advertisement
Technology News
December 8, 2019

Top Headlines
 

A new approach could inform the design of quantum materials platforms for future electronics, as well as faster devices with ... read more

Computer Scientists Develop New Tool That Generates Videos from Themed Text

A global team of computer scientists have developed ''Write-A-Video'', a new tool that generates videos from themed text. Using words and text editing, the tool automatically determines which scenes ... read more

Artificial Skin Creates First Ticklish Devices

A new interface takes touch technology to the next level by providing an artificial skin-like membrane for augmenting interactive devices such as phones, wearables or ... read more

New Haptic Arm Places Robotics Within Easy Reach

Imagine being able to build and use a robotic device without the need for expensive, specialist kit or skills. That is the vision that researchers have now turned into reality, creating a ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 9:50am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Hourglass-Shaped Silicon Nanowire Photodiodes With Increased Absorption of Light Developed

Scientists have proposed creating vertical silicone nanowires with high sensitivity by using silicone and semiconductor ... read more

Tiny Devices Made of DNA Detect Cancer With Fewer False Alarms

A new cancer-detecting tool uses tiny circuits made of DNA to identify cancer cells by the molecular signature on their surface. The circuits work by attaching to the outside of a cell and analyzing ... read more

New Method for Using Spin Waves in Magnetic Materials

In order to miniaturize individual components of mobile phones or computers, for example, magnetic waves are currently regarded as promising alternatives to conventional data transmission functioning ... read more

New Antenna Tech to Equip Ceramic Coatings With Heat Radiation Control

Researchers have developed a way for ceramic coatings to control heat radiation, a feature that could increase the performance of aircraft engines operating at high ... read more

Boosting 5G Technology

A new project may boost 5G and mm-Wave technologies, improving military communications and sensing ... read more

Breaking (and Restoring) Graphene's Symmetry in a Twistable Electronics Device

A recent study demonstrates a new way to tune the properties of 2D materials simply by adjusting the twist angle between them. The researchers built devices consisting of monolayer graphene ... read more

A Super-Fast 'Light Switch' for Future Cars and Computers

Switching light beams quickly is important in many technological applications. Researchers have now developed an 'electro-opto-mechanical' switch for light beams that is considerably ... read more

Making Tiny Antennas for Wearable Electronics

When it comes to electronics, bigger usually isn't better. This is especially true for a new generation of wearable communication systems that promise to connect people, machines and other ... read more

Beyond Moore's Law: Taking Transistor Arrays Into the Third Dimension

Silicon integrated circuits, which are used in computer processors, are approaching the maximum feasible density of transistors on a single chip -- at least, in two-dimensional ... read more

Clean Carbon Nanotubes With Superb Properties

Scientists have found a new way to make ultra-clean carbon nanotube transistors with superior semiconducting ... read more

Artificial Intelligence Algorithm Can Learn the Laws of Quantum Mechanics

Artificial intelligence can be used to predict molecular wave functions and the electronic properties of molecules. This innovative AI method could be used to speed-up the design of drug molecules or ... read more

Kick-Starting Moore's Law? New 'Synthetic' Method for Making Microchips Could Help

Researchers have developed a new method for producing atomically-thin semiconducting crystals that could one day enable more powerful and compact electronic ... read more

Novel Direct Thermal Charging Cell Converts Low-Grade Waste Heat to Usable Electricity

Engineers can now efficiently convert heat into electricity, creating a huge potential to reduce greenhouse effects by capturing exhaust heat and cutting down primary energy ... read more

Discovery in Ferroelectric Material Reveals Unique Property, Application Potential

A discovery from a team of physicists and other researchers is breaking new ground in the study of ferroelectricity, a characteristic of certain dielectric materials that are used in high-technology ... read more

Engineers Creating Miniaturized, Wireless Oxygen Sensor for Sick Infants

Researchers are developing a sensor the size of a Band-Aid that will measure a baby's blood oxygen levels, a vital indication of the lungs' effectiveness and whether the baby's tissue ... read more

Tiny Low-Energy Device to Rapidly Reroute Light in Computer Chips

Researchers have developed an optical switch that routes light from one computer chip to another in just 20 billionths of a second -- faster than any other similar device. The compact switch is the ... read more

Design Flaw Could Open Bluetooth Devices to Hacking

Mobile apps that work with Bluetooth devices have an inherent design flaw that makes them vulnerable to hacking, new research has ... read more

New Material Breaks World Record Turning Heat Into Electricity

Thermoelectric materials convert heat into electrical energy. The amount of energy that can be generated is measured by the so-called ZT value. The best thermoelectrics to date were measured at ZT ... read more

Graphene: The More You Bend It, the Softer It Gets

New research by engineers combines atomic-scale experimentation with computer modeling to determine how much energy it takes to bend multilayer graphene -- a question that has eluded scientists since ... read more

The Smell of Old Books Could Help Preserve Them

Old books give off a complex mélange of odors, ranging from pleasant (almonds, caramel and chocolate) to nasty (formaldehyde, old clothes and trash). Detecting early signs of paper degradation could ... read more

Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Friday, November 22, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Sunday, November 3, 2019
Friday, November 1, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Monday, October 14, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Friday, October 4, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Friday, September 27, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019