advertisement
Optics News
December 9, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Astrophysicists employed massive super-computer simulations to calculate the mechanisms that accelerate charged particles in extreme environments. They concluded their ... read more
Billions of tiny interactions occur between thousands of particles in every piece of matter in the blink of an eye. Simulating these interactions in their full dynamics was ... read more
Researchers have developed a way to capture moving objects with the unconventional imaging method known as ghost imaging. The new method could make the imaging technique ... read more
Experiments are casting a new light on Egyptian soil and ancient mummified bone samples that could provide a richer understanding of daily life and environmental conditions ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 7:21am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Making Higher-Energy Light to Fight Cancer

Researchers have achieved photon up-conversion, the emission of light with energy higher than the one that excites the material, using carefully designed structures containing silicon nanocrystals ... read more

When Laser Beams Meet Plasma: New Data Addresses Gap in Fusion Research

Scientists have directly demonstrated for the first time how laser beams modify the conditions of a plasma, addressing one of the challenges in the longstanding quest to achieve ... read more

Controlling the Optical Properties of Solids With Acoustic Waves

Physicists have found that large-amplitude acoustic waves, launched by ultrashort laser pulses, can dynamically manipulate the optical response of ... read more

Daylight Damage to Photovoltaics

A research team has investigated the ways sunlight can degrade the efficiency of newly developed organic photovoltaics over time. This work may assist in the wide commercialization of next-generation ... read more

Armored With Plastic 'Hair' and Silica, New Perovskite Nanocrystals Show More Durability

Researchers have demonstrated a novel approach aimed at addressing the perovskite's durability problem: encasing the perovskite inside a double-layer protection system made from plastic and ... read more

Glass from a 3D Printer

ETH researchers used a 3D printing process to produce complex and highly porous glass objects. The basis for this is a special resin that can be cured with UV ... read more

Hourglass-Shaped Silicon Nanowire Photodiodes With Increased Absorption of Light Developed

Scientists have proposed creating vertical silicone nanowires with high sensitivity by using silicone and semiconductor ... read more

Novel Memory Device Can Be Written on and Read out Optically or Electrically

Scientists have developed a novel storage technology based on the combination of an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) and an ... read more

New Antenna Tech to Equip Ceramic Coatings With Heat Radiation Control

Researchers have developed a way for ceramic coatings to control heat radiation, a feature that could increase the performance of aircraft engines operating at high ... read more

A Super-Fast 'Light Switch' for Future Cars and Computers

Switching light beams quickly is important in many technological applications. Researchers have now developed an 'electro-opto-mechanical' switch for light beams that is considerably ... read more

Photoinitiators Detected in Human Breast Milk

Photoinitators (PIs) are compounds used in the ink of many types of food packaging. The substances have been shown to migrate into food and, when consumed, show up in human blood serum. Now, for the ... read more

This Humidity Digester Breathes in Atmospheric Water and Exhales Energy

Integrating a super moisture-absorbent gel with light-active materials, researchers have developed a humidity digester to dry the ambient air while generating energy. The method is a green ... read more

4D Imaging With Liquid Crystal Microlenses

Most images captured by a camera lens are flat and two dimensional. Increasingly, 3D imaging technologies are providing the crucial context of depth for scientific and medical applications. 4D ... read more

New Water-Based Optical Device Revolutionizes the Field of Optics Research

Using the optical properties of a material to manipulate light signals is called light modulation, a method widely used in optical communication. In a groundbreaking study, a group of scientists has ... read more

Scientists Have Removed an Important Obstacle to the Practical Use of Nanooptical Traps

Nanooptical traps are a promising building block for quantum technologies. Scientists have now removed an important obstacle to their practical use. They were able to show that a special form of ... read more

Atoms, Molecules or Even Living Cells Can Be Manipulated With Light Beams

Special light beams can be used to manipulate molecules or small biological particles. However, these optical tweezers only work with objects in empty space. Any disturbing environment would deflect ... read more

Light-Sensing Camera May Help Detect Extraterrestrial Life, Dark Matter

Researchers have made one of the highest-performance cameras ever composed of sensors that count single photons, or particles of ... read more

Foam Offers Way to Manipulate Light

Scientists have shown that a type of foam long studied by scientists is able to block particular wavelengths of light, a coveted property for next-generation information technology that uses light ... read more

Scientists Show How Perovskite Solar Cells Can Capture More Electricity

Scientists have developed a method to analyze which pairs of materials in next-generation perovskite solar cells will harvest the most ... read more

Hot Electrons Harvested Without Tricks

Semiconductors convert energy from photons into an electron current. However, some photons carry too much energy for the material to absorb. These photons produce 'hot electrons', and the ... read more

Monday, December 2, 2019
Saturday, November 30, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Friday, November 1, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Saturday, October 5, 2019