advertisement
Technology News
March 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Ever wish your computer could think like you do or perhaps even understand you? That future may not be now, but it's one step closer, thanks to scientists and engineers and ... read more

'Surfing Attack' Hacks Siri, Google With Ultrasonic Waves

Using ultrasound waves propagating through a solid surface, researchers were able to read text messages and make fraudulent calls on a cellphone sitting on a desk up to 30 feet ... read more
Research on novel nanoelectronics devices has enabled brain neurons and artificial neurons to communicate with each other over ... read more

Magnet-Controlled Bioelectronic Implant Could Relieve Pain

An electrical and computer engineer has introduced the first neural implant that can be programmed and charged remotely with a magnetic ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 6:50am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

A Synchronization Approach to Sensing Using Many Oscillators

Engineers have found a new approach of taking a measurement over an extended area. The technique is based on coupled 'chaotic oscillators,' which are highly sensitive electronic circuits ... read more

Semiconductors Can Behave Like Metals and Even Like Superconductors

The crystal structure at the surface of semiconductor materials can make them behave like metals and even like superconductors, a research team has shown. The discovery potentially opens the door to ... read more

Engineers Crack 58-Year-Old Puzzle on Way to Quantum Breakthrough

A mishap during an experiment led quantum computing researchers to crack a mystery that had stood since ... read more

Inverse Design Software Automates Design Process for Optical, Nanophotonic Structures

Researchers created an inverse design codebase called SPINS that can help researchers explore different design methodologies to find fabricable optical and nanophotonic ... read more

Scalable System for Producing Promising 2D Material

Researchers have designed a system that can be used to make large quantities of the material while preserving its unique properties. The team recently reported that a lab-scale reactor system ... read more

New Acoustic Smart Material Inspired by Shark Skin

Researchers created a new sharkskin-inspired smart material that allows shifts in acoustic transmission on demand using magnets. As a result the new material can achieve multiple properties in one ... read more

The Ink of the Future in Printed Electronics

A research group has created an organic material with superb conductivity that doesn't need to be doped. They have achieved this by mixing two polymers with different ... read more

A Flexible Brain for AI

Scientists have developed a customizable computing device using nanofabricated switches than can be rewired to optimize AI applications using 80% less power. These devices can be used as flexible ... read more

'Magnonic Nanoantennas': Optically-Inspired Computing With Spin Waves One Step Closer

A new methodology for generating and manipulating spin waves in nanostructured magnetic materials opens the way to developing nano-processors for extraordinarily quick and energy efficient analog ... read more

World's Smelliest Fruit Could Charge Your Mobile Phone

Pungent produce packs an electrical punch. New method using world's 'most repulsive smelling fruit' could 'substantially reduce' the cost of energy storage. Super-capacitors ... read more

Integrating Electronics Onto Physical Prototypes

Researchers have invented a way to integrate 'breadboards' -- flat platforms widely used for electronics prototyping -- directly onto physical products. The aim is to provide a faster, ... read more

Scientists Demonstrate First Non-Volatile Nano Relay Operation at 200°C

Researchers have come up with a new type of nanoelectromechanical relay to enable reliable high-temperature, non-volatile memory. The work is an important development for all-electric vehicles and ... read more

A Talented 2D Material Gets a New Gig

Scientists have designed a tunable graphene device for experiments in exotic physics, where superconducting, insulating, and magnetic properties can be observed in a single system. The technology ... read more

A Small Step for Atoms, a Giant Leap for Microelectronics

In a new study, researchers report on making large single-crystal sheets of hexagonal boron nitride, touted as a key insulator in future two-dimensional ... read more

Breaking Point of Conducting Material

An improved method to predict the temperature when plastics change from supple to brittle, which could potentially accelerate future development of flexible electronics, was ... read more

New Material Could Turn Clothing Into a Health Monitor

Researchers have reported a new material, pliable enough to be woven into fabric but imbued with sensing capabilities that can serve as an early warning system for injury or ... read more

This Wearable Device Camouflages Its Wearer No Matter the Weather

Researchers have developed a wearable technology that can hide its wearer from heat-detecting sensors such as night vision goggles, even when the ambient temperature changes -- a feat that current ... read more

Engineers Zap and Unstick Underwater Smart Glue

Turning adhesion on and off is what makes a glue smart. Inspired by nature, catechols are synthetic compounds that mimic the wet-but-still-sticky proteins found in mussel feet and offer promise for ... read more

KITE Code Could Power New Quantum Developments

A research collaboration has created open-source software to assist in the creation of quantum materials which could in turn vastly increase the world's computing ... read more

Ultrafast Probing Reveals Intricate Dynamics of Quantum Coherence

Ultrafast, multidimensional spectroscopy unlocks macroscopic-scale effects of quantum electronic correlations. Researchers found that low-energy and high energy states are correlated in a layered, ... read more

Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Tuesday, March 17, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Tuesday, March 10, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Friday, February 28, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Friday, February 21, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Monday, February 17, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Thursday, February 13, 2020
Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Monday, February 10, 2020
Friday, February 7, 2020
Thursday, February 6, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Friday, January 24, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020