advertisement
Personalized Medicine News
March 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Humanwide Program Uses Data-Driven, Integrated Team Approach to Predict, Prevent Disease

A pilot program combining cutting-edge tools of biomedicine with a collaborative, team-based method, offers a new approach to personalized health ... read more

Computational Model Links Family Members Using Genealogical and Law-Enforcement Databases

Researchers are reporting ways in which using genetic ancestry databases to solve crimes could potentially be ... read more

New DNA Tool Predicts Height, Shows Promise for Serious Illness Assessment

A new DNA tool can accurately predict people's height, and more importantly, could potentially assess their risk for serious illnesses, such as heart disease and ... read more

Genetic Testing: Not a One-and-Done Deal

A study that reviewed genetic testing results from 1.45 million individuals found that nearly 25 percent of 'variants of uncertain significance' were subsequently reclassified -- sometimes as less ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 6:48am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Genetic Signature May Identify Mothers at Risk for Preeclampsia

Researchers have identified a genetic signature combining certain maternal and fetal gene variants that are associated with a higher risk of ... read more

Peering Into the Genome of Brain Tumor

Scientists have created a machine learning method for classifying the mutations of glioma brain tumors based on MR images alone. Thus far, classification has only been possible by tissue sampling ... read more

Brain Tumor Organoids May Be Key to Time-Sensitive Treatments for Glioblastomas

Lab-grown brain organoids developed from a patient's own glioblastoma, the most aggressive and common form of brain cancer, may hold the answers on how to best treat it. A new study showed how ... read more

Your DNA Is Not Your Destiny -- Or a Good Predictor of Your Health

In most cases, your genes have less than five per cent to do with your risk of developing a particular disease, according to new ... read more

The Rare Genetic Disorder Identified in Only 3 People Worldwide

A team of researchers has cracked a rare gene variant for a disorder that causes severe neurodegeneration in ... read more

'Junk DNA' Affects Inherited Cancer Risk

A person's risk of developing cancer is affected by genetic variations in regions of DNA that don't code for proteins, previously dismissed as 'junk DNA', according to new ... read more

New Strategies Against Bone Metastases from Prostate Cancer

A study suggests a new approach, or, possibly two new approaches against prostate cancer bone metastases: While targeted therapies and anti-cancer immunotherapies have not been especially successful ... read more

Genetics May Determine Who Benefits from Broccoli's Effects on Kidney Health

Deletion of the gene that codes for an enzyme called GSTM1 increased kidney injury in mice with hypertension and kidney disease, but supplementing the diet with broccoli powder lessened kidney injury ... read more

A Step Closer to Cancer Precision Medicine

Researchers have developed a computational model, Combined Essentiality Scoring (CES), that enables accurate identification of essential genes in cancer cells for development of anti-cancer ... read more

'Nudging' Heart Patients to Take Their Statins Leads to Better Adherence and Better Outcomes

In a new study presented to heart specialists from around the world, researchers found that simple 'nudges' in the form of texts, emails and phone calls, not only help patients fill that ... read more

A New CRISPR-Cas9 Protein to Increase Precision of Gene Editing

Researchers have recently developed a new protein that can help increase the targeting accuracy in the genome editing process. It is believed that it would be useful for future gene therapies in ... read more

Artificial Intelligence Learns Muscle Anatomy in CT Images

Scientists report a new deep learning tool based on Bayesian U-Net architecture that can segment individual muscles from CT images. The high accuracy of the results offers a new level of personalized ... read more

Aggressive Form of Breast Cancer Influenced by Dual Action of Genes and RNA

Women with an aggressive, less-common type of breast cancer, known as triple-negative, versus a more common form of the disease, could be differentiated from each other by a panel of 17 small RNA ... read more

DNA Fracturing Rewires Gene Control in Cancer

A multi-institutional team has brought attention to genomic structural variation as a previously unappreciated mechanism involved in altering DNA methylation, a form of gene control, in human ... read more

New Genetic-Based Epilepsy Risk Scores

An international team of researchers has developed new genetic-based epilepsy risk scores which may lay the foundation for a more personalized method of epilepsy diagnosis and treatment. This ... read more

In-Office Gene Therapy for Wet Age-Related Macular Degeneration Is Coming

Gene therapy is showing promise for one of the most common causes of ... read more

Virtual Review of Cancer Clinical Trial Treatment Options Quicker Than Conventional Method

Using virtual, cloud-based, interconnected computing techniques applied to 51,000 variables, researchers reduced the time needed to assess a cancer patient's tumor profile and suitability for ... read more

How Common Genetic Mutation Drives Cancer

A new, multicenter study has determined how a single mutation in splicing factor 3b subunit 1 (SF3B1), the most frequently mutated splicing factor gene, drives the formation of many ... read more

Fruit Flies Help in the Development of Personalized Medicine

It is common knowledge that there is a connection between our genes and the risk of developing certain diseases. In a study on fruit flies, researchers have found that gene mapping can also be used ... read more

Crohn's Disease Study Identifies Genetic Variant With Potential to Personalize Treatment

A genetic variant carried by 40% of the population explains why some patients develop antibodies against the anti-TNF drugs, infliximab and adalimumab and lose response. The authors conclude that a ... read more

Tuesday, March 17, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Thursday, December 26, 2019
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Monday, October 14, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Friday, September 13, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Thursday, August 8, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Friday, August 2, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Monday, July 22, 2019
Friday, July 19, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Wednesday, July 3, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Monday, July 1, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019
Thursday, May 16, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Thursday, March 28, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Friday, March 15, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Friday, February 8, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019