advertisement
Evolution News
February 18, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Brain imprints on cranial bones from great apes and humans refute the long-held notion that the human pattern of brain asymmetry is unique, according to ... read more
A research team has discovered the first conclusive evidence that selection may also occur at the level of the epigenome -- a term that refers to an assortment of chemical ... read more
Important clues about the anatomy and evolution of the mysterious giant squid (Architeuthis dux) are revealed through publication of its full ... read more
Research on fossilized fish details the evolution of fins as they began to transition into limbs fit for walking ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 3:54pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

How the Development of Skulls and Beaks Made Darwin's Finches One of the Most Diverse Species

Darwin's finches are among the most celebrated examples of adaptive radiation in the evolution of modern vertebrates and now a new study has provided fresh insights into their rapid development ... read more

How Human Social Structures Emerge

What rules shaped humanity's original social networks? The earliest social networks were tightly knit cultural groups made of multiple biologically related families. That single group would then ... read more

Study Traces Evolution of Acoustic Communication

A study tracing acoustic communication across the tree of life of land-living vertebrates reveals that the ability to vocalize goes back hundreds of millions of years, is associated with a nocturnal ... read more

Scientists Uncover How an Explosion of New Genes Explain the Origin of Land Plants

Scientists have made a significant discovery about the genetic origins of how plants evolved from living in water to land 470 million years ... read more

Animals Reduce the Symmetry of Their Markings to Improve Camouflage

Some forms of camouflage have evolved in animals to exploit a loophole in the way predators perceive their symmetrical markings. New research describes how animals have evolved to mitigate this ... read more

100 Million Years in Amber: Researchers Discover Oldest Fossilized Slime Mold

Most people associate the idea of creatures trapped in amber with insects or spiders, which are preserved lifelike in fossil tree resin. An international research team of paleontologists and ... read more

Research Team Traces Evolution of the Domesticated Tomato

Evolutionary biologists and geneticists report that they have identified missing links in the tomato's evolution from a wild blueberry-sized fruit in South America to the larger modern tomato of ... read more

Evolution: Revelatory Relationship

A new study of the ecology of an enigmatic group of novel unicellular organisms supports the idea hydrogen played an important role in the evolution of Eukaryota, the first nucleated ... read more

The Delicate Water Lily: A Rose by Another Name?

A new study reports the 409-megabase genome sequence of the blue-petal water lily (Nymphaea colorata). The conclusion of the 47 coauthors is that although a rose is a rose, most flowering plants may ... read more

Pair Living as Stepping Stone from Solitary Life to Complex Societies

Alone, as a pair or in groups - the diversity in social systems of primates is interesting because it may also provide insights into human social life. Biologists investigated how different primate ... read more

How Humans Learned to Dance: From the Chimpanzee Conga Line

Two chimpanzees housed in a zoo in the US have sparked the question about how human dance evolved after being observed performing a duo dance-like behavior, similar to a human conga ... read more

Paleontology: Experiments in Evolution

A new find from Patagonia sheds light on the evolution of large predatory dinosaurs. Features of the 8-m long specimen from the Middle Jurassic suggest that it records a phase of rapid ... read more

A New Early Whale, Aegicetus Gehennae, and the Evolution of Modern Whale Locomotion

A newly discovered fossil whale represents a new species and an important step in the evolution of whale ... read more

Dull Teeth, Long Skulls, Specialized Bites Evolved in Unrelated Plant-Eating Dinosaurs

Herbivorous dinosaurs evolved many times during the 180 million-year Mesozoic era, and while they didn't all evolve to chew, swallow, and digest their food in the same way, a few specific ... read more

How Flowers Adapt to Their Pollinators

The first flowering plants originated more than 140 million years ago in the early Cretaceous. They are the most diverse plant group on Earth with more than 300,000 species. Evolutionary biologists ... read more

Untangling the Branches in the Mammal Tree of Life

Researchers have unveiled a complete overhaul of the way species data is brought together and analyzed to construct an evolutionary tree of life for mammals. It's aimed at giving scientists, ... read more

1940s Blood Samples Reveal Historical Spread of Malaria

DNA from 75-year old eradicated European malaria parasites uncovers the historical spread of one of the two most common forms of the disease, Plasmodium vivax, from Europe to the Americas during the ... read more

New Evolutionary Insights Into the Early Development of Songbirds

An international team has sequenced a chromosome in zebra finches called the germline-restricted chromosome (GRC). This chromosome is only found in germline cells, the cells that hold genetic ... read more

Animal Embryos Evolved Before Animals

A new study has discovered that animal-like embryos evolved long before the first animals appear in the fossil ... read more

Recrutement of a Lateral Root Developmental Pathway Into Root Nodule Formation of Legumes

Peas and other legumes develop spherical or cylindrical structures -- called nodules -- in their roots to establish a mutually beneficial relationship with bacteria that convert atmospheric nitrogen ... read more

Monday, February 3, 2020
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Friday, December 27, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Monday, October 14, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Friday, September 13, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Friday, August 2, 2019
Thursday, August 1, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019