advertisement
Civil Engineering News
December 8, 2019

Top Headlines
 

A new approach could inform the design of quantum materials platforms for future electronics, as well as faster devices with ... read more
Researchers have adapted a light-based technology employed widely in biology -- known as optical traps or optical tweezers -- to operate in a water-free liquid environment of ... read more

Researchers Build Microscopic Biohybrid Robots Propelled by Muscles, Nerves

Researchers have developed soft robotic devices driven by neuromuscular tissue that triggers when stimulated by light -- bringing mechanical engineering one step closer to developing autonomous ... read more

Hard as a Diamond? Scientists Predict New Forms of Superhard Carbon

Superhard materials can slice, drill and polish other objects. Now, science is opening the door to the development of new materials with these seductive qualities. Researchers have used computational ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 10:51am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

'Smart' Surfaces to Help Blood-Vessel Grafts Knit Better, More Safely

Researchers have created a new coating to prevent clotting and infection in synthetic vascular grafts, while also accelerating the body's own process for integrating the grafted ... read more

Synthetic Biologists Developing a New Class of High-Performance Materials

Synthetic biologists have developed a process that could lead to a new class of synthetic polymers that may create new high-performance materials and therapeutics for ... read more

Learning from Traditional Indian Building Techniques

Dense, humid broadleaf forests, monsoon-swollen rivers and deep ravines -- in the Indian state of Meghalaya wooden bridges easily decay or are washed away in floodwaters. Bridges made from steel and ... read more

Researchers Develop Thin Heat Shield for Superfast Aircraft

The world of aerospace increasingly relies on carbon fiber reinforced polymer composites to build the structures of satellites, rockets and jet aircraft. But the life of those materials is limited by ... read more

Theoretical Tubulanes Inspire Ultrahard Polymers

Engineers print 3D blocks based on theoretical tubulanes and find they're nearly as hard as ... read more

Artificial Intelligence to Run the Chemical Factories of the Future

A new proof-of-concept study details how an automated system driven by artificial intelligence can design, build, test and learn complex biochemical pathways to efficiently produce lycopene, a red ... read more

Visualizing Heat Flow in Bamboo Could Help Design More Energy-Efficient and Fire-Safe Buildings

Modified natural materials will be an essential component of a sustainable future, but first a detailed understanding of their properties is needed. The way heat flows across bamboo cell walls has ... read more

New Material Points Toward Highly Efficient Solar Cells

A new type of material for next-generation solar cells eliminates the need to use lead, which has been a major roadblock for this ... read more

New Spin Directions in Pyrite an Encouraging Sign for Future Spintronics

An Australian study revealing new spin textures in pyrite could unlock these materials' potential in future spintronics devices. The study of pyrite-type materials provides new insights and ... read more

A Fast and Precise Look Into Fiber-Reinforced Composites

Researchers have improved a method for small angle X-ray scattering (SAXS) to such an extent that it can now be used in the development or quality control of novel fiber-reinforced composites. This ... read more

RoboBee Powered by Soft Muscles

Researchers have developed a resilient RoboBee powered by soft artificial muscles that can crash into walls, fall onto the floor, and collide with other RoboBees without being damaged. It is the ... read more

Disordered Proteins Become Stable, 'Super-Sticky' Materials

Biomedical engineers have demonstrated that they can create stable materials from engineered disordered proteins by altering the environmental triggers that cause them to undergo phase transitions. ... read more

Bundlemers (New Polymer Units) Could Transform Industries

From tires to clothes to shampoo, many ubiquitous products are made with polymers, large chain-like molecules made of smaller sub-units, called monomers, bonded together. Now, a team of researchers ... read more

Of All Professions, Construction Workers Most Likely to Use Opioids and Cocaine

Construction workers are more likely to use drugs than workers in other professions, finds a new ... read more

Tiny Swimming Donuts Deliver the Goods

Bacteria and other swimming microorganisms evolved to thrive in challenging environments, and researchers struggle to mimic their unique abilities for biomedical technologies, but fabrication ... read more

Using Computational Chemistry to Produce Cheaper Infrared Plastic Lenses

A team created the next generation of long-wave infrared plastic lenses. The plastic, a sulfur-based polymer forged from waste generated by refining fossil fuels, is incredibly useful for lenses, ... read more

Cracking the Mystery of Nature's Toughest Material

Nacre, the rainbow-sheened material that lines the insides of mussel and other mollusk shells, is known as nature's toughest material. Now, a team of researchers has revealed precisely how it ... read more

Climate Change Could Hasten Deterioration of US Bridge Infrastructure

Scientists are studying the toll climate change may take on aging US infrastructure, which includes over 600,000 bridges. A new study links the potential impacts of climate change with the structural ... read more

Remarkable Story of Shock Wave Physics in Post-World War II America

Physicists predicted the Hubble Space Telescope would see a rising vapor plume as the Shoemaker-Levy 9 comet crashed into the far side of Jupiter in 1994. And sure enough, the plume produced by the ... read more

Computer Models Show Clear Advantages in New Types of Wind Turbines

Researchers have modeled the fluid dynamics of multi-rotor wind turbines via high-resolution numerical simulations. The simulations demonstrate a clear advantage for a turbine model with four rotors. ... read more

Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Friday, November 1, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Friday, September 13, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Friday, August 16, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Friday, August 9, 2019
Tuesday, August 6, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Friday, August 2, 2019
Thursday, August 1, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Friday, July 19, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Tuesday, July 9, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Friday, June 28, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019
Thursday, June 20, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Friday, June 7, 2019
Thursday, June 6, 2019
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Thursday, May 16, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Friday, April 26, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Monday, April 22, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Tuesday, April 16, 2019