advertisement
Diet and Weight Loss News
December 5, 2019

Top Headlines
 

With unexpected findings about a protein that's highly expressed in fat tissue, scientists have opened the door to critical ... read more
A high-fat, low-carbohydrate diet like the Keto regimen has its fans, but influenza apparently isn't one of them. Mice fed a ketogenic diet were better able to combat the flu ... read more
Americans get more than 50 percent of their daily calories from ultra-processed foods. Measures of heart health decrease as ultra-processed food ... read more
New research offers specific metrics that might qualify foods as hyper-palatable -- and finds most foods consumed in the United States meet ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 9:17am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

How Does Protein Fit in Your Holiday Diet or New Year's Resolutions?

While some diets load up on protein and other diets dictate protein sources, it can be hard to know what to consume while managing weight or during weight loss. A new study by nutrition scientists ... read more

Life, Liberty -- And Access to Microbes?

Poverty increases the risk for numerous diseases by limiting people's access to healthy food, environments and stress-free conditions. Researchers argue that poverty also compromises health by ... read more

Diet Pills, Laxatives Used for Weight Control Linked With Later Eating Disorder Diagnosis

Among young women without an eating disorder diagnosis, those who use diet pills and laxatives for weight control had higher odds of receiving a subsequent first eating disorder diagnosis within one ... read more

Be Aware of Potential Complications Following Tongue-Tie Surgery in Babies

Complications following a procedure to treat tongue-tie in babies are occurring that can result in admission to hospital, something a paediatrician says needs to be better understood by both health ... read more

Life Experience Critical for Managing Type 2 Diabetes

Researchers found that age plays a critical role in the well-being of people newly diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes, with younger patients more susceptible to psychological distress resulting in worse ... read more

Genetics May Determine Who Benefits from Broccoli's Effects on Kidney Health

Deletion of the gene that codes for an enzyme called GSTM1 increased kidney injury in mice with hypertension and kidney disease, but supplementing the diet with broccoli powder lessened kidney injury ... read more

Sugar Binges Increase Risk of Inflammatory Bowel Disease

Short-term increases in sugar consumption could increase the risk of inflammatory bowel disease and have a significant impact on our health, a new study suggests. Researchers found that mice had an ... read more

Rollercoaster Weight Changes Can Repeat With Second Pregnancy, Especially Among Normal-Weight Women

Everyone knows that gaining excess weight during one pregnancy is bad, but clinicians rarely consider weight gains and losses from one pregnancy to the next -- especially in normal-weight women. But ... read more

Link Between Hearing and Cognition Begins Earlier Than Once Thought

A new study finds that cognitive impairment begins in the earliest stages of age-related hearing loss -- when hearing is still considered ... read more

Unhealthy Habits Can Start Young: Infants, Toddlers, and Added Sugars

A new study found that nearly two-thirds of infants (61%) and almost all toddlers (98%) consumed added sugars in their average daily diets, primarily in the form of flavored yogurts (infants) and ... read more

Diet Trials Often Amend Their Outcome Measures as They Go

A study concludes that 86 percent of diet trials amended their desired study outcomes along the way. That raises the possibility of ... read more

Men and Women Perceive Their Own Health Differently

A new study investigates differences in how men and women perceive their own health. The study finds that confidence in maintaining good health habits can be influenced by ... read more

No Such Thing as a Low-Risk Surgery for Frail Patients

Even a minor surgery such as a laparoscopic gallbladder removal can prove to be a high-risk and even fatal procedure for frail patients, according to new ... read more

Metabolic Effects of an Oral Blood Cancer Drug

A recent study found that an effective blood cancer treatment was associated with weight gain, obesity, and increased systolic blood ... read more

Decline in Ideal Heart Health Begins Early for Teen Girls

Ideal heart health declines between ages 9 and 19 for girls, particularly for black girls and girls from families with lower education and income ... read more

Heart Disease and Cancer Risk May Be Linked

Having a heart attack may increase the risk of developing cancer. A high 10-year atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease (ASCVD) risk score tripled the risk of developing ... read more

Sensitivity to Bitter Tastes May Be Why Some People Eat Fewer Vegetables

A gene that makes some compounds taste bitter may make it harder for some people to add heart-healthy vegetables to their diet. Researchers hope to learn more from this type of genetic research to ... read more

What and How Much We Eat Might Change Our Internal Clocks and Hormone Responses

For the first time, a study shows how glucocorticoid hormones, such as cortisol, control sugar and fat levels differently during day and night, feeding and fasting, rest and activity, over the course ... read more

Intended to Help Human, Planetary Health, EAT-Lancet Diet Too Costly for 1.6 Billion People

A new study estimates that the Eat-Lancet Commission reference diet -- meant to improve both human and planetary health -- would be unaffordable for at least 1.58 billion people, mostly in ... read more

Rapamycin Prevents Age-Related Brain Vascular Deterioration in Rats

A newly released study found that rats of advanced age, treated with the drug rapamycin, maintained superior blood flow to the brain compared to younger, untreated rats. The treated rats also ... read more

Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Saturday, October 19, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Monday, October 14, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Friday, September 27, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019