mammals

Understanding the causes and consequences of Late Quaternary megafaunal extinctions is increasingly important in a world of growing human populations and climate change. A review highlights the role ... read more

Preserving Old Bones With Modern Technology

Anthropologists are out to change the way that scientists study old bones ... read more

Dishing the Dirt on an Early Man Cave

Fossil animal droppings, charcoal from ancient fires and bone fragments litter the ground of one of the world's most important human evolution sites, new research reveals. A team of scientists ... read more

First Evidence for Early Baby Bottles Used to Feed Animal Milk to Prehistoric Babies

A team of scientists, led by the University of Bristol, has found the first evidence that prehistoric babies were fed animal milk using the equivalent of modern-day baby ... read more

Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Friday, September 13, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Friday, August 30, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Friday, August 16, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Monday, July 22, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Wednesday, July 3, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Thursday, June 20, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Monday, June 17, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019
Friday, May 31, 2019
Thursday, May 30, 2019
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Friday, May 17, 2019
Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019
Friday, May 10, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Tuesday, May 7, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Monday, April 22, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Wednesday, April 10, 2019