advertisement
Fitness News
March 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

A Replacement for Exercise?

Researchers recently found that Sestrin, a naturally occurring protein in the body, mimicked the benefits of exercise in flies and ... read more

Study Finds Dopamine, Biological Clock Link to Snacking, Overeating and Obesity

A new study finds that the pleasure center of the brain and the brain's biological clock are linked, and that high-calorie foods -- which bring ... read more

Limiting Mealtimes May Increase Your Motivation for Exercise

Limiting access to food in mice increases levels of the hormone, ghrelin, which may also increase motivation to exercise, according to a new study. The study suggests that a surge in levels of ... read more

Why People Gain Weight as They Get Older

Many people struggle to keep their weight in check as they get older. Now new research has uncovered why that is: lipid turnover in the fat tissue decreases during aging and makes it easier to gain ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 8:17am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Patients With Exercise-Related Hyponatremia Advised to 'Drink to Thirst'

Hyponatremia is a condition of low sodium concentration in the blood. Prolonged overhydration during exercise is the primary cause of all forms of exercise-associated hyponatremia (EAH) and should be ... read more

Exercise Advice for Spinal Cord Injury

An expert says a major barrier to physical activity for people with a spinal cord injury is a lack of knowledge or resources about the amount and type of activity needed to achieve health and fitness ... read more

Picking Up a Pingpong Paddle May Benefit People With Parkinson's

Pingpong may hold promise as a possible form of physical therapy for Parkinson's disease. People with Parkinson's who participated in a pingpong exercise program once a week for six months ... read more

Green Tea Extract Combined With Exercise Reduces Fatty Liver Disease in Mice

The combination of green tea extract and exercise reduced the severity of obesity-related fatty liver disease by 75% in mice fed a high-fat diet, according to researchers, whose recent study may ... read more

Differences in Airway Size Develop During Puberty

Sex differences in airway size are not innate, but likely develop because of hormonal changes around puberty, reports a new ... read more

10,000 Steps a Day: Not a Magical Formula for Preventing Weight Gain

For years now, 10,000 steps a day has become the gold standard for people trying to improve their health -- and recent research shows some benefits can come from even just 7,500 steps. But if ... read more

Golfing Regularly Could Be a Hole-in-One for Older Adults' Health

Regularly golfing, at least once per month, was found to lower the risk of death among older adults. While the protective effects of playing golf have not been linked to reduction of heart attack and ... read more

Long-Distance Skiers May Have 'Motor Reserve' That Can Delay Onset of Parkinson's Disease

To better understand the relationship between physical activity and Parkinson's Disease (PD) investigators in Sweden analyzed medical records of nearly 200,000 long-distance skiers who took part ... read more

Excessive Sports in Cases of Eating Disorders: Psychological Mechanisms Decoded

Excessive and obsessive exercise is very harmful to health, particularly for persons suffering from eating disorders. Based on electronic diaries, a team of researchers has now uncovered ... read more

Physical Activity Is Good for Your Appetite, Too

Researchers found exercise to be a protective factor in a study where participants in a weight loss program, who were following a reduced-calorie diet, engaged in exercise in their real-world ... read more

Aerobic Exercise Training Linked to Enhanced Brain Function

Individuals at risk for Alzheimer's disease (AD) because of family history or genetic predisposition who engaged in six months of aerobic exercise training improved their brain glucose ... read more

Tunes for Training: High-Tempo Music May Make Exercise Easier and More Beneficial

A new study has shown that listening to high-tempo music increases the benefits of exercise for physical fitness and reduces the perceived effort involved. This effect was more pronounced in people ... read more

Get Easily out of Breath? It May Be Because You Were Small at Birth, Study Finds

Babies born with low birth weights are more likely to have poor cardiorespiratory fitness later in life than their normal-weight peers. New findings underscore the importance of prevention strategies ... read more

High and Low Exercise Intensity Found to Influence Brain Function Differently

A new study shows for the first time that low and high exercise intensities differentially influence brain function. Using resting state functional magnetic resonance imaging (Rs-fMRI), a noninvasive ... read more

Eating Disorders Linked to Exercise Addiction

New research shows that exercise addiction is nearly four times more common amongst people with an eating ... read more

Top Strategies for Successful Weight Loss Maintenance

Some of the most effective behaviors and psychological strategies reported by those maintaining their weight loss included choosing healthy food, tracking what you eat and using positive self-talk, ... read more

Becoming Less Active and Gaining Weight: Downsides of Becoming an Adult

Leaving school and getting a job both lead to a drop in the amount of physical activity, while becoming a mother is linked to increased weight gain, conclude two ... read more

Study Shows Lactate May Prompt Cancer Formation

A byproduct of glucose called lactate, used by every cell in the body, may also prompt a mutated cell to become cancerous, according to new ... read more

More Federal Funding Needed to Increase Americans' Active Transportation Habits

The federal government has allocated only about 2 percent of its transportation funds to encourage walking and cycling, not nearly enough to make a significant difference, according to new ... read more

Losing Tongue Fat Improves Sleep Apnea

Using magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) to measure the effect of weight loss on the upper airway in obese patients, researchers found that reducing tongue fat is a primary factor in lessening the ... read more

Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Thursday, February 13, 2020
Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Sunday, February 2, 2020
Friday, January 31, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Monday, January 20, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Thursday, January 2, 2020
Thursday, December 26, 2019
Friday, December 20, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Saturday, December 7, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Sunday, November 17, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Friday, November 1, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Saturday, August 31, 2019
Friday, August 30, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Saturday, August 10, 2019