advertisement
Early Humans News
January 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Important clues about the anatomy and evolution of the mysterious giant squid (Architeuthis dux) are revealed through publication of its full ... read more
A research team has discovered the first conclusive evidence that selection may also occur at the level of the epigenome -- a term that refers to an assortment of chemical ... read more
Neanderthals collected clam shells and volcanic rock from the beach and coastal waters of Italy during the Middle Paleolithic, according to a ... read more
An international team of researchers has determined the age of the last known settlement of the species Homo erectus, one of ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 3:24am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Early DNA Lineages Shed Light on the Diverse Origins of the Contemporary Population

A new genetic study demonstrates that, at the end of the Iron Age, Finland was inhabited by separate and differing populations, all of them influencing the gene pool of modern Finns. The study is so ... read more

Neanderthal Extinction Linked to Human Diseases

Complex disease transmission patterns could explain why it took tens of thousands of years after first contact for our ancestors to replace Neanderthals throughout Europe and ... read more

Humans Migrated from Europe to the Levant 40,000 Years Ago

Researchers now report that Aurignacians, culturally sophisticated yet mysterious early humans, migrated from Europe to the Levant some 40,000 years ago, shedding light on a significant era in the ... read more

Ornament With Eagle Talons from Neanderthal Period

For the first time, researchers found evidence of the ornamental uses of eagle talons in the Iberian ... read more

Red Algae Thrive Despite Ancestor's Massive Loss of Genes

You'd think that losing 25 percent of your genes would be a big problem for survival. But not for red algae, including the seaweed used to wrap sushi. An ancestor of red algae lost about a ... read more

The Homeland of Modern Humans

A landmark study pinpoints the birthplace of modern humans in southern Africa and suggests how past climate shifts drove their first ... read more

New Study on Early Human Fire Acquisition Squelches Debate

Fire starting is a skill that many modern humans struggle with in the absence of a lighter or matches. The earliest humans likely harvested fire from natural sources, yet when our ancestors learned ... read more

Lifestyle Is a Threat to Gut Bacteria: Ötzi Proves It, Study Shows

The evolution of dietary and hygienic habits in Western countries is associated with a decrease in the bacteria that help in digestion. These very bacteria were also found in the Iceman, who lived ... read more

Newly Discovered Microbes Band Together, 'Flip Out'

Scientists have found a new species of choanoflagellate. This close relative of animals forms sheets of cells that 'flip' inside-out in response to light, alternating between a cup-shaped ... read more

A Secret in Saliva: Food and Germs Helped Humans Evolve Into Unique Member of Great Apes

Researchers discovered that the human diet -- a result of increased meat consumption, cooking and agriculture -- has led to stark differences in the saliva of humans compared to that of other ... read more

Scientists Find Early Humans Moved Through Mediterranean Earlier Than Believed

Scientists have unearthed new evidence in Greece proving that the island of Naxos was inhabited by Neanderthals and earlier humans at least 200,000 years ago, tens of thousands of years earlier than ... read more

How Human Brain Development Diverged from That of Great Apes

Researchers present new insights into the development of the human brain and differences in this process compared to other great apes. The study reveals features of brain development that are unique ... read more

The Brain Does Not Follow the Head

The human brain is about three times the size of the brains of great apes. This has to do, among other things, with the evolution of novel brain structures that enabled complex behaviors such as ... read more

Study 'Cures' Oldest Case of Deafness in Human Evolution

An international team of researchers has published a new study examining a 430,000-year-old cranium of a human ancestor that was previously described as deaf, representing the oldest case of deafness ... read more

Early Humans Evolved in Ecosystems Unlike Any Found Today

To understand the environmental pressures that shaped human evolution, scientists must reconstruct the ecosystems in which they lived. Because putting together the puzzle of millions-of-years-old ... read more

The Last Mammoths Died on a Remote Island

Isolation, extreme weather, and the possible arrival of humans may have killed off the holocene herbivores just 4,000 years ... read more

Oldest Miniaturized Stone Toolkits in Eurasia

Microliths are often interpreted as being part of composite tools, including projectile weapons, essential to efficient Homo sapiens hunting strategies. In Europe and Africa, these lithic toolkits ... read more

Microscopic Evidence Sheds Light on the Disappearance of the World's Largest Mammals

Understanding the causes and consequences of Late Quaternary megafaunal extinctions is increasingly important in a world of growing human populations and climate change. A review highlights the role ... read more

250-Million-Year-Old Evolutionary Remnants Seen in Muscles of Human Embryos

A team of evolutionary biologists have demonstrated that some limb muscles known to be present in many mammals but absent in the adult human are actually formed during early human development and ... read more

Dishing the Dirt on an Early Man Cave

Fossil animal droppings, charcoal from ancient fires and bone fragments litter the ground of one of the world's most important human evolution sites, new research reveals. A team of scientists ... read more

Friday, November 15, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Friday, November 1, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Friday, August 30, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Friday, August 16, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Thursday, August 1, 2019
Friday, July 19, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Thursday, June 20, 2019
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Friday, April 5, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Friday, March 8, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Tuesday, February 5, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Friday, November 23, 2018
Wednesday, November 21, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018