advertisement
Origin of Life News
February 18, 2020

Top Headlines
 

A research team has discovered the first conclusive evidence that selection may also occur at the level of the epigenome -- a term that refers to an assortment of chemical ... read more
Important clues about the anatomy and evolution of the mysterious giant squid (Architeuthis dux) are revealed through publication of its full ... read more
An analysis of tubular fossils provides evidence of a 550-million-year-old digestive tract -- one of the oldest known ... read more

Ancient 'Chewing Gum' Yields Insights Into People and Bacteria of the Past

Researchers have succeeded in extracting a complete human genome from a thousands-of-years old 'chewing gum.' According to the researchers, it is a new untapped source of ancient ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 5:54pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Ocean Temperatures Impact Central American Climate More Than Once Thought

Researchers examined the rainfall history of Central America over the last 11,000 years. The results provide context for the development of tropical rainforest ecosystems in the region, and ... read more

How and When Spines Changed in Mammalian Evolution

Researchers compared modern and ancient animals to explore how mammalian vertebrae have evolved into sophisticated physical structures that can carry out multiple functions. The comparison between ... read more

DNA proteins extracted using a vortex fluidic device (VFD) could help answer important questions about extinct and ancient museum ... read more

Neanderthal Ancestry Also in African Populations

After sequencing the Neanderthal genome, scientists discovered all present day non-African individuals carry some Neanderthal ancestry in their DNA. Now, researchers present evidence of Neanderthal ... read more

Evidence of Strong Early Magnetic Field Around Earth

New research provides evidence that the magnetic field that first formed around Earth was even stronger than scientists previously believed. The research will help scientists draw conclusions about ... read more

Scientists Uncover How an Explosion of New Genes Explain the Origin of Land Plants

Scientists have made a significant discovery about the genetic origins of how plants evolved from living in water to land 470 million years ... read more

Scientists Use Ancient Marine Fossils to Unravel Long-Standing Climate Puzzle

Scientists have shed new light on the Earth's climate behavior during the last known period of global warming over 14 million years ... read more

Research Team Traces Evolution of the Domesticated Tomato

Evolutionary biologists and geneticists report that they have identified missing links in the tomato's evolution from a wild blueberry-sized fruit in South America to the larger modern tomato of ... read more

Life as we know it requires phosphorus, and lots of it. But phosphorus is scarce. A new study reports that certain types of carbonate-rich lakes, which could have formed on early Earth, have the ... read more

Evolution: Revelatory Relationship

A new study of the ecology of an enigmatic group of novel unicellular organisms supports the idea hydrogen played an important role in the evolution of Eukaryota, the first nucleated ... read more

Pair Living as Stepping Stone from Solitary Life to Complex Societies

Alone, as a pair or in groups - the diversity in social systems of primates is interesting because it may also provide insights into human social life. Biologists investigated how different primate ... read more

When Flowers Reached Australia

University of Melbourne research has established when and where flowering plants first took a ... read more

A New Early Whale, Aegicetus Gehennae, and the Evolution of Modern Whale Locomotion

A newly discovered fossil whale represents a new species and an important step in the evolution of whale ... read more

Breathing New Life Into the Rise of Oxygen Debate

New research strongly suggests that the distinct 'oxygenation events' that created Earth's breathable atmosphere happened spontaneously, rather than being a consequence of biological ... read more

New Study Hints at Complex Decision Making in a Single-Cell Organism

In an effort to replicate an experiment conducted over a century ago, researchers present evidence confirming at least one single-cell organism -- the trumpet-shaped Stentor roeselii -- exhibits a ... read more

Untangling the Branches in the Mammal Tree of Life

Researchers have unveiled a complete overhaul of the way species data is brought together and analyzed to construct an evolutionary tree of life for mammals. It's aimed at giving scientists, ... read more

1940s Blood Samples Reveal Historical Spread of Malaria

DNA from 75-year old eradicated European malaria parasites uncovers the historical spread of one of the two most common forms of the disease, Plasmodium vivax, from Europe to the Americas during the ... read more

Breathing? Thank Volcanoes, Tectonics and Bacteria

A new study suggests Earth's first burst of oxygen was added by a spate of volcanic eruptions brought about by tectonics. In addition to explaining the appearance of significant concentrations ... read more

Unique Sled Dogs Helped the Inuit Thrive in the North American Arctic

The legacy of these Inuit dogs survives today in Arctic sled dogs, making them one of the last remaining descendant populations of indigenous, pre-European dog lineages in the ... read more

Barbequed Clams on the Menu for Ancient Puerto Ricans

Scientists have reconstructed the cooking techniques of the early inhabitants of Puerto Rico by analyzing the remains of ... read more

Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Friday, January 31, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Monday, December 30, 2019
Friday, December 27, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Friday, November 1, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Friday, October 4, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Friday, August 2, 2019
Thursday, August 1, 2019