advertisement
Eye Care News
December 12, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Light-sensitive cells active in the retina even before the fetus can distinguish images may play a larger role in the developing eye and brain than previously thought. ... read more

Molecular Basis of Vision Revealed

Researchers have solved the three-dimensional structure of a protein complex involved in vertebrate vision at atomic resolution, a finding that has broad implications for our understanding of ... read more

Poor Diet Can Lead to Blindness, Case Study Shows

An extreme case of 'fussy' or 'picky' eating caused a young patient's blindness, according to a new case report. The researchers who examined the case recommend clinicians consider nutritional optic ... read more

Gene Linked to Needing Less Sleep Identified

The genetics of circadian rhythms have been well studied in recent years, but much less is known about other types of genes that play a role in sleep. Now, by studying a family with several members ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 10:18am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Cellphone Distraction Linked to Increase in Head Injuries

Head and neck injuries incurred while driving or walking with a cellphone are on the rise -- and correlates with the launch of the iPhone in 2007 and release of Pokémon Go in 2016, a new study ... read more

Imaging of Conjunctival Goblet Cells Helps Diagnosis of Dry Eyes

Researchers have developed a biometric imaging of conjunctival goblet cells with high ... read more

Dangerous Skin Tumor Now Has Treatment Guidelines

A new study reports the first guidelines for treating sebaceous carcinoma, a cancer of the oil glands. If not removed and treated promptly, it can spread to other organs and cause grave harm to ... read more

Eye on Research: A New Way to Detect and Study Retinoblastoma

Researchers advance the field of retinoblastoma research through the discovery and use of aqueous humor biopsy. Genetic tumor information not present in the blood can be detected in this fluid from ... read more

Zebrafish Study Reveals Developmental Mechanisms of Eye Movement

Zebrafish research is a promising way to understand the neural and genetic causes of eye movement problems in people, according to multi-university ... read more

Elite-Level Video Gaming Requires New Protocols in Sports Medicine

Study authors note multiple health issues including blurred vision from excessive screen time, neck and back pain from poor posture, carpal tunnel syndrome from repetitive motion, metabolic ... read more

Discovery in Monkeys Could Lead to Treatment for Blindness-Causing Syndrome

A genetic mutation that leads to a rare, but devastating blindness-causing condition called Bardet-Biedl Syndrome has been discovered in monkeys for the first time. The finding offers a promising way ... read more

Treatment for Common Vision Disorder Does Not Improve Children's Reading Skills

Results from a clinical trial show that while vision therapy can successfully treat convergence insufficiency (CI) in children, it fails to improve their reading test ... read more

Scientists Discover Skin Keeps Time Independent of the Brain

A study has now found that a type of opsin known as neuropsin is expressed in the hair follicles of mice and synchronize the skin's circadian clock to the light-dark cycle, independent of the ... read more

Deaf Infants More Attuned to Parent's Visual Cues

A new study finds that deaf infants exposed to American Sign Language are especially tuned to a parent's eye gaze, itself a social connection between parent and child that is linked to early ... read more

Why Bright Light Keeps Us Awake

Researchers are reporting a novel technique for tracing the activity of individual nerve fibers known as axons, and determining how neurons communicate. The team used this technique to uncover ... read more

New Approach to Slowing Nearsightedness in Children Shows Promise

Combining 2 different treatment methods to slow the progression of myopia may deliver better results than either can achieve on their ... read more

Another Reason to Get Cataract Surgery: It Can Make You 48% Safer on the Road

Researchers in Australia used a driving simulator to test patients' vision before and after cataract surgery. They found that near misses and crashes decreased by 48% after ... read more

More Evidence Linking Common Bladder Medication to a Vision-Threatening Eye Condition

A drug widely prescribed for a bladder condition for decades, now appears to be toxic to the retina, the light sensing tissue at the back of the eye that allows us to ... read more

Telescope Technology Used to Take First Accurate Images of Glaucoma-Related Eye Structure

Researchers have used adaptive optics technology to create the first undistorted microscopic images of the eye's trabecular meshwork, which could help improve treatment for ... read more

In-Office Gene Therapy for Wet Age-Related Macular Degeneration Is Coming

Gene therapy is showing promise for one of the most common causes of ... read more

A Timekeeper for Siesta

External stimuli can rearrange the hierarchy of neuronal networks and influence behavior. This was demonstrated by scientists using the circadian clock of the fruit fly as an ... read more

Optical Imager Poised to Improve Diagnosis and Treatment of Dry Eye Disease

Researchers have developed a new non-invasive optical imaging system that promises to improve diagnosis and treatments for dry eye disease. Dry eye, which often causes irritation and blurred vision, ... read more

Prototype Smartphone App Can Help Parents Detect Early Signs of Eye Disorders in Children

A researcher's prototype smartphone app -- designed to help parents detect early signs of various eye diseases in their children such as retinoblastoma, an aggressive pediatric eye cancer -- has ... read more

Researchers Advance Search for Safer, Easier Way to Deliver Vision-Saving Gene Therapy

In experiments with rats, pigs and monkeys, researchers have developed a way to deliver sight-saving gene therapy to the retina. If proved safe and effective in humans, the technique could provide a ... read more

Thursday, December 5, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Saturday, October 12, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Friday, October 4, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Sunday, August 18, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Thursday, August 8, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Friday, August 2, 2019
Thursday, August 1, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Tuesday, July 9, 2019
Monday, July 1, 2019
Friday, June 28, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Monday, June 17, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Thursday, May 16, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Tuesday, May 7, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Monday, April 22, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Friday, April 5, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Saturday, March 23, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019