advertisement
Obesity News
December 5, 2019

Top Headlines
 

With unexpected findings about a protein that's highly expressed in fat tissue, scientists have opened the door to critical ... read more
A high-fat, low-carbohydrate diet like the Keto regimen has its fans, but influenza apparently isn't one of them. Mice fed a ketogenic diet were better able to combat the flu ... read more
New research offers specific metrics that might qualify foods as hyper-palatable -- and finds most foods consumed in the United States meet ... read more

Limiting Mealtimes May Increase Your Motivation for Exercise

Limiting access to food in mice increases levels of the hormone, ghrelin, which may also increase motivation to exercise, according to a new study. The study suggests that a surge in levels of ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 10:15am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

How Does Protein Fit in Your Holiday Diet or New Year's Resolutions?

While some diets load up on protein and other diets dictate protein sources, it can be hard to know what to consume while managing weight or during weight loss. A new study by nutrition scientists ... read more

Diet Pills, Laxatives Used for Weight Control Linked With Later Eating Disorder Diagnosis

Among young women without an eating disorder diagnosis, those who use diet pills and laxatives for weight control had higher odds of receiving a subsequent first eating disorder diagnosis within one ... read more

Diet Trials Often Amend Their Outcome Measures as They Go

A study concludes that 86 percent of diet trials amended their desired study outcomes along the way. That raises the possibility of ... read more

Decline in Ideal Heart Health Begins Early for Teen Girls

Ideal heart health declines between ages 9 and 19 for girls, particularly for black girls and girls from families with lower education and income ... read more

What and How Much We Eat Might Change Our Internal Clocks and Hormone Responses

For the first time, a study shows how glucocorticoid hormones, such as cortisol, control sugar and fat levels differently during day and night, feeding and fasting, rest and activity, over the course ... read more

Anorexia Nervosa Comes in All Sizes, Including Plus Size

Adolescents and young adults with anorexia nervosa whose weight is in the healthy, overweight or obese ranges face similar cardiovascular and other health complications as their counterparts with low ... read more

Weight-Loss Surgery May Counter Genetic Risk for Developing Breast Cancer

Women with a genetic predisposition for breast cancer were 2.5 times more likely to develop a malignancy than women with the same genetic risk who underwent bariatric or weight-loss surgery, ... read more

Adding Weight Loss Counseling to Group Visits Improves Diabetes Outcomes

For people with difficult-to-control diabetes, adding intensive weight management counseling to group medical visits provided extra health benefits beyond improved blood-sugar control, according to a ... read more

Gut Bacteria Is Key Factor in Childhood Obesity

Scientists suggest that gut bacteria and its interactions with immune cells and metabolic organs, including fat tissue, play a key role in childhood ... read more

How Far Schoolkids Live from Junk Food Sources Tied to Obesity

As measured in city blocks, proximity to fast and convenience food sellers can impact a student's chances of becoming obese, according to a new ... read more

One Avocado a Day Helps Lower 'Bad' Cholesterol for Heart Healthy Benefits

New research suggests that eating one avocado a day may help keep 'bad cholesterol' at bay. According to the researchers, bad cholesterol can refer to both oxidized low-density lipoprotein ... read more

Brown and White Body Fat Speak Different Languages

Most adults have two types of body fat: white and brown. New research has shown that the two types of fat secrete different sets of proteins. This means that white and brown fat don't speak the ... read more

Obesity Exacerbates Many Causes of Death, but Risks Are Different for Men and Women

People who carry around unhealthy amounts of weight don't just have heart disease and diabetes to worry about. Obesity is implicated in two thirds of the leading causes of death from ... read more

Scientists Identify New Signposts in Blood and Urine to Reflect What We Eat and Drink

Researchers have identified several chemical signatures, detectable in blood and urine, that can accurately measure dietary intake, potentially offering a new tool for physicians, dieticians and ... read more

Deleting a Liver Enzyme Lowers the Health Risk of Sweet Treats (at Least in Mice)

Hepatic insulin resistance, caused by diets high in sugar and fat, can lead to type 2 diabetes. Researchers found that the Elovl6 gene plays a key role in hepatic insulin resistance. Deleting Elov6 ... read more

Reduced Food Intake in Old Mice Can No Longer Improve Health

Reduced food intake helps both animals and humans to improve health in old age and can prolong life. But when do you have to change your diet to achieve this benefit in old age? Scientists have now ... read more

Increase Health Benefits of Exercise by Working out Before Breakfast

Exercising before eating breakfast burns more fat, improves how the body responds to insulin and lowers people's risk of type 2 diabetes and cardiovascular ... read more

Evidence of Behavioral, Biological Similarities Between Compulsive Overeating and Addiction

Does yo-yo dieting drive compulsive eating? There may be a connection. According to researchers the chronic cyclic pattern of overeating followed by undereating, reduces the brain's ability to ... read more

How Do Ketogenic Diets Affect Skin Inflammation?

Not all fats are equal in how they affect our skin, according to a new study. The investigators found that different ketogenic diets impacted skin inflammation differently in psoriasiform-like skin ... read more

Factors That Predict Obesity by Adolescence Revealed

Three simple factors that predict whether a healthy weight child will be overweight or obese by adolescence have been revealed in a new ... read more

Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Monday, October 14, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Friday, September 27, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Friday, August 23, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Saturday, August 10, 2019
Thursday, August 8, 2019
Tuesday, August 6, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Thursday, August 1, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019