advertisement
Women's Health News
February 18, 2020

Top Headlines
 

DNA Damage to Breast Cells from Chemicals in Some Cosmetics, Sunscreens

A new approach to studying the effects of two common chemicals used in cosmetics and sunscreens found they can cause DNA damage in breast cells at surprisingly low concentrations, while the same dose ... read more

First Human Ancestors Breastfed for Longer Than Contemporary Relatives

By analyzing the fossilized teeth of some of our most ancient ancestors, scientists have discovered that the first humans significantly breastfed their infants for longer periods than their ... read more

E. Coli Superbug Strains Can Persist in Healthy Women's Guts

A study of over 1,000 healthy women with no urinary tract infection symptoms showed nearly 9% carried multi-drug resistant Escherichia coli strains in their guts. Additional findings highlight likely ... read more

Vast Majority of Dietary Supplements Don't Improve Heart Health or Put Off Death, Study Finds

In a massive new analysis of findings from 277 clinical trials using 24 different interventions, researchers say they have found that almost all ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 5:17pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

PET/MRI Identifies Notable Breast Cancer Imaging Biomarkers

Researchers have identified several potentially useful breast cancer biomarkers that indicate the presence and risk of malignancy, according to new ... read more

Blood Tests Can Predict Timing of Final Menstrual Period

Blood tests could replace menstrual periods as a gauge for when a women is nearing menopause, according to new ... read more

Breastfeeding and Childbearing Linked to Lower Early Menopause Risk

Results of a new epidemiological analysis of more than 108,000 women observed a lower risk of early menopause among women who had at least one pregnancy lasting at least six months and among those ... read more

Activation of a Distinct Genetic Pathway Can Slow the Progress of Metastatic Breast Cancer

Activation of the BMP4 signalling pathway presents a new therapeutic strategy to combat metastatic breast cancer, a disease that has shown no reduction in patient mortality over the past 20 ... read more

Pulling the Plug on Calcium Pumps -- Potential New Treatment Strategy for Pancreatic Cancer

UK scientists have identified a new way to kill pancreatic cancer cells by 'pulling the plug' on the energy generator that fuels calcium pumps on their cell surface. The study reports how ... read more

Having Less Sex Linked to Earlier Menopause

Women who engage in sexual activity weekly or monthly have a lower risk of entering menopause early relative to those who report having some form of sex less than monthly, according to a new ... read more

Investigational Drugs Block Bone Loss in Mice Receiving Chemotherapy

Studying mice, researchers have found a driver of bone loss related to cancer treatment. Radiation and chemotherapy can halt cell division in bone, which results in a stress response called ... read more

Genetic Study Provides Most Comprehensive Map of Risk to Date of Breast Cancer Risk

A major international study of the genetics of breast cancer has identified more than 350 DNA 'errors' that increase an individual's risk of developing the disease. The scientists ... read more

Step Toward 'Ink' Development for 3-D Printing a Bioprosthetic Ovary

For the first time, scientists identified and mapped the location of structural proteins in a pig ovary. Ongoing development of an 'ink' with these proteins will be used for 3-D printing an ... read more

Starting Point for Designing Drugs That Cure Clostridium Difficile

A new article details a research breakthrough that provides a promising starting point for scientists to create drugs that can cure C. diff -- a virulent health care-associated infection that causes ... read more

AI Improves Breast Cancer Risk Prediction

A sophisticated type of artificial intelligence (AI) can outperform existing models at predicting which women are at future risk of breast cancer, according to a new ... read more

Large Study Links Sustained Weight Loss to Reduced Breast Cancer Risk

A large new study finds that women who lost weight after age 50 and kept it off had a lower risk of breast cancer than women whose weight remained stable, helping answer a vexing question in cancer ... read more

Origins of Neurodegenerative Disease

New research has shed light on the origins of spinocerebellar ataxia type 7 (SCA7) and demonstrates effective new therapeutic pathways for SCA7 and the more than 40 other types of spinocerebellar ... read more

Bone Bandage Soaks Up Pro-Healing Biochemical to Accelerate Repair

Researchers have engineered a patch or bandage that captures a pro-healing molecule called adenosine that briefly surges at the site of a bone break or fracture to accelerate and improve the natural ... read more

Breast Cancer Cells Swallow a 'Free Lunch' of Dietary Fat Particles from the Bloodstream

A research team has previously shown that fatty particles from the bloodstream may boost the growth of breast cancer cells. They now show that through an unexpected mechanism not previously described ... read more

Lighting Up Cardiovascular Problems Using Nanoparticles

A new nanoparticle innovation that detects unstable calcifications that can trigger heart attacks and strokes may allow doctors to pinpoint when plaque on the walls of blood vessels becomes ... read more

Long-Term Study Finds Faster Breast Cancer Radiation Treatment as Effective as Long Course

Approximately half of the patients were randomly assigned whole breast radiation, delivered once per day over 3 to 5 weeks. The other half received external beam APBI which was given twice a day over ... read more

Permanent Hair Dye and Straighteners May Increase Breast Cancer Risk

Scientists found that women who use permanent hair dye and chemical hair straighteners have a higher risk of developing breast cancer than women who don't use these products. The study suggests ... read more

AI Helps Find Signs of Heart Disease on Lung Cancer Screens

Artificial intelligence (AI) provides an automated and accurate tool to measure a common marker of heart disease in patients getting chest CT scans for lung cancer screening, according to a new ... read more

Protein Defect Leaves Sperm Chasing Their Tails

Researchers have characterized a protein, called VSP, that keeps sperm swimming in straight lines. Deletion of the protein caused sperm to swim in circles, significantly reducing fertilization rates. ... read more

Monday, January 27, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Monday, January 6, 2020
Thursday, January 2, 2020
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Friday, December 13, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Friday, November 22, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Sunday, November 3, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Friday, October 4, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Monday, September 2, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Friday, August 9, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Friday, July 19, 2019
Thursday, July 18, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019