advertisement
Crohn's Disease News
December 9, 2019

Top Headlines
 

How Obesity Dulls the Sense of Taste

Previous studies have indicated that weight gain can reduce one's sensitivity to the taste of food. Now a new study shows that inflammation, driven by obesity, actually reduces the number of taste ... read more

Engineering the Gut Microbiome With 'Good' Bacteria May Help Treat Crohn's Disease

Researchers have singled out a bacterial enzyme behind an imbalance in the gut microbiome linked to Crohn's disease. The new study suggests that ... read more

Stem Cells Edited to Fight Arthritis

Using CRISPR technology, a team of researchers rewired stem cells' genetic circuits to produce an anti-inflammatory arthritis drug when the cells encounter inflammation. The technique eventually ... read more

Common Yeast May Worsen IBD Symptoms in Crohn's Disease

During the past decade, the gut has experienced a renaissance as investigations focus on the role of the microbiome on human health. While most studies have focused on bacteria, the dominant ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 1:16am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Drug Decreases Gut Leakiness Associated With Ulcerative Colitis

Biomedical scientists have found that a drug approved by the FDA to treat rheumatoid arthritis and ulcerative colitis can repair permeability defects in the gut's ... read more

Greater Understanding of Alzheimer's Disease

Scientists have made an important discovery in understanding the role a particular protein plays to impair memory in Alzheimer's disease, which could lead to more effective treatment in ... read more

When Blood Vessels Are Overly Permeable

In Germany alone there are around 400,000 patients who suffer from chronic inflammatory bowel diseases. For the first time, researchers have discovered that dysfunctions in blood vessels play a ... read more

Walnuts Show Protection Against Ulcerative Colitis in Early Study

Walnut consumption may offer protection against ulcerative colitis, according to a new ... read more

Potential Treatment Target for Crohn's Disease

Crohn's Disease is a form of inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) in which the body's own immune system attacks the gastrointestinal tract, and treatment is focused on controlling the symptoms ... read more

Precision Editing of Gut Bacteria Reduces Cancer in Mice

Researchers have shown that precision editing of the bacterial populations in the gut reduces inflammation-associated colorectal cancer in ... read more

Scientists Find Urine Test Could Offer a Non-Invasive Approach for Diagnosis of IBS

Scientists have identified new biomarkers for Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS) in urine, which could lead to better treatments and reduce the need for costly and invasive colonoscopy procedures ... read more

Fecal Marker Could Help Diagnose Early Signs of Chronic Gut Conditions

Small molecules found in fecal matter could provide clues to the early inflammation found in chronic gut conditions, such as intestinal bowel disease (IBD), and serve as new biomarkers for diagnosis, ... read more

Possible Targets to Help Tackle Crohn's Disease

There is no precise cure for digestive condition Crohn's disease, and causes are believed to vary. But one indicator of the condition -- an abnormal reaction of the immune system to certain ... read more

Are We Using Biologic Therapy Properly?

The introduction of infliximab (Remicade), the first biologic therapy approved for the treatment of inflammatory bowel diseases (IBD), did not result in lower rates of hospitalizations or intestinal ... read more

Sunshine May Decrease Risk of Inflammatory Bowel Disease

Children who spend half an hour a day outside in the sun reduce their risk of inflammatory bowel disease ... read more

Some Biologic Treatments for Psoriasis May Be Safer for Patients

Dermatologists found a decreased risk of infection in patients with psoriasis using some of the newer, more targeted medications compared to those taking methotrexate, a drug widely used since the ... read more

A Deep-Dive Into the Impact of Arthritis Drugs on Gene Expression

A new computational framework has revealed key differences between four rheumatoid arthritis medications and their impact on biological pathways in ... read more

Photoacoustic Endoscopy Could Improve Crohn's Disease Treatment

A newly developed endoscope could give doctors a better view of intestinal changes caused by Crohn's disease. This additional information would help improve treatment of the painful and ... read more

Longer Neutrophil Lifespan May Contribute to HIV-Associated Intestinal Inflammation

The increased survival of white blood cells called neutrophils is associated with alterations in the intestinal microbiome of HIV-infected individuals, according to a new ... read more

Patent-Pending Probiotic Could Disrupt Crohn's Disease Biofilms

Probiotics typically aim to rebalance bacteria populations in the gut, but new research suggests they may also help break apart stubborn biofilms. Biofilms are living microbial communities -- they ... read more

Older Patients With Crohn's Disease Benefit from New Medications

Combining medications that suppress the immune system has been successful in treating young patients with Crohn's disease, but some physicians have been reluctant to use this strategy in older ... read more

Discovery of a Crucial Immune Reaction When Solid Food Is Introduced That Prevents Inflammatory Disorders

In newborn infants, gut microbiota is first conditioned by breast milk components. When solid food is introduced, gut microbiota develops and bacteria proliferate. Scientists have discovered that a ... read more

Potential New Therapy for Crohn's, Colitis Identified

Researchers have found a compound that may treat inflammatory bowel disease without directly targeting inflammation. The compound tamps down the activity of a gene linked to blood clotting. They ... read more

A Fungus Usually Found on Skin Might Play a Role in Crohn's Disease

A fungus commonly found in human hair follicles also resides in the gut, where it may worsen intestinal disorders such as inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) in patients with a certain genetic makeup, ... read more

Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Thursday, August 8, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Monday, June 17, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Thursday, May 30, 2019
Saturday, May 11, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Friday, February 15, 2019
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Thursday, January 10, 2019
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Tuesday, October 2, 2018
Monday, September 24, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Monday, August 20, 2018
Monday, August 13, 2018
Wednesday, July 11, 2018
Monday, June 4, 2018
Wednesday, May 30, 2018
Friday, May 25, 2018
Monday, May 21, 2018
Friday, May 4, 2018
Thursday, May 3, 2018
Thursday, March 15, 2018
Tuesday, March 6, 2018
Thursday, February 8, 2018
Tuesday, February 6, 2018
Tuesday, January 30, 2018
Thursday, January 18, 2018
Wednesday, January 17, 2018
Thursday, January 11, 2018
Tuesday, December 19, 2017
Thursday, November 30, 2017
Tuesday, November 14, 2017
Monday, November 13, 2017
Friday, November 3, 2017
Tuesday, October 31, 2017
Monday, October 23, 2017
Thursday, October 5, 2017
Wednesday, October 4, 2017
Tuesday, October 3, 2017
Wednesday, September 20, 2017
Tuesday, August 29, 2017
Wednesday, August 23, 2017
Thursday, August 17, 2017
Friday, August 11, 2017
Thursday, July 27, 2017
Tuesday, July 25, 2017
Wednesday, July 19, 2017
Friday, July 7, 2017
Thursday, June 22, 2017
Monday, June 19, 2017
Tuesday, May 23, 2017
Wednesday, May 17, 2017
Monday, May 15, 2017
Tuesday, May 9, 2017
Friday, April 28, 2017
Thursday, April 27, 2017
Wednesday, April 26, 2017
Thursday, April 20, 2017
Tuesday, April 18, 2017
Thursday, April 13, 2017
Wednesday, April 12, 2017
Wednesday, April 5, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017
Thursday, March 9, 2017