advertisement
Electronics News
December 8, 2019

Top Headlines
 

A new approach could inform the design of quantum materials platforms for future electronics, as well as faster devices with ... read more

Portable Electronics: A Stretchable and Flexible Biofuel Cell That Runs on Sweat

A unique new flexible and stretchable device, worn against the skin and capable of producing electrical energy by transforming the compounds present ... read more

Laser Printing Tech Produces Waterproof E-Textiles in Minutes

In just three minutes, the laser printing approach can produce a 10x10 cm smart textile patch that's waterproof, stretchable and easily integrated with solar or other sources of ... read more

Lasers Enable Engineers to Weld Ceramics, No Furnace Required

Smartphones that don't scratch or shatter. Metal-free pacemakers. Electronics for space and other harsh environments. These could all be made possible thanks to a new ceramic welding technology. The ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 6:20am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Imaging Technique Gives Catalytic 2D Material Engineering a Better View

A scanning electrochemical cell imaging technique shows how nanoscale structural features affect the catalytic activity of MoS2 monolayers for hydrogen evolution reactions, report ... read more

Boosting 5G Technology

A new project may boost 5G and mm-Wave technologies, improving military communications and sensing ... read more

A Super-Fast 'Light Switch' for Future Cars and Computers

Switching light beams quickly is important in many technological applications. Researchers have now developed an 'electro-opto-mechanical' switch for light beams that is considerably ... read more

Making Tiny Antennas for Wearable Electronics

When it comes to electronics, bigger usually isn't better. This is especially true for a new generation of wearable communication systems that promise to connect people, machines and other ... read more

Clean Carbon Nanotubes With Superb Properties

Scientists have found a new way to make ultra-clean carbon nanotube transistors with superior semiconducting ... read more

Light-Sensing Camera May Help Detect Extraterrestrial Life, Dark Matter

Researchers have made one of the highest-performance cameras ever composed of sensors that count single photons, or particles of ... read more

Kick-Starting Moore's Law? New 'Synthetic' Method for Making Microchips Could Help

Researchers have developed a new method for producing atomically-thin semiconducting crystals that could one day enable more powerful and compact electronic ... read more

Discovery in Ferroelectric Material Reveals Unique Property, Application Potential

A discovery from a team of physicists and other researchers is breaking new ground in the study of ferroelectricity, a characteristic of certain dielectric materials that are used in high-technology ... read more

Tiny Low-Energy Device to Rapidly Reroute Light in Computer Chips

Researchers have developed an optical switch that routes light from one computer chip to another in just 20 billionths of a second -- faster than any other similar device. The compact switch is the ... read more

Graphene: The More You Bend It, the Softer It Gets

New research by engineers combines atomic-scale experimentation with computer modeling to determine how much energy it takes to bend multilayer graphene -- a question that has eluded scientists since ... read more

Theoretical Tubulanes Inspire Ultrahard Polymers

Engineers print 3D blocks based on theoretical tubulanes and find they're nearly as hard as ... read more

The Smell of Old Books Could Help Preserve Them

Old books give off a complex mélange of odors, ranging from pleasant (almonds, caramel and chocolate) to nasty (formaldehyde, old clothes and trash). Detecting early signs of paper degradation could ... read more

Epitaxially-Grown Molybdenum Oxide Advances as a Bulk-Like 2D Dielectric Layer

Scalable 2D-type MoO3 nanosheets were synthesized via van der Waal epitaxy growth method. Its electrical and mechanical properties of MoO3 nanosheets are maintained even at a few layer level and the ... read more

Elucidation of Cause of Electromagnetic Noise Allows for EM Noise-Less Electric Circuits

Researchers have developed equations for quantifying electromagnetic interference (EM noise) and elucidated its origin, allowing for the best circuit configuration to reduce EM ... read more

Stretchable, Degradable Semiconductors

To seamlessly integrate electronics with the natural world, materials are needed that are both stretchable and degradable -- for example, flexible medical devices that conform to the surfaces of ... read more

New Spin Directions in Pyrite an Encouraging Sign for Future Spintronics

An Australian study revealing new spin textures in pyrite could unlock these materials' potential in future spintronics devices. The study of pyrite-type materials provides new insights and ... read more

Materials Help Photodetectors See the Light

Using a special type of two-dimensional material, researchers have developed a new way to make light sensors that improves their sensitivity and could allow manufacturers to keep up with the growing ... read more

Large Scale Integrated Circuits Produced in Printing Press

Researchers have shown for the first time that it is possible to print complete integrated circuits with more than 100 organic electrochemical ... read more

A Distinct Spin on Atomic Transport

Physicists demonstrate simultaneous control over transport and spin properties of cold atoms, and thus establish a framework for exploring concepts in spintronics and solid-state ... read more

3D-Printed Plastics With High Performance Electrical Circuits

Engineers have embedded high performance electrical circuits inside 3D-printed plastics, which could lead to smaller and versatile drones and better-performing small satellites, biomedical implants ... read more

Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Sunday, November 3, 2019
Friday, November 1, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Monday, October 14, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Friday, October 4, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Friday, September 13, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Friday, August 30, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Friday, August 23, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Friday, August 16, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Friday, August 9, 2019
Thursday, August 8, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019