advertisement
Energy and Resources News
December 7, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Research has chemists one step closer to recreating nature's most efficient machinery for generating hydrogen gas. This new development may help clear the path for the ... read more
Scientists have designed an affordable 'flow battery' membrane that could accelerate renewable energy for the ... read more
New work reveals how one kind of bacteria 'eats' electricity by pulling in electrons straight from an ... read more
A new way of removing carbon dioxide from a stream of air could provide a significant tool in the battle against climate change. The new system can work on the gas at ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 7:50pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Imaging Technique Gives Catalytic 2D Material Engineering a Better View

A scanning electrochemical cell imaging technique shows how nanoscale structural features affect the catalytic activity of MoS2 monolayers for hydrogen evolution reactions, report ... read more

New Electrodes Could Increase Efficiency of Electric Vehicles and Aircraft

The rise in popularity of electric vehicles and aircraft presents the possibility of moving away from fossil fuels toward a more sustainable future. While significant technological advancements have ... read more

Big Plans to Save the Planet Depend on Nanoscopic Materials Improving Energy Storage

Scientists present a comprehensive analysis of two decades of energy storage research involving nanomaterials. The authors lay out a roadmap for how this technology can enable the world's urgent ... read more

Theory of Pore-Scale Transport to Enable Improved Flow Batteries

Redox flow batteries are an emerging technology for electrochemical energy storage that could help enhance the use of power produced by renewable energy resources. Scientists have addressed some of ... read more

Researchers Design an Improved Pathway to Carbon-Neutral Plastics

Researchers have designed a new and improved system for efficiently converting CO2, water, and renewable energy into ethylene -- the precursor to a wide range of plastic products -- under neutral ... read more

Emissions from Electricity Generation Lead to Premature Deaths for Some Racial Groups

Researchers have found that air pollution from electricity generation emissions in 2014 led to about 16,000 premature deaths in the continental ... read more

Energy Research: Economizing on Iridium

Iridium is an ideal catalyst for the electrolytic production of hydrogen from water -- but it is extremely expensive. But now a new kind of electrode made of highly porous material does an excellent ... read more

New Hybrid Device Can Both Capture and Store Solar Energy

Researchers have reported a new device that can both efficiently capture solar energy and store it until it is needed, offering promise for applications ranging from power generation to distillation ... read more

This Humidity Digester Breathes in Atmospheric Water and Exhales Energy

Integrating a super moisture-absorbent gel with light-active materials, researchers have developed a humidity digester to dry the ambient air while generating energy. The method is a green ... read more

Decarbonizing the Power Sector

Electricity supply is one of the biggest CO2 emitters globally. To keep global warming well below 2°C, several paths lead to zero emissions in the energy sector, and each has its potential ... read more

Pollution from Athabasca Oil Sands Affects Weather Processes

Scientists have been looking at pollution affecting the air, land and water around the Athabaska Oil Sands for some time. After looking at contaminants in snow taken from up-to 25 km away from the ... read more

Novel Direct Thermal Charging Cell Converts Low-Grade Waste Heat to Usable Electricity

Engineers can now efficiently convert heat into electricity, creating a huge potential to reduce greenhouse effects by capturing exhaust heat and cutting down primary energy ... read more

Scientists Show How Perovskite Solar Cells Can Capture More Electricity

Scientists have developed a method to analyze which pairs of materials in next-generation perovskite solar cells will harvest the most ... read more

Storing Energy in Hydrogen 20 Times More Effective Using Platinum-Nickel Catalyst

Catalysts accelerate chemical reactions, but the widely used metal platinum is scarce and expensive. Researchers have now developed an alternative with a 20x higher activity: a catalyst with hollow ... read more

Researchers Create and Stabilize Pure Polymeric Nitrogen Using Plasma

Researchers have reported the production of the first pure polymeric nitrogen compound at near-ambient conditions. The substance, which has existed only in theory for the last three decades, is ... read more

Crystal Coatings Could Help Solve Mystery of Fracture Patterns

Fractures are everywhere. They are the cracks in the sidewalk. The rifts in roadcuts. The spidery textures in brick and boulders. And those are just the fractures visible at the surface. Underground, ... read more

Chemistry: Five-Fold Boost in Formaldehyde Yield

Environmentally benign methods for the industrial production of chemicals are urgently needed. Researchers recently described such a procedure for the synthesis of formaldehyde, and have now improved ... read more

Climate Impact of Hydropower Varies Widely

Hydropower is broadly considered to be much more environmentally friendly than electricity generated from fossil fuels, and in many cases this is true. However, a new study reveals that the climate ... read more

New Material Points Toward Highly Efficient Solar Cells

A new type of material for next-generation solar cells eliminates the need to use lead, which has been a major roadblock for this ... read more

Iron-Based Solar Cells on Track to Becoming More Efficient

An international study shows that 30% of the energy in a certain type of light-absorbing iron molecule disappears in a previously unknown manner. By closing this loophole, the researchers hope to ... read more

Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Friday, November 22, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Monday, October 14, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Friday, September 27, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Friday, September 13, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019