advertisement
Energy Technology News
December 8, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Scientists have designed an affordable 'flow battery' membrane that could accelerate renewable energy for the ... read more
New work reveals how one kind of bacteria 'eats' electricity by pulling in electrons straight from an ... read more
Chemists have demonstrated characteristics of a phenomenon called quantum tunneling by using a very large electric field to alter the ability of ammonia molecules to switch ... read more
A widely-used gas that is currently produced from fossil fuels can instead be made by an 'artificial leaf' that uses only sunlight, carbon dioxide and water, and which could ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 10:50pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Big Trucks, Little Emissions

Researchers reveal a new integrated, cost-efficient way of converting ethanol for fuel blends that can reduce greenhouse gas ... read more

A Record-Setting Transistor

A transistor that could be the key to higher bandwidth wireless communications...while requiring less battery life. A UD research team has created a high-electron mobility transistor with ... read more

Hourglass-Shaped Silicon Nanowire Photodiodes With Increased Absorption of Light Developed

Scientists have proposed creating vertical silicone nanowires with high sensitivity by using silicone and semiconductor ... read more

Novel Memory Device Can Be Written on and Read out Optically or Electrically

Scientists have developed a novel storage technology based on the combination of an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) and an ... read more

Scratching the Surface of Perovskites

Scientists have, for the first time, characterized the structural defects that prompt the movement of ions, destabilizing the perovskite materials. The researchers' findings may inform future ... read more

New Electrodes Could Increase Efficiency of Electric Vehicles and Aircraft

The rise in popularity of electric vehicles and aircraft presents the possibility of moving away from fossil fuels toward a more sustainable future. While significant technological advancements have ... read more

Big Plans to Save the Planet Depend on Nanoscopic Materials Improving Energy Storage

Scientists present a comprehensive analysis of two decades of energy storage research involving nanomaterials. The authors lay out a roadmap for how this technology can enable the world's urgent ... read more

Theory of Pore-Scale Transport to Enable Improved Flow Batteries

Redox flow batteries are an emerging technology for electrochemical energy storage that could help enhance the use of power produced by renewable energy resources. Scientists have addressed some of ... read more

Emissions from Electricity Generation Lead to Premature Deaths for Some Racial Groups

Researchers have found that air pollution from electricity generation emissions in 2014 led to about 16,000 premature deaths in the continental ... read more

New Hybrid Device Can Both Capture and Store Solar Energy

Researchers have reported a new device that can both efficiently capture solar energy and store it until it is needed, offering promise for applications ranging from power generation to distillation ... read more

This Humidity Digester Breathes in Atmospheric Water and Exhales Energy

Integrating a super moisture-absorbent gel with light-active materials, researchers have developed a humidity digester to dry the ambient air while generating energy. The method is a green ... read more

Soft Skin-Like Robots You Can Put in Your Pocket

Stretchable skin-like robots that can be rolled up and put in your pocket have been developed by a team using a new way of embedding artificial muscles and electrical adhesion into soft ... read more

Decarbonizing the Power Sector

Electricity supply is one of the biggest CO2 emitters globally. To keep global warming well below 2°C, several paths lead to zero emissions in the energy sector, and each has its potential ... read more

Blowing Bubbles: Scientist Confirms Way to Launch Current in Fusion Plasmas

Physicists have used high-resolution computer simulations to investigate the practicality of the CHI start-up technique. The simulations show that CHI could produce the current continuously in ... read more

Novel Direct Thermal Charging Cell Converts Low-Grade Waste Heat to Usable Electricity

Engineers can now efficiently convert heat into electricity, creating a huge potential to reduce greenhouse effects by capturing exhaust heat and cutting down primary energy ... read more

Scientists Show How Perovskite Solar Cells Can Capture More Electricity

Scientists have developed a method to analyze which pairs of materials in next-generation perovskite solar cells will harvest the most ... read more

Engineers Creating Miniaturized, Wireless Oxygen Sensor for Sick Infants

Researchers are developing a sensor the size of a Band-Aid that will measure a baby's blood oxygen levels, a vital indication of the lungs' effectiveness and whether the baby's tissue ... read more

Storing Energy in Hydrogen 20 Times More Effective Using Platinum-Nickel Catalyst

Catalysts accelerate chemical reactions, but the widely used metal platinum is scarce and expensive. Researchers have now developed an alternative with a 20x higher activity: a catalyst with hollow ... read more

New Material Breaks World Record Turning Heat Into Electricity

Thermoelectric materials convert heat into electrical energy. The amount of energy that can be generated is measured by the so-called ZT value. The best thermoelectrics to date were measured at ZT ... read more

Modeling Every Building in America Starts With Chattanooga

Researchers used a supercomputer to model every building serviced by the Electric Power Board of Chattanooga -- all 178,368 of them -- and discovered through more than 2 million simulations that EPB ... read more

Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Friday, November 22, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Monday, October 14, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Friday, September 13, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019