advertisement
Stem Cells News
December 7, 2019

Top Headlines
 

The buildup of scar tissue makes recovery from torn rotator cuffs, jumper's knee, and other tendon injuries a painful, challenging process, often leading to secondary tendon ... read more

A Swifter Way Towards 3D-Printed Organs

Twenty people die waiting for an organ transplant every day in the US, but lab-grown organs so far lack the cellular density, vasculature, and functions required to make them viable replacements. The ... read more

Brain Waves Detected in Mini-Brains Grown in a Dish

Scientists have created miniature brains from stem cells that developed functional neural networks. Despite being a million times smaller than human brains, these lab-grown brains are the first ... read more

Scientists Reverse Aging Process in Rat Brain Stem Cells

Scientists say the results have far reaching implications for how we understand the aging process, and how we might develop much-needed treatments for age-related brain ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 6:17pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Transition to Exhaustion: Clues for Cancer Immunotherapy

Research on immune cells 'exhausted' by chronic viral infection provides clues on how to refine cancer immunotherapy. The Immunity paper defines a transitional stage in between stem-like ... read more

Cerebral Organoid Model Provides Clues About How to Prevent Virus-Induced Brain Cell Death

Scientists have determined that La Crosse virus (LACV), which can cause inflammation of the brain in children, affects brain cells differently depending on their developmental stage. A new study ... read more

Discovery: New Biomarker for Cancer Stem Cells

Medical researchers have discovered a new biomarker in cancer stem cells that govern cancer survival and spread, and it's raising hope that drug discovery to kill cancer stem cells could follow ... read more

Protein Could Offer Therapeutic Target for Pancreatic Cancer

A protein that drives growth of pancreatic cancer, and which could be a target for new treatments, has been ... read more

Stem Cell Transplants Used to Grow Fully Functional Lungs in Mice

Researchers have used transplanted stem cells to grow lungs in mice. Findings could lead to new options for lung transplant ... read more

Learning to Stop Cancer at Its Roots

Leukemia stem cells initiate and sustain leukemia, but researchers have found a way to steer them toward a path of ... read more

Preemies Who Develop Chronic Lung Disease Had More Stem Cells at Birth

In the first large-scale clinical study to characterize stem cells from the umbilical cord blood and tissues of premature infants with bronchopulmonary dysplasia -- a severe, chronic lung disease -- ... read more

Transient Wave of Hematopoietic Stem Cell Production in Late Fetuses and Young Adults

A major challenge in regenerative medicine is producing tailor-made hematopoietic stem cells (HSCs) for transplantation. For this we need a better understanding of where, when and how HSCs are ... read more

Some Skin Cancers May Start in Hair Follicles

Some of the most deadly skin cancers may start in stem cells that lend color to hair, and originate in hair follicles rather than in skin ... read more

Lymphatic System Found to Play Key Role in Hair Regeneration

To grow new hair, stem cells throughout the skin must work in sync. Researchers have discovered the molecular communication tool, part of the lymphatic system, that the cells use to synchronize their ... read more

Milk from Teeth: Dental Stem Cells Can Generate Milk-Producing Cells

Stem cells of the teeth can contribute to the regeneration of non-dental organs, namely mammary glands. According to a new study, dental epithelial stem cells from mice can generate mammary ducts and ... read more

Anti-Arthritis Drug Also Stops Tuberculosis Bacillus from Multiplying in Blood Stem Cells

Immunologists have shown that a drug used to fight arthritis also stops the process that allows the tuberculosis bacillus to infect and hijack blood stem ... read more

Embryonic Development: Earlier Origin of Neural Crest Cells

Neural crest cells have been thought to originate in the ectoderm, the outermost of the three germ layers formed in the earliest stages of embryonic development. But their capacity to form ... read more

'Instant Liver, Just Add Water'? Not Quite, but a Better Way to Grow Multiple Organs

Pluripotent stem cells can be used to make experimental models of organ systems, but current techniques often produce models that bear limited resemblance to true organs. Researchers developed an ... read more

A Compound Effective to Chemotherapy-Resistant Cancer Cells Identified

A compound effective in killing chemotherapy-resistant glioblastoma-initiating cells (GICs) has been identified, raising hopes of producing drugs capable of eradicating refractory tumors with low ... read more

When Added to Gene Therapy, Plant-Based Compound May Enable Faster, More Effective Treatments

Today's standard process for administering gene therapy is expensive and time-consuming -- a result of the many steps required to deliver the healthy genes into the patients' blood stem ... read more

Embryo's Early Development Revealed in a Dish

Bioscientists develop a method to observe patterns of early embryonic development, during which ectodermal cells diverge toward their fates as skin, organs and the nervous ... read more

Viagra Shows Promise for Use in Bone Marrow Transplants

Researchers have demonstrated a new, rapid method to obtain donor stem cells for bone marrow transplants using a combination of Viagra and a second drug called Plerixafor. Bone marrow transplants, ... read more

First Cell Map of Developing Human Liver Reveals How Blood and Immune System Develops

In a world first, scientists have created the human developmental liver cell atlas that provides crucial insights into how the blood and immune systems develop in the fetus. It maps changes in the ... read more

Potential Liver Cancer Treatment by Targeting Cancer Stem-Like Cells

Researchers have shown the potential use of small molecule inhibitors to treat advanced liver ... read more

Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Friday, November 1, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Monday, September 2, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Friday, August 9, 2019
Thursday, August 8, 2019
Tuesday, August 6, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Thursday, August 1, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Friday, July 26, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Thursday, July 18, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Wednesday, July 3, 2019
Monday, July 1, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019
Thursday, June 20, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Monday, June 17, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Friday, June 7, 2019
Thursday, June 6, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019
Friday, May 31, 2019
Thursday, May 30, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Friday, May 24, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Monday, May 20, 2019
Thursday, May 16, 2019