advertisement
Lost Treasures News
December 5, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Extinction of Icelandic Walrus Coincides With Norse Settlement

Scientists have used ancient DNA analyses and C14-dating to demonstrate the past existence of a unique population of Icelandic walrus that went extinct shortly after Norse settlement some 1100 years ... read more

New Artifacts Suggest People Arrived in North America Earlier Than Previously Thought

Stone tools and other artifacts unearthed from an archeological dig at the Cooper's Ferry site in western Idaho suggest that people lived in the area ... read more

Stone Age Boat Building Site Has Been Discovered Underwater

Researchers have discovered a new 8,000 year old structure 11 meters below sea level on the Isle of Wight. It is the most intact, wooden Middle Stone Age structure ever found in the ... read more

Humans Migrated to Mongolia Much Earlier Than Previously Believed

Stone tools uncovered in Mongolia by an international team of archaeologists indicate that modern humans traveled across the Eurasian steppe about 45,000 years ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 8:54am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Imaging Uncovers Secrets of Medicine's Mysterious Ivory Manikins

Little is known about the origins of manikins -- small anatomical sculptures thought to be used by doctors four centuries ago -- but now advanced imaging techniques have offered a revealing glimpse ... read more

Early DNA Lineages Shed Light on the Diverse Origins of the Contemporary Population

A new genetic study demonstrates that, at the end of the Iron Age, Finland was inhabited by separate and differing populations, all of them influencing the gene pool of modern Finns. The study is so ... read more

Archaeologists Uncover 2,000-Year-Old Street in Jerusalem Built by Pontius Pilate

An ancient walkway most likely used by pilgrims as they made their way to worship at the Temple Mount has been uncovered in the 'City of David' in the Jerusalem Walls National ... read more

Study 'Cures' Oldest Case of Deafness in Human Evolution

An international team of researchers has published a new study examining a 430,000-year-old cranium of a human ancestor that was previously described as deaf, representing the oldest case of deafness ... read more

Discovered: Unknown Yellow Colors from Antiquity

Antique artefacts have been studied by chemists, revealing a hitherto unknown use of yellow in Ancient ... read more

Archaeology: Social Inequality in Bronze Age Households

Archaeogenetic analyses provide new insights into social inequality 4,000 years ago: nuclear families lived together with foreign women and individuals from lower social classes in the same ... read more

DNA Study Sheds New Light on the People of the Neolithic Battle Axe Culture

Scientists have combined archaeological, genetic and stable isotope data to understand the demographic processes associated with the iconic Battle Axe Culture and its introduction in ... read more

Preserving Old Bones With Modern Technology

Anthropologists are out to change the way that scientists study old bones ... read more

Dishing the Dirt on an Early Man Cave

Fossil animal droppings, charcoal from ancient fires and bone fragments litter the ground of one of the world's most important human evolution sites, new research reveals. A team of scientists ... read more

Tripolye 'Mega-Structures' Were Ancient Community Centers

So-called 'mega-structures' in ancient Europe were public buildings that likely served a variety of economic and political purposes, according to a new ... read more

Traditional Fisherfolk Help Uncover Ancient Fish Preservation Methods

Archaeologists have little insight into the methods used for the long-term processing and preservation of fish in the past. A study of traditional fish preparation employed by fisherfolk in Panama ... read more

The Enigma of Bronze Age Tin

The origin of the tin used in the Bronze Age has long been one of the greatest enigmas in archaeological research. Now researchers have solved part of the puzzle. They were able to proof that tin ... read more

Bones of Roman Britons Provide New Clues to Dietary Deprivation

Researchers have shown a link between the diet of Roman Britons and their mortality rates for the first time, overturning a previously-held belief about the quality of the Roman ... read more

Earliest Evidence of Milk Consumption Found in Teeth of Prehistoric British Farmers

Archaeologists have identified a milk protein called beta lactoglobulin (BLG) entombed in the mineralized dental plaque of seven individuals who lived in the Neolithic period around 6,000 ... read more

Major Fortress-Settlement in Armenian Highlands Excavated

A team of researchers unearthed huge storage jars, animal bones and fortress walls from 3,000 years ago in Armenia as they initiated the Ararat Plain Southeast Archaeological Project (APSAP) during ... read more

'Invisible Ink' on Antique Nile Papyrus Revealed by Multiple Methods

Researchers studied a small piece of papyrus that was excavated on the island of Elephantine on the River Nile a little over 100 years ago. The team used serval methods including non-destructive ... read more

Ancient Pigs Endured a Complete Genomic Turnover After They Arrived in Europe

New research has resolved a pig paradox. Archaeological evidence has shown that pigs were domesticated in the Near East and as such, modern pigs should resemble Near Eastern wild boar. They do not. ... read more

Human Genetic Diversity of South America Reveals Complex History of Amazonia

The vast cultural and linguistic diversity of Latin American countries is still far from being fully represented by genetic surveys. Western South America in particular holds a key role in the ... read more

Who Dominates the Discourse of the Past?

Male academics, who comprise less than 10% of North American archaeologists, write the vast majority of the field's high impact, peer-reviewed ... read more

The Road to Scandinavia's Bronze Age: Trade Routes, Metal Provenance, and Mixing

The geographic origins of the metals in Scandinavian mixed-metal artifacts reveal a crucial dependency on British and continental European trading sources during the beginnings of the Nordic Bronze ... read more

Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Friday, September 13, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Friday, August 16, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Thursday, August 1, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Wednesday, July 3, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Thursday, June 20, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019
Thursday, May 30, 2019
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Monday, May 27, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Monday, May 20, 2019
Friday, May 17, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Friday, May 10, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Friday, April 26, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Monday, April 22, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Friday, April 5, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, December 17, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018
Friday, October 12, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Monday, October 8, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Monday, September 24, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Tuesday, September 11, 2018