advertisement
Heart Disease News
December 8, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Americans get more than 50 percent of their daily calories from ultra-processed foods. Measures of heart health decrease as ultra-processed food ... read more

Dog Ownership Associated With Longer Life, Especially Among Heart Attack and Stroke Survivors

Dog ownership was associated with a 33% lower risk of early death for heart attack survivors living alone and 27% reduced risk of early death for ... read more

You Don't Have to Go Cold Turkey on Red Meat to See Health Benefits

A new study has found that halving the amount red and processed (RPM) meat in the diet can have a significant impact on health, reducing the amount of LDL 'bad' cholesterol in the blood which cuts ... read more

FDA Phase 1 Trial Shows Hydrogel to Repair Heart Is Safe to Inject in Humans -- A First

Scientists successfully conducted a first-in-human, FDA-approved Phase 1 clinical trial of an injectable hydrogel that aims to repair damage and ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 10:46am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Possible Early Test for Fetal Heart Health

Changes in heart rate, due to low oxygen conditions, experienced by the fetus during pregnancy, could be used to predict the future heart health of babies, shows new ... read more

Cellular Repair Response to Treadmill Test Can Predict Cardiac Outcomes

The information gained from the changes in CPC counts during exercise may be more useful to cardiologists in risk stratifying these patients than the treadmill exercise test itself, the researchers ... read more

AI Helps Find Signs of Heart Disease on Lung Cancer Screens

Artificial intelligence (AI) provides an automated and accurate tool to measure a common marker of heart disease in patients getting chest CT scans for lung cancer screening, according to a new ... read more

Cancer Patients Are at Higher Risk of Dying from Heart Disease and Stroke

The largest and most comprehensive study looking at deaths from cardiovascular disease among patients with 28 types of cancer with over 40 years of data has shown that more than one in ten cancer ... read more

Probing the Role of an Inflammation Resolution Sensor in Obesity and Heart Failure

After heart attack injury, ALX/FPR2 is activated by resolvin D1 in immune cells in the spleen and in immune cells at the heart attack site. This speeds expedited resolution of the heart attack ... read more

Benefits of Exercise Referral Schemes Not as Large as Hoped

Exercise referral schemes are associated with many improvements in health and wellbeing, but the changes aren't as large as hoped, finds an analysis of outcomes ... read more

Disparities in Care Among Homeless Adults Hospitalized for Cardiovascular Conditions

Researchers have found that there are indeed striking disparities in in-hospital care and mortality between homeless and non-homeless ... read more

People in Counties With Worse Economies Are More Likely to Die from Heart Disease

Communities in the United States that experienced the most economic distress in the wake of the Great Recession saw a significant increase in death rates from heart disease and strokes among ... read more

Experimental Cholesterol-Lowering Drug Effective at Lowering Bad Cholesterol, Study Shows

Twice-yearly injections of an experimental cholesterol-lowering drug, inclisiran, were effective at reducing low-density lipoprotein (LDL) cholesterol, often called bad cholesterol, in patients ... read more

Researchers Discover New Mutations in Gene Associated With Disease That Causes the Heart to Weaken

Researchers from the Intermountain Healthcare Heart Institute in Salt Lake City have identified new mutations in a gene commonly associated with non-ischemic dilated cardiomyopathy (NIDC), a disease ... read more

Omega-3 Shows Protection Against Heart Disease-Related Death, Without Prostate Cancer Risk

A research team identified 87 patients who were part of the Intermountain INSPIRE Registry and had developed prostate cancer. These patients were also tested for plasma levels of docosahexaenoic acid ... read more

Wearable and Implantable Devices May Transform Care for Patients With Kidney Failure

Wearable and implantable devices may allow for intensive self-care for patients with kidney failure outside of the ... read more

'Nudging' Heart Patients to Take Their Statins Leads to Better Adherence and Better Outcomes

In a new study presented to heart specialists from around the world, researchers found that simple 'nudges' in the form of texts, emails and phone calls, not only help patients fill that ... read more

Women More Likely to Survive Stroke but Have Poorer Recovery Than Men, Study Shows

Women are more likely to survive a stroke, but have worse disability and poorer quality of life afterwards compared to men, according to new ... read more

Artificial Intelligence Tool Predicts Life Expectancy in Heart Failure Patients

Cardiologists and physicists have developed a machine learning algorithm to predict the life expectancy in heart failure ... read more

Baseline Predictors of LDL-Cholesterol and Systolic Blood Pressure Goal Attainment After One Year in the ISCHEMIA Trial

In this analysis of 3,984 participants from ISCHEMIA (78% of 5,179 randomized) with available data, predictors of reaching one-year goals are reported for low-density lipoprotein cholesterol (LDL-C) ... read more

At the Heart of Regeneration: Scientists Reveal a New Frontier in Cardiac Research

Researchers uncover mechanisms in zebrafish heart regeneration that could lead to better treatments for babies in need of heart ... read more

Women With Preeclampsia May Be at Greater Risk for Cardiac Conditions Later in Life

Women who have gestational hypertension or preeclampsia in at least one pregnancy will have higher cardiovascular risk than women without such a history, and that this elevated risk persists at least ... read more

Anticoagulant Benefits for Atrial Fibrillation Decrease With Age

The net clinical benefit of anticoagulants for atrial fibrillation (AF) -- one of the most important causes of irregular heartbeats and a leading cause of stroke -- decreases with age, as the risk of ... read more

Cholesterol Levels in American Adults Declining Since 2013 Guideline Release

The implementation of the 2013 American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Guideline on the Treatment of Blood Cholesterol has been linked to improved overall cholesterol levels for ... read more

Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Sunday, November 17, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Friday, November 1, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Friday, November 1, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Saturday, October 5, 2019
Friday, October 4, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019