advertisement
Pregnancy and Childbirth News
January 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Diet Has Rapid Effects on Sperm Quality

Sperm are influenced by diet, and the effects arise rapidly. This is the conclusion of a new study in which healthy young men were fed a diet rich in sugar. The study gives new insight into the ... read more
Researchers have made significant advances in developing a novel vaccine against Zika virus, which could potentially lead to global elimination of ... read more

Lack of Oxygen Doesn't Kill Infant Brain Cells

Research raises new concerns about the vulnerability of the preterm brain to hypoxia. Results confirm that brain cells do not die as previously believed. Rather, hippocampal cells fail to mature ... read more

A Simpler Way to Choose the Sex of Offspring by Separating X and Y Sperm

A simple, reversible chemical treatment can segregate X-bearing sperm from Y-bearing sperm, allowing dramatic alteration of the normal 50/50 male/female offspring ratio, according to a new study. The ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 11:17pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Breastfeeding and Childbearing Linked to Lower Early Menopause Risk

Results of a new epidemiological analysis of more than 108,000 women observed a lower risk of early menopause among women who had at least one pregnancy lasting at least six months and among those ... read more

Biologists Make Living Sperm Glow

By applying a novel method, biologists have successfully analyzed the metabolism of intact tissues of the fruit fly using a label-free microscopy technique. They used the natural fluorescence of ... read more

Having Less Sex Linked to Earlier Menopause

Women who engage in sexual activity weekly or monthly have a lower risk of entering menopause early relative to those who report having some form of sex less than monthly, according to a new ... read more

Miscarriage and Ectopic Pregnancy May Trigger Long-Term Post-Traumatic Stress

One in six women experience long-term post-traumatic stress following miscarriage or ectopic ... read more

When Pregnant Moms Are Stressed Out, Babies' Brains Suffer

Knowing that your unborn fetus has congenital heart disease causes such pronounced maternal stress, anxiety and depression that these women's fetuses end up with impaired development in key ... read more

First Genomic Study of Puberty Yields Insights Into Development and Cancer

In the first-ever genome-scale analysis of the puberty process in humans, researchers outline distinct and critical changes to stem cells in males during ... read more

Common Chemical Disrupts Reproductive Biology

Experiments in worms reveal the molecular damage caused by DEHP, a chemical commonly used to make plastics flexible. DEHP interferes with proper cell division during egg formation, leads to excessive ... read more

Kangaroo Mother Care Reduces Infant Mortality

When newborn babies with low birth weight are held close to their mother's bodies throughout the day, their chance of survival increases ... read more

Recurrent Miscarriage: Diabetes Drug Could Lead to New Treatment

A drug designed to tackle diabetes could also be repurposed as the first treatment to prevent miscarriage by targeting the lining of the womb itself, according to a clinical ... read more

Antibodies Derived from Mom's Gut Microbes

Newborn mice derive protective antibodies from their mothers' microbiota. Antibodies derived from mothers' microbiota ward off both localized and widespread systemic infections by the ... read more

Zinc, Folic Acid Supplements Fail to Enhance Male Fertility

Zinc and folic acid, a pair of dietary supplements long touted as an effective treatment for male infertility, failed to improve pregnancy rates, sperm counts, and sperm potency. According to the ... read more

Single Dose of Antibodies Can Knock out HIV in Newborns

A single dose of an antibody-based treatment can prevent HIV transmission from mother to baby, new nonhuman primate research suggests for the first time. This is the first time a single dose of ... read more

Technique Is Almost 86 Percent Effective in Preventing Maternal Death from Hemorrhaging

A simple, inexpensive uterine balloon tamponade (UBT), is almost 86 percent effective in preventing maternal death from ... read more

Step Toward 'Ink' Development for 3-D Printing a Bioprosthetic Ovary

For the first time, scientists identified and mapped the location of structural proteins in a pig ovary. Ongoing development of an 'ink' with these proteins will be used for 3-D printing an ... read more

Plasticizers May Contribute to Motor Control Problems in Girls

Scientists have uncovered a link between prenatal exposure to phthalates -- a ubiquitous group of plasticizers and odor-enhancing chemicals -- and deficits in motor function in girls. Phthalates are ... read more

Combining Neurologic and Blood Pressure Drugs Reduces Breast Tumor Development in Mice

Adding a medication used to treat epilepsy, bipolar disorder and migraines to a blood pressure medicine reversed some aspects of breast cancer in the offspring of mice at high risk of the disease ... read more

Moms' Obesity in Pregnancy Is Linked to Lag in Sons' Development and IQ

A mother's obesity in pregnancy can affect her child's development years down the road, according to researchers who found lagging motor skills in preschoolers and lower IQ in middle ... read more

New Gene for Male Infertility Discovered

Investigators have found that a genetic rearrangement and variants affecting a gene known as SYCP2 are associated with low sperm count and report the first cases implicating the gene in four men with ... read more

Pregnancy Hypertension Risk Increased by Traffic-Related Air Pollution

A new report suggests that traffic-related air pollution increases a pregnant woman's risk for dangerous increases in blood pressure, known as ... read more

Zika Vaccine Protects Fetus in Pregnant Monkeys

An experimental vaccine against the Zika virus reduced the amount of virus in pregnant rhesus macaques and improved fetal outcomes. The work could help support development and approval of an ... read more

Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Monday, January 6, 2020
Tuesday, December 31, 2019
Monday, December 23, 2019
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Friday, December 6, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Thursday, November 28, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Friday, September 13, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019