advertisement
Alzheimer's News
February 18, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Scientists have identified a molecular 'switch' that controls the immune machinery responsible for chronic inflammation in the body. The finding could lead to new ways to ... read more
A molecular switch has the ability to turn on a substance in animals that repairs neurological damage in disorders such as multiple sclerosis (MS), researchers have ... read more

Forgetfulness Might Depend on Time of Day

Researchers have identified a gene in mice that seems to influence memory recall at different times of day and tracked how it causes mice to be more forgetful just before they normally wake ... read more

The Secret to a Long Life? For Worms, a Cellular Recycling Protein Is Key

Scientists have shown that worms live longer lives if they produce excess levels of a protein, p62, which recognizes toxic cell proteins that are tagged for destruction. The discovery could help ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 5:18pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

A Good Blood Supply Is Good for Memory

Memory performance and other cognitive abilities benefit from a good blood supply to the brain. This applies in particular to people affected by a condition known as 'sporadic cerebral small ... read more

Can Bilingualism Protect the Brain Even With Early Stages of Dementia?

Psychology researchers provide new evidence that bilingualism can delay symptoms of dementia. Researchers found bilingualism provides the brain with greater cognitive reserve, delaying onset of ... read more

The Human Brain's Meticulous Interface With the Bloodstream Now on a Precision Chip

It can be the bain of brain drug developers: The interface between the human brain and the bloodstream, the blood-brain-barrier, is so meticulous that animal models often fail to represent it. This ... read more

Toxic Protein, Linked to Alzheimer's and Neurodegenerative Diseases, Exposed in New Detail

The protein tau has long been implicated in Alzheimer's and a host of other debilitating brain diseases. But scientists have struggled to understand exactly how tau converts from its normal, ... read more

Gene ID'd as Potential Therapeutic Target for Dementia in Parkinson's

Researchers have discovered that the genetic variant APOE4 -- long linked to dementia -- spurs the spread of harmful clumps of Parkinson's proteins through the brain. The findings suggest that ... read more

Researcher's Technology Differentiates Between Parkinson's Disease and Multiple System Atrophy

Scientists have found a way to distinguish between two progressive neurodegenerative diseases, Parkinson's disease (PD) and multiple system atrophy ... read more

Unique Neuron Computes Like a Compass

It's 5 p.m. as you leave the parking garage at work, but you realize you have no idea which way to turn to travel home. You know where you are and what street your house is on -- it's just ... read more

Tumbleweeds or Fibrils: Tau Proteins Need to Choose

Simulations suggests two paths tau proteins may take in the brains of patients with Alzheimer's and Pick's ... read more

Flickering Light Mobilizes Brain Chemistry That May Fight Alzheimer's

The promise of flickering light to treat Alzheimer's takes another step forward in this new study, which reveals stark biochemical mechanisms: 40 Hertz stimulus triggers a marked release of ... read more

Aerobic Exercise Training Linked to Enhanced Brain Function

Individuals at risk for Alzheimer's disease (AD) because of family history or genetic predisposition who engaged in six months of aerobic exercise training improved their brain glucose ... read more

Researchers Discover How Cellular Senescence Leads to Neurodegeneration

Although a link has been established between chronic inflammation and neurodegenerative diseases, there have been many open questions regarding how cellular senescence, a process whereby cells that ... read more

New Mathematical Model for Amyloid Formation

Scientists report on a mathematical model for the formation of amyloid fibrils. The model sheds light on how the aggregation process can occur in a catalytic manner, something that has not been ... read more

AI-Analyzed Blood Test Can Predict the Progression of Neurodegenerative Disease

A new study shows artificial intelligence (AI) analysis of blood samples can predict and explain disease progression, which could one day help doctors choose more appropriate and effective treatments ... read more

Unexpected Connection Between Gliomas, Neurodegenerative Diseases

New basic science and clinical research identifies TAU, the same protein studied in the development of Alzheimer's, as a biomarker for glioma ... read more

New Tool for Investigating Brain Cells, Parkinson's, and More

Researchers have created a new chemical tool for revealing how specific types of brain cell receptors function in the brain. It's an important step forward for studying Alzheimer's, ... read more

Possible Alzheimer's Breakthrough Suggested

Researchers say they have identified a previously unknown gene and associated protein (which they have named 'aggregatin') which could potentially be suppressed to slow the advance of ... read more

Brain Blood Flow Sensor Discovery Could Aid Treatments for High Blood Pressure and Dementia

Scientists have discovered the mechanism that allows the brain to monitor its own blood supply, a finding in rats which may help to find new treatments for human conditions including hypertension ... read more

Protein Associated With Ovarian Cancer Exacerbates Neurodegeneration in Alzheimer's

Scientists have identified a protein found in ovarian cancer that may contribute to declining brain function and Alzheimer's disease, by combining computational methods and lab ... read more

Speech-Disrupting Brain Disease Reflects Patients' Native Tongue

English and Italian speakers with dementia-related language impairment experience distinct kinds of speech and reading difficulties based on features of their native languages, according to new ... read more

Losing a Night of Sleep May Increase Blood Levels of Alzheimer's Biomarker

A preliminary study has found that when young, healthy men were deprived of just one night of sleep, they had higher levels of tau -- a biomarker for Alzheimer's disease -- in their blood than ... read more

Friday, February 14, 2020
Thursday, February 13, 2020
Monday, February 10, 2020
Thursday, February 6, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Thursday, January 2, 2020
Wednesday, January 1, 2020
Tuesday, December 31, 2019
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Friday, December 13, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Monday, October 14, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Friday, October 4, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Friday, September 27, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019