advertisement
Alzheimer's News
April 1, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Scientists have just shown that a metabolic pathway plays a determining role in Alzheimer's disease's memory problems. This work also shows that supplying a specific amino ... read more
Scientists have identified a molecular 'switch' that controls the immune machinery responsible for chronic inflammation in the body. The finding could lead to new ways to ... read more

Molecular Switch for Repairing Central Nervous System Disorders

A molecular switch has the ability to turn on a substance in animals that repairs neurological damage in disorders such as multiple sclerosis (MS), researchers have discovered. The early research in ... read more

Forgetfulness Might Depend on Time of Day

Researchers have identified a gene in mice that seems to influence memory recall at different times of day and tracked how it causes mice to be more forgetful just before they normally wake ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 1:18pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Could Disease Pathogens Be the Dark Matter Behind Alzheimer's Disease?

Researchers discuss the idea that bacteria, viruses or other infectious pathogens may play a role in Alzheimer's ... read more

Alzheimer's and an Unusual Molecular Chaperone

A research team elucidates the aggregation mechanism of the Alzheimer protein ... read more

Protective Brain-Cell Housekeeping Mechanism May Also Regulate Sleep

An important biological mechanism that is thought to protect brain cells from neurodegenerative diseases such as Alzheimer's and Parkinson's may also be involved in regulating sleep, ... read more

Gold Nanoparticles Uncover Amyloid Fibrils

Scientists have developed powerful tools to unmask the diversity of amyloid fibrils, which are associated with Alzheimer's disease and other neurodegenerative disorders. The scientists made the ... read more

To Protect Your Brain, Don't Be (Too) Kind!

Scientists demonstrated, through brain imaging and psycho-cognitive evaluations conducted over several years on a community-based cohort of elderly people, that certain personality traits protect ... read more

BIN1 Deficit Impairs Brain Cell Communication, Memory Consolidation

A new study has discovered that a lack of neuronal protein BIN1 leads to a defect in the transmission of chemical messages that activate brain cell communication allowing us to think, remember and ... read more

Immune Cells Against Alzheimer's?

Researchers have developed a novel, experimental approach against Alzheimer's. The approach is based on the stimulation of immune cells of the brain (microglia) by means of an ... read more

Scientists Create Tool to Detect Genes Associated With Psychiatric, Brain Diseases

Scientists have created a new computational tool called H-MAGMA to study the genetic underpinnings of nine brain disorders, including the identification of new genes associated with each ... read more

Curcumin Is the Spice of Life When Delivered Via Tiny Nanoparticles

For years, curry lovers have sworn by the anti-inflammatory properties of turmeric, but its active compound, curcumin, has long frustrated scientists hoping to validate these claims with clinical ... read more

Researchers Catalog Dozens of Mutations in Crucial Brain Development Gene

An international team of researchers that pooled genetic samples from developmentally disabled patients from around the world has identified dozens of new mutations in a single gene that appears to ... read more

Gene Variants May Increase Susceptibility to Accumulate Alzheimer's Protein Tau

The toxic protein tau is a key biological feature in the brains of people with Alzheimer's disease. Yet the factors that make people susceptible or resistant to tau accumulation are not ... read more

Blood Test Method May Predict Alzheimer's Protein Deposits in Brain

Researchers report an advance in the development of a blood test that could help detect pathological Alzheimer's disease in people who are showing signs of dementia. This approach could be less ... read more

Could New Discovery Play a Role in Diagnosing Alzheimer's Earlier?

Scientists have detected that a previously overlooked gene behavior could potentially lead to a new way to diagnose Alzheimer's ... read more

Widowhood Accelerates Cognitive Decline Among Those at Risk for Alzheimer's Disease

A new study finds that widowhood can have another profound effect: It may accelerate cognitive ... read more

The Effects of Obesity Mirror Those of Aging

R esearchers argue that obesity should be considered premature aging. They look at how obesity predisposes people to acquiring the kinds of potentially life-altering or life-threatening diseases ... read more

'Resetting' Immune Cells Improves Traumatic Brain Injury Recovery in Preclinical Trials

Targeting overactive immune cells and dampening their chronic neurotoxic effects may offer new therapeutic strategies for traumatic brain injury (TBI), according to new preclinical research in ... read more

Supplementing Diet With Amino Acid Successfully Staves Off Signs of ALS in Pre-Clinical Study

The addition of dietary L-serine, a naturally occurring amino acid necessary for formation of proteins and nerve cells, delayed signs of amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) in an animal ... read more

Iron in Brain Shows Cognitive Decline in People With Parkinson's

A cutting-edge MRI technique to detect iron deposits in different brain regions can track declines in thinking, memory and movement in people with Parkinson's disease, finds a new ... read more

Blood Supply to the Brain, as Needed

Researchers have discovered a new mechanism for how the brain and its arteries communicate to supply blood to areas of heightened neural activity. The findings enable new avenues of study into the ... read more

Neighborhood Features and One's Genetic Makeup Interact to Affect Cognitive Function

Few studies have examined how the neighborhood's physical environment relates to cognition in older adults. Researchers categorized 4,716 individuals by apolipoprotein E (APOE) genotype -- a ... read more

Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020
Thursday, March 12, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Monday, February 17, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Thursday, February 13, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Monday, February 10, 2020
Thursday, February 6, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Saturday, January 25, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Thursday, January 2, 2020
Wednesday, January 1, 2020
Tuesday, December 31, 2019
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Friday, December 13, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019