advertisement
Medical Technology News
December 7, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Researchers have developed a way to capture moving objects with the unconventional imaging method known as ghost imaging. The new method could make the imaging technique ... read more

Lessons of Conventional Imaging Let Scientists See Around Corners

Scientists, drawing on the lessons of classical optics, have shown that it is possible to image complex hidden scenes using a projected 'virtual camera' to see around ... read more

First-Ever Successful Mind-Controlled Robotic Arm Without Brain Implants

Researchers have made a breakthrough in the field of noninvasive robotic device control. Using a noninvasive brain-computer interface (BCI), researchers have developed the first-ever successful ... read more

A Miniature Robot That Could Check Colons for Early Signs of Disease

Engineers have shown it is technically possible to guide a tiny robotic capsule inside the colon to take micro-ultrasound images. Known as a Sonopill, the device could one day replace the need for ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 6:21pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Simple Experiment Explains Magnetic Resonance

Physicists have designed an experiment to explain the concept of magnetic resonance. A versatile technique employed in chemistry, physics, and materials research, magnetic resonance describes a ... read more

Novel MRI-Guided Ultrasound Treatment Destroys Prostate Cancer

A novel MRI-guided procedure that uses therapeutic ultrasound effectively treats prostate cancer with minimal side effects, according to a new study. Researchers said the incision-free technique ... read more

Low-Cost, Portable System Takes OCT Beyond Ophthalmology

Researchers have developed a way to perform optical coherence tomography (OCT) in hard-to-reach areas of the body such as joints. The advance could help bring this high-resolution biomedical imaging ... read more

New X-Ray Technology Could Revolutionize How Doctors Identify Abnormalities

Using ground-breaking technology, researchers are testing a new method of X-ray imaging that uses color to identify microfractures in bones. Microfractures were previously impossible to see using ... read more

Syringe-Injectable, Self-Expandable and Ultraconformable Magnetic Nanosheets

The ultrathin films are able to be injected using minimally-invasive syringe needles and can be used as a platform to deliver molecular and cellular drugs. The use of shape-memory polymer also ... read more

Digital Breast Tomosynthesis Increases Cancer Detection Over Full-Field Mammography

A new article compares cancer detection rates (CDR) for screening digital breast tomosynthesis (DBT) versus full-field digital mammography (FFDM). Researchers found that DBT results in ... read more

Nanotechnology Improves Chemotherapy Delivery

Michigan State University scientists have invented a new way to monitor chemotherapy concentrations, which is more effective in keeping patients' treatments within the crucial therapeutic ... read more

Novel Approach to Ultrasound Raises Possibility of New Medical Applications

A new ultrasound technique provides a non-invasive way of assessing bone structure on the microscale. Researchers hope to fine-tune the technique for use in assessing osteoporosis risk and ... read more

One-Atom Switch Supercharges Fluorescent Dyes

A lab developed a single-atom switch to turn fluorescent dyes used in biological imaging on and off at ... read more

Lollies, Vitamins and Fish-Shaped Sauce Containers Hit the MRI Mark

A study has identified four common items that could be cheaper and equally effective alternatives to commercial markers for use in MRI scanning to pinpoint specific anatomical areas or pathologies ... read more

Computational Approach Speeds Up Advanced Microscopy Imaging

Researchers have developed a way to enhance the imaging speed of two-photon microscopy up to 5 times without compromising resolution. This record-fast imaging speed will allow scientists to observe ... read more

Gold Nanoparticles Shown to Be Safe and Effective Treatment for Prostate Cancer

Bio-compatible gold nanoparticles designed to convert near-infrared light to heat have been shown to safely and effectively ablate low- to intermediate-grade tumors within the prostate, according to ... read more

Machine Learning Increases Resolution of Eye Imaging Technology

Biomedical engineers have devised a method for increasing the resolution of optical coherence tomography (OCT) down to the single micrometer in all directions, even in a living patient. The new ... read more

'MasSpec Pen' for Accurate Cancer Detection During Surgery

A major challenge for cancer surgeons is to determine where a tumor starts and where it ends. The 'MasSpec Pen,' a handheld device in development, could someday enable surgeons to ... read more

Tiny Lensless Endoscope Captures 3D Images of Objects Smaller Than a Cell

Researchers have developed a new self-calibrating endoscope that produces 3D images of objects smaller than a single cell. Without a lens or any optical, electrical or mechanical components, the tip ... read more

New Contrast Agent Could Make MRIs Safer

Researchers have taken a key step forward in developing a new, possibly safer contrast agent for use in MRI ... read more

Two-in-One Contrast Agent for Medical Imaging

Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) visualizes internal body structures, often with the help of contrast agents to enhance sensitivity. Scientists have now developed a bimodal contrast agent suited for ... read more

Wearable Motion Sensors Could Save Unborn Babies

Researchers have developed a technique that could allow expectant parents to hear their baby's heartbeat continuously at home with a non-invasive and safe device that is potentially more ... read more

Spacer Protects Healthy Organs from Radiation Exposure During Particle Therapy

Medical researchers have develop a novel medical device with non-woven fabric style made of bioabsorbable ... read more

AI Improves Efficiency and Accuracy of Digital Breast Tomosynthesis

Artificial intelligence (AI) helps improve the efficiency and accuracy of an advanced imaging technology used to screen for breast cancer, according to a new ... read more

Friday, December 6, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Thursday, August 8, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Friday, July 26, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Friday, June 28, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019
Thursday, June 20, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Friday, June 7, 2019
Thursday, June 6, 2019
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Monday, May 20, 2019
Thursday, May 16, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Friday, April 26, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Sunday, April 14, 2019
Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Monday, April 1, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Friday, March 22, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Tuesday, March 19, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Friday, March 8, 2019
Thursday, March 7, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Friday, February 22, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Friday, September 28, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Tuesday, September 25, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Monday, September 17, 2018
Thursday, September 13, 2018