advertisement
Nutrition News
January 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

A ketogenic diet -- which provides 99 percent of calories from fat and only 1 percent from carbohydrates -- produces health benefits in the short term, but negative effects ... read more
A new study finds that the pleasure center of the brain and the brain's biological clock are linked, and that high-calorie ... read more

Diet Has Rapid Effects on Sperm Quality

Sperm are influenced by diet, and the effects arise rapidly. This is the conclusion of a new study in which healthy young men were fed a diet rich in sugar. The study gives new insight into the ... read more
A team of researchers has now identified a specific circuit in the brain that alters ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 2:17am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

With High Fiber Diets, More Protein May Mean More Bloating

People who eat high fiber diets are more likely to experience bloating if their high fiber diet is protein-rich as compared to carbohydrate-rich, according to a ... read more

Making Sense of the Self

Interoception is the awareness of our physiological states. But precisely how the brain calculates and reacts to this information remains unclear. Neuroscientists now demonstrate how the insular ... read more

Walnuts May Be Good for the Gut and Help Promote Heart Health

Researchers found that eating walnuts daily as part of a healthy diet was associated with increases in certain bacteria that can help promote health. Additionally, those changes in gut bacteria were ... read more

Drinking 1% Rather Than 2% Milk Accounts for 4.5 Years of Less Aging in Adults

A new study shows drinking low-fat milk -- both nonfat and 1% milk -- is significantly associated with less aging in ... read more

Silica Particles May Lead to New Treatments for Obesity and Diabetes

Engineered ingestible molecular traps created from mesoporous silica particles (MSPs) introduced to the gut can have an effect on food efficiency and metabolic risk factors. The results from studies ... read more

Children's Packed Lunches Lack Nutritional Quality

Fewer than two in every 100 packed lunches eaten by children in English primary schools meet nutritional standards, according to a major survey. Although the amount of sugary food in lunchboxes ... read more

Losing Tongue Fat Improves Sleep Apnea

Using magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) to measure the effect of weight loss on the upper airway in obese patients, researchers found that reducing tongue fat is a primary factor in lessening the ... read more

Molecular 'Doormen' Open the Way to Potential Obesity Treatment

Fat cells are filled with droplets coated by molecules that act like hotel doormen: These 'doormen' control cellular access for nutrients as well as for the exit of energy-supplying ... read more

Food Textures Affect Perceptions of Healthiness

New research has demonstrated how food producers could change the surface texture of products to change people's perceptions and promote healthy ... read more

Gene Network Helps to Turn White Fat Into Beneficial Calorie-Burning Fat

1.9 billion people in the world are overweight. Of these, 650 million people are obese, which increases the risk of secondary diseases such as cancer. Scientists have now examined how our fat ... read more

Most Meat Eaters Support Veganism as 'Ethical' and Good for the Environment

A new survey of 1000 meat eaters finds support for the principles of veganism, but suggests most think it is inconvenient, expensive and a sacrifice in terms of ... read more

Zinc, Folic Acid Supplements Fail to Enhance Male Fertility

Zinc and folic acid, a pair of dietary supplements long touted as an effective treatment for male infertility, failed to improve pregnancy rates, sperm counts, and sperm potency. According to the ... read more

Need to Control Blood Sugar? There's a Drink for That

With more people with diabetes and pre-diabetes looking for novel strategies to help control blood sugar, new research suggests that ketone monoester drinks -- a popular new food supplement -- may ... read more

Complexity Around Childhood Obesity

In a new study, researchers examined how various psychological characteristics of children struggling with their weight, such as loneliness, anxiety and shyness, combined with similar characteristics ... read more

Processed Foods Highly Correlated With Obesity Epidemic in the US

A review article highlights the correlation between highly processed foods and increased prevalence of obesity in the United ... read more

Half of Women With Heart Failure Get the Wrong Treatment

As many as 50 per cent of women suffering from cardiac arrest are given insufficient treatment, because the heart failure was not caused by a heart ... read more

Kids Twice as Likely to Eat Healthy After Watching Cooking Shows With Healthy Food

Television programs featuring healthy foods can be a key ingredient in leading children to make healthier food choices now and into adulthood. A new study found kids who watched a child-oriented ... read more

Bile Acids May Help Regulate Gut Immunity and Inflammation

Could bile acids -- the fat-dissolving juices churned out by the liver and gallbladder -- also play a role in immunity and inflammation? The answer appears to be yes, according to two separate ... read more

Combining Neurologic and Blood Pressure Drugs Reduces Breast Tumor Development in Mice

Adding a medication used to treat epilepsy, bipolar disorder and migraines to a blood pressure medicine reversed some aspects of breast cancer in the offspring of mice at high risk of the disease ... read more

Children Who Drank Whole Milk Had Lower Risk of Being Overweight or Obese

Researchers analyzed 28 studies from seven countries that explored the relationship between children drinking cow's milk and the risk of being overweight or ... read more

Monday, January 27, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Monday, January 6, 2020
Friday, January 3, 2020
Tuesday, December 31, 2019
Monday, December 30, 2019
Thursday, December 26, 2019
Tuesday, December 24, 2019
Monday, December 23, 2019
Friday, December 20, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019