advertisement
Psychology Research News
December 8, 2019

Top Headlines
 

New research reveals how a week in the dark rewires brain cell networks and changes hearing sensitivity in adult mice long ... read more
Researchers are focused on restoring lower-body function after severe spinal injuries using a tiny spinal implant. In new research, the team showcases a map to identify which ... read more
A study in fruit flies has identified serotonin as a chemical that triggers the body's startle response, the automatic deer-in-the-headlights reflex that freezes the body ... read more
Light-sensitive cells active in the retina even before the fetus can distinguish images may play a larger role in the developing eye and brain than previously thought. ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 10:17am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Open Source EEG Visualization Tool

Researchers have developed a free open source computer program that can be used to create visual and quantitative representations of brain electrical activity in laboratory animals in hopes of ... read more

Improving Blood Vessel Health in Brain May Help Combat Alzheimer's

Researchers have found that very slow spontaneous blood vessel pulsations drive the clearance of substances from the brain, indicating that targeting and improving this process may help to prevent or ... read more

Focused Ultrasound May Open Door to Alzheimer's Treatment

Focused ultrasound is a safe and effective way to target and open areas of the blood-brain barrier, potentially allowing for new treatment approaches to Alzheimer's disease, according to initial ... read more

Concussion Alters How Information Is Transmitted Within the Brain

Damage from concussion alters the way information is transmitted between the 2 halves of the brain, according to a new ... read more

Why Stress Doesn't Always Cause Depression

Rats susceptible to anhedonia, a core symptom of depression, possess more serotonin neurons after being exposed to chronic stress, but the effect can be reversed through amygdala activation, ... read more

Artificial Intelligence-Based Algorithm for Intensive Care of Traumatic Brain Injury

A recent study presents the first artificial intelligence (AI) based algorithm that may be utilized in the intensive care unit for treating patients with severe traumatic brain ... read more

Cutting Neurodegeneration Associated With Dementia, in Animal Models

Korean research team made up of Dr. Hyung-Jun Kim and Shinrye Lee of KBRI, and professor Kiyoung Kim of Soonchunhyang University, found a new molecular mechanism of suppressing neuronal toxicity ... read more

Cerebral Organoid Model Provides Clues About How to Prevent Virus-Induced Brain Cell Death

Scientists have determined that La Crosse virus (LACV), which can cause inflammation of the brain in children, affects brain cells differently depending on their developmental stage. A new study ... read more

Perception of Touch in the Brain

More than ten percent of the cerebral cortex are involved in processing information about our sense of touch -- a larger area than previously ... read more

Air Pollution Linked to Higher Glaucoma Risk

Living in a more polluted area is associated with a greater likelihood of having glaucoma, a debilitating eye condition that can cause blindness, finds a new study. People in neighborhoods with ... read more

How Our Dreams Prepare Us to Face Our Fears

Do bad dreams serve a purpose? Researchers analyzed the dreams of people and identified which areas of the brain were activated when they experienced fear in their dreams. They found that once the ... read more

Dissecting Connections Between Chronic Stress, Inflammation and Depression

Chronic stress can inflame our brain, destroy the connections between our neurons and result in depression, scientists ... read more

Brain Biomarker Predicts Compulsive Drinking

Although alcohol use is ubiquitous in modern society, only a portion of individuals develop alcohol use disorders or addiction. Yet, scientists have not understood why some individuals are prone to ... read more

Multifunctional Small Brains

Researchers discovered that not only the cerebral cortex is responsible for higher perceptual abilities but that the cerebellum also plays a role. This discovery can help understand the consequences ... read more

A New Link Between Migraines, Opioid Overuse May Be Key to Treating Pain

Researchers have discovered that a peptide links together migraine pain and pain induced by opioid ... read more

Brain Scans Reveal How the Human Brain Compensates When One Hemisphere Is Removed

Researchers studying six adults who had one of their brain hemispheres removed during childhood to reduce epileptic seizures found that the remaining half of the brain formed unusually strong ... read more

Ayahuasca Compound Changes Brainwaves to Vivid 'Waking-Dream' State

Scientists have peered inside the brain to show how taking DMT affects human consciousness by significantly altering the brain's electrical ... read more

Mechanism Connects Early Binge Drinking to Adult Behaviors

Intermittent exposure to high levels of alcohol in adolescent animals leads to increased levels of microRNA-137 in the brains of adults. Blocking microRNA-137 helps to reverse or the lasting effects ... read more

Scientists have uncovered a possible explanation for the mental sluggishness that often accompanies ... read more

New Cell Therapy Improves Memory and Stops Seizures Following TBI

Researchers have developed a breakthrough cell therapy to improve memory and prevent seizures in mice following traumatic brain ... read more

Thursday, December 5, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Monday, October 14, 2019