advertisement
Women's Health News
December 8, 2019

Top Headlines
 

First Human Ancestors Breastfed for Longer Than Contemporary Relatives

By analyzing the fossilized teeth of some of our most ancient ancestors, scientists have discovered that the first humans significantly breastfed their infants for longer periods than their ... read more

E. Coli Superbug Strains Can Persist in Healthy Women's Guts

A study of over 1,000 healthy women with no urinary tract infection symptoms showed nearly 9% carried multi-drug resistant Escherichia coli strains in their guts. Additional findings highlight likely ... read more

Vast Majority of Dietary Supplements Don't Improve Heart Health or Put Off Death, Study Finds

In a massive new analysis of findings from 277 clinical trials using 24 different interventions, researchers say they have found that almost all ... read more

Making Systems Robust

Both nature and technology rely on integral feedback mechanisms to ensure that systems resist external perturbations. Researchers have now used synthetic biology to design a new mechanism of this ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 5:47am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

AI Helps Find Signs of Heart Disease on Lung Cancer Screens

Artificial intelligence (AI) provides an automated and accurate tool to measure a common marker of heart disease in patients getting chest CT scans for lung cancer screening, according to a new ... read more

Master Regulator in Mitochondria Is Critical for Muscle Function and Repair

New study identifies how loss of mitochondrial protein MICU1 disrupts calcium balance and causes muscle atrophy and ... read more

Findings Could Identify Aggressive Breast Cancers That Will Respond to Immunotherapy

Researchers discovered a biological signature that could help identify which triple negative breast cancers might respond to immunotherapy and other ... read more

'Give Me the Calcium!' Tulane Virus Takes Over Cellular Calcium Signaling to Replicate

Researchers uncover the first piece of functional evidence suggesting that Tulane virus and human norovirus use viroporins to control cellular calcium ... read more

Defining a New Approach to Treating Parkinson's Disease

Scientists have identified Cav2.3 as a new target for a promising specific ... read more

Oxygen-Starved Tumor Cells Have Survival Advantage That Promotes Cancer Spread

Using cells from human breast cancers and mouse breast cancer models, researchers say they have significant new evidence that tumor cells exposed to low-oxygen conditions have an advantage when it ... read more

Anorexia Nervosa Comes in All Sizes, Including Plus Size

Adolescents and young adults with anorexia nervosa whose weight is in the healthy, overweight or obese ranges face similar cardiovascular and other health complications as their counterparts with low ... read more

Simple Blood Test for Early Detection of Breast Cancer

Breast cancer could be detected up to five years before there are any clinical signs of it, using a blood test that identifies the body's immune response to substances produced by tumor cells, ... read more

Study Identifies Role of Specific Gene in Hardening of Blood Vessel Walls

New study implicates a specific gene -- HDAC9 -- in the calcification of the human aorta, the largest blood vessel in the ... read more

Simple Test Predicts Dangerous Pregnancy Disorder

Researchers have developed a simple, low-cost way to predict preeclampsia, a potentially deadly condition that kills 76,000 mothers and 500,000 babies every ... read more

Men With Breast Cancer Face High Mortality Rates

Men with breast cancer are more likely to die than their female counterparts, across all stages of disease, with the disparity persisting even when clinical characteristics, such as cancer types, ... read more

Aggressive Form of Breast Cancer Influenced by Dual Action of Genes and RNA

Women with an aggressive, less-common type of breast cancer, known as triple-negative, versus a more common form of the disease, could be differentiated from each other by a panel of 17 small RNA ... read more

Oxygen in Hyperbaric Chamber Provides Relief After Radiotherapy

Hyperbaric oxygen therapy (HBOT) can relieve self-reported symptoms and side-effects of radiotherapy against cancer in the pelvic region, a study shows. After 30-40 sessions in a hyperbaric chamber, ... read more

Hormone Therapy Associated With Improved Cognition

Estrogen has a significant role in overall brain health and cognitive function. That's why so many studies focused on the prevention of cognitive decline consider the effect of reduced estrogen ... read more

'Wild Idea' Opens Possible New Frontier for Preventing Ovarian Cancer

A laboratory study offers a new hypothesis about how ovarian cancer forms and suggests how it might be prevented. The study is the first to show that the natural stiffening of the ovaries called ... read more

Research Maps Key Signaling Pathways Linking Calcium Entry and Exit in Activated T Cells

Like entrance and exit doors on a building, a cell's outer surface has doors -- channels, pumps, and transporters that selectively control what molecules enter or exit. In the immune system, T ... read more

How Can Ultrasonic Brain Stimulation Cure Brain Diseases?

Scientists found a calcium channel expressed in astrocytes in the brain to be a highly sensitive target for LILFU-induced neuronal activity in the motor cortex, such as tail ... read more

Insights on Treatment and Prognosis of Male Breast Cancer

A recent analysis reveals that treatment of male breast cancer has evolved over the years. In addition, certain patient-, tumor-, and treatment-related factors are linked with better ... read more

Aggressive Breast Cancers Store Large Amounts of Energy, Which Enables It to Spread

Researchers found that aggressive breast cancers store glycogen in very large amounts, offering an explanation of how cells can change their function to evade treatment, grow and spread. Targeting an ... read more

Scientists ID New Targets to Treat Fibrosis, a Feature of Many Chronic Diseases

When it comes to repairing injured tissue, specialized cells in the body known as fibroblasts are called into action. Fibroblasts give rise to healing cells called myofibroblasts, which generally is ... read more

Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Sunday, November 3, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Friday, October 4, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Monday, September 2, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Friday, August 9, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Friday, July 19, 2019
Thursday, July 18, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Friday, July 12, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Wednesday, July 3, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Monday, July 1, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Thursday, June 20, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Thursday, June 6, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019
Thursday, May 30, 2019
Wednesday, May 29, 2019