advertisement
Solar Energy News
December 5, 2019

Top Headlines
 

This year's Nobel Prize in Physics is being awarded "for contributions to our understanding of the evolution of the universe ... read more

Laser Printing Tech Produces Waterproof E-Textiles in Minutes

In just three minutes, the laser printing approach can produce a 10x10 cm smart textile patch that's waterproof, stretchable and easily integrated with solar or other sources of ... read more

Materials That Can Revolutionize How Light Is Harnessed for Solar Energy

Scientists have designed organic molecules capable of generating two excitons per photon of light, a process called singlet fission. The excitons can live for much longer than those generated from ... read more

In the Future, This Electricity-Free Tech Could Help Cool Buildings in Metropolitan Areas

Engineers designed a new system to help cool buildings in crowded metropolitan areas without consuming electricity, an important innovation as cities ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 9:20am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

New Technique Lets Researchers Map Strain in Next-Gen Solar Cells

Researchers have developed a way to map strain in lead halide perovskite solar cells without harming them. Their approach can image the grain structure of a perovskite solar cell, showing that ... read more

Where to Install Renewable Energy in US to Achieve Greatest Benefits

A new study shows that to achieve the biggest improvements in public health and the greatest benefits from renewable energy, wind turbines should be installed in the Upper Midwest and solar power ... read more

To Rid Electric Grid of Carbon, Shore Up Green Energy Support

Engineers, along with an economist, have created an energy model that helps to remove carbon-generated power from the US electric grid -- replacing it with a greener, financially feasible wind, solar ... read more

Biological Material Boosts Solar Cell Performance

Next-generation solar cells that mimic photosynthesis with biological material may give new meaning to the term 'green technology.' Adding the protein bacteriorhodopsin (bR) to perovskite ... read more

Mix Master: Modeling Magnetic Reconnection in Partially Ionized Plasma

Many of the most dramatic events in the solar system -- the spectacle of the Northern Lights, the explosiveness of solar flares, and the destructive impact of geomagnetic storms that can disrupt ... read more

Replacing Coal With Gas or Renewables Saves Billions of Gallons of Water

The transition from coal to natural gas in the US electricity sector is reducing the industry's water use, research finds. For every megawatt of electricity produced using natural gas instead of ... read more

Why Modified Carbon Nanotubes Can Help the Reproducibility Problem

Scientists have conducted an in-depth study on how carbon nanotubes with oxygen-containing groups can be used to greatly enhance the performance of perovskite solar cells. The newly discovered ... read more

Croissant Making Inspires Renewable Energy Solution

The art of croissant making has inspired researchers to find a solution to a sustainable energy ... read more

Modified Quantum Dots Capture More Energy from Light and Lose Less to Heat

Scientists have synthesized magnetically-doped quantum dots that capture the kinetic energy of electrons created by ultraviolet light before it's wasted as ... read more

Eco-Friendly Electrochemical Catalysts Using Solar Cells to Harvest Energy from the Sun

A research team develops an eco-friendly device that uses solar energy to catalyze an electrochemical oxidation reaction with high ... read more

New Standard of Reference for Assessing Solar Forecast Proposed

Being able to accurately forecast how much solar energy reaches the surface of the Earth is key to guiding decisions for running solar power plants and new work looks to provide a standard of ... read more

Even Short-Lived Solar Panels Can Be Economically Viable

A new study shows that, contrary to widespread belief within the solar power industry, new kinds of solar cells and panels don't necessarily have to last for 25 to 30 years in order to be ... read more

Lighting the Path to Renewable Energy

Scientists have developed a novel, standardized way of quantifying and comparing these variations in solar power. The new study may help guide the development and performance of solar photovoltaic ... read more

Breakthrough for Transparent Conductors: Touch Screen Coatings

Researchers have made an important design discovery that could dramatically improve the performance of a key material used to coat touch screens and other ... read more

Welcome Indoors, Solar Cells

Scientists have developed organic solar cells optimized to convert ambient indoor light to electricity. The power they produce is low, but is probably enough to feed the millions of products that the ... read more

Device Generates Light from the Cold Night Sky

An inexpensive thermoelectric device harnesses the cold of space without active heat input, generating electricity that powers an LED at night, researchers ... read more

How Much Photovoltaics (PV) Would Be Needed to Power the World Sustainably?

The International Energy Agency has dubbed increased global cooling demand as one of the most critical blind spots in today's energy ... read more

Flexible Solar Cells a Step Closer to Reality

Solar cells that use mixtures of organic molecules to absorb sunlight and convert it to electricity, that can be applied to curved surfaces such as the body of a car, could be a step closer thanks to ... read more

Colorful Microreactors Utilize Sunlight

The sun is the most sustainable energy source available on our planet and could be used to power photochemical reactions. Scientists now present a widely applicable, cost-effective photomicroreactor. ... read more

Agrivoltaics Proves Mutually Beneficial Across Food, Water, Energy Nexus

Building resilience in renewable energy and food production is a fundamental challenge in today's changing world, especially in regions susceptible to heat and drought. Agrivoltaics, the ... read more

Thursday, October 31, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Friday, August 23, 2019
Friday, August 16, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Thursday, August 8, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Friday, July 26, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Friday, July 12, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Wednesday, July 3, 2019
Monday, July 1, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019
Thursday, June 20, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Monday, June 17, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Friday, May 3, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Monday, April 29, 2019
Friday, April 26, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Friday, April 12, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Friday, April 5, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019