advertisement
Urology News
December 12, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Latest Headlines
updated 10:46am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Being Active Reduces Risk of Prostate Cancer

Prostate cancer is the most common cancer in men in the UK , yet we still don't know all of its causes. The largest ever study to use genetics as a measurement for physical activity to look at ... read more

Novel MRI-Guided Ultrasound Treatment Destroys Prostate Cancer

A novel MRI-guided procedure that uses therapeutic ultrasound effectively treats prostate cancer with minimal side effects, according to a new study. Researchers said the incision-free technique ... read more

Cancer Patients Are at Higher Risk of Dying from Heart Disease and Stroke

The largest and most comprehensive study looking at deaths from cardiovascular disease among patients with 28 types of cancer with over 40 years of data has shown that more than one in ten cancer ... read more

Anthrax May Be the Next Tool in the Fight Against Bladder Cancer

Researchers have come up with a way to combine the anthrax toxin with a growth factor to kill bladder cancer cells and ... read more

High Levels of Two Hormones in the Blood Raise Prostate Cancer Risk

Men with higher levels of 'free' testosterone and a growth hormone in their blood are more likely to be diagnosed with prostate cancer, according to research presented at the 2019 NCRI ... read more

Oxygen in Hyperbaric Chamber Provides Relief After Radiotherapy

Hyperbaric oxygen therapy (HBOT) can relieve self-reported symptoms and side-effects of radiotherapy against cancer in the pelvic region, a study shows. After 30-40 sessions in a hyperbaric chamber, ... read more

New Blood Test for Prostate Cancer Is Highly-Accurate and Avoids Invasive Biopsies

A new and simple blood test has been found to efficiently and accurately detect the presence of aggressive prostate cancer, according to new ... read more

Eating Mushrooms May Help Lower Prostate Cancer Risk

A new study found an inverse relationship between mushroom consumption and the development of prostate cancer among middle-aged and elderly Japanese men, suggesting that regular mushroom intake might ... read more

Study Links Progenitor Cells to Age-Related Prostate Growth

The prostates of older mice contain more luminal progenitor cells -- cells capable of generating new prostate tissue -- than the prostates of younger mice, researchers have ... read more

Advantages for Stress Urinary Incontinence Surgery

One of the most commonly performed surgeries to treat stress urinary incontinence in women may have better long-term results than another common surgical technique, according to a new study. The ... read more

How Prostate Cancer Cells Mimic Bone When They Metastasize

Researchers describe how prostate cancer cells develop the ability to mimic bone-forming cells called osteoblasts, enabling them to proliferate in the bone ... read more

Enzyme PHLPP2 Could Be a Viable Drug Target for Treating Prostate Cancer

Researchers propose a new druggable target that can put a damper on the spread of prostate cancer. Containing the threat at its origin organ greatly increases the survival rates of patients who ... read more

Treatment Targets for Men With Advanced Prostate Cancers

A study outlines findings from the largest-ever prospective genomic analysis of advanced prostate cancer tumors. Using comprehensive genomic profiling (CGP) to analyze thousands of tumor samples from ... read more

Bacteria's Role in Recurrent Urinary Tract Infections

A new finding shows that several species of bacteria reside in bladder tissue of postmenopausal women who experience recurrent urinary tract infections (RUTIs). The results represent the first ... read more

Scientists Identify Compounds in Coffee Which May Inhibit Prostate Cancer

For the first time, scientists have identified compounds found in coffee which may inhibit the growth of prostate cancer. This is a pilot study, carried out on drug-resistant cancer cells in cell ... read more

Low-Dose Aspirin Does Not Seem to Improve Survival After Prostate Cancer Diagnosis

Low-dose aspirin use does not seem to reduce the overall risk for prostate cancer death at the population level, according to a new study. However, results for extended exposure periods suggest that ... read more

Study Finds Upsurge in 'Active Surveillance' for Low-Risk Prostate Cancer

Many men with low-risk prostate cancer who most likely previously would have undergone immediate surgery or radiation are now adopting a more conservative 'active surveillance' strategy, ... read more

Researchers Develop Prostate Cancer Prediction Tool That Has Unmatched Accuracy

Researchers have developed a novel machine-learning framework that distinguishes between low- and high-risk prostate cancer with more precision than ever before. The framework is intended to help ... read more

Biological Markers That Could Guide Treatment for Prostate Cancer

Genetic alterations in low-risk prostate cancer diagnosed by needle biopsy can identify men that harbor higher-risk cancer in their prostate glands, researchers have discovered. The research found ... read more

Delivery Method Associated With Pelvic Floor Disorders After Childbirth

Research has demonstrated that vaginal childbirth substantially increases the probability a woman will develop a pelvic floor disorder later in ... read more

Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Tuesday, August 6, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Monday, February 11, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Friday, December 14, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Friday, October 19, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Tuesday, September 11, 2018
Wednesday, September 5, 2018
Thursday, August 30, 2018
Monday, August 13, 2018
Friday, July 20, 2018
Thursday, July 5, 2018
Wednesday, June 27, 2018
Monday, June 25, 2018
Friday, June 15, 2018
Thursday, June 14, 2018
Wednesday, June 6, 2018
Monday, June 4, 2018
Tuesday, May 29, 2018
Monday, May 28, 2018
Monday, May 21, 2018
Tuesday, May 15, 2018
Thursday, April 26, 2018
Thursday, April 5, 2018
Monday, March 26, 2018
Friday, March 23, 2018
Thursday, March 22, 2018
Wednesday, March 21, 2018
Tuesday, March 20, 2018
Thursday, March 15, 2018
Tuesday, March 6, 2018
Monday, March 5, 2018
Wednesday, February 28, 2018
Tuesday, February 13, 2018
Monday, February 5, 2018
Wednesday, January 31, 2018
Monday, January 29, 2018
Tuesday, January 16, 2018
Tuesday, December 26, 2017
Friday, December 22, 2017
Tuesday, December 5, 2017
Tuesday, November 14, 2017
Monday, November 13, 2017
Friday, November 10, 2017
Monday, October 23, 2017
Monday, October 16, 2017
Thursday, October 12, 2017
Sunday, October 8, 2017
Tuesday, September 5, 2017
Monday, September 4, 2017
Thursday, August 24, 2017
Thursday, August 17, 2017
Tuesday, August 15, 2017
Monday, August 14, 2017
Monday, August 7, 2017
Monday, July 24, 2017
Wednesday, July 12, 2017
Friday, June 30, 2017
Thursday, June 22, 2017
Monday, June 12, 2017
Wednesday, June 7, 2017
Sunday, June 4, 2017
Wednesday, May 31, 2017
Sunday, May 28, 2017
Wednesday, May 17, 2017
Monday, May 15, 2017
Thursday, May 4, 2017
Thursday, April 20, 2017
Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Monday, April 3, 2017
Thursday, March 30, 2017