advertisement
Infant and Preschool Learning News
March 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Leaving an infant to 'cry it out' from birth up to 18 months does not appear to adversely affect their behavior development ... read more
A new study finds the value of using 'parentese,' an exaggerated speaking style that conveys total engagement with ... read more

Baby and Adult Brains 'Sync Up' During Play

A team of researchers has conducted the first study of how baby and adult brains interact during natural play, and they found measurable connections in their neural activity. In other words, baby and ... read more
Researchers -- and parents -- have long known that babies learn to speak by mimicking the words they hear. But a new study shows that babies also might try to imitate the ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 6:48am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

For Anxious Spouses, a Baby May Be a Rival

A new child can spark feelings of jealousy in a person who already fears being abandoned by his or her partner, research suggests. A new study found that partners who showed signs of relationship ... read more

A Smart Jumpsuit Provides Information on Infants' Movement and Development

A new innovation makes it possible, for the first time, to quantitatively assess children's spontaneous movement in the natural ... read more

New Study Provides Criteria for Good Infant Sleep for the First Time

According to a new study, sleep problems among infants are very common and normally improve by the time the child reaches the age of ... read more

New research finds that altruism may begin in infancy. In a study of nearly 100 19-month-olds, researchers found that children, even when hungry, gave a tasty snack to a stranger in ... read more

Early Life Experiences Biologically and Functionally Mature the Brain

Experiences early in life have an impact on the brain's biological and functional development, shows a new study by a team of ... read more

Bilingual Language Program for Babies: Online Training for Teachers

A study shows that a bilingual language program for babies can reach more families, and instructors, through online training for ... read more

Infants Integrate Firsthand and Social Experiences to Decide When and How to Try

Persistence is important to learning and is related to success in school and emotional well-being. A new study of persistence shows that 18-month-old infants made rational inferences about applying ... read more

Sleep Linked to Language Skills in Neurodevelopmental Disorders

New research has discovered that Down's syndrome, Fragile X syndrome and Williams syndrome are all linked to sleep disruption in very young children, and that sleep plays a crucial role in the ... read more

Kangaroo Mother Care Reduces Infant Mortality

When newborn babies with low birth weight are held close to their mother's bodies throughout the day, their chance of survival increases ... read more

False Negatives: Delayed Zika Effects in Babies Who Appeared Normal at Birth

Colombian infants exposed to Zika virus in the womb showed neurodevelopmental delays as toddlers, despite having 'normal' brain imaging and head circumference at birth, a finding that ... read more

Moms' Obesity in Pregnancy Is Linked to Lag in Sons' Development and IQ

A mother's obesity in pregnancy can affect her child's development years down the road, according to researchers who found lagging motor skills in preschoolers and lower IQ in middle ... read more

Mothers' and Babies' Brains 'More in Tune' When Mother Is Happy

Mothers' and babies' brains can work together as a 'mega-network' by synchronising brain waves when they interact. The level of connectivity of the brain waves varies according to ... read more

Paving the Way to Healing Complex Trauma

A major study has identified key themes that will be used to inform strategies to support Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander parents in the first years of their children's ... read more

Probiotic May Help Treat Colic in Infants

Probiotics -- or 'good bacteria' -- have been used to treat infant colic with varying success. In a new trial, investigators have shown that drops containing a particular probiotic strain ... read more

Prenatal Opioid Exposure May Alter Brain Function in Babies

Connectivity in an area of the brain that regulates emotion may be altered in infants exposed to opioids while in utero, according to a new ... read more

Helicopter Parents and 'Hothouse Children' -- Exploring the High Stakes of Family Dynamics

The phenomenon of helicopter parenting most often occurs in middle- to upper-class families where stakes are high for parents to be able to show off their children's success. Her research, which ... read more

Mothers' Pregnancy-Related Anxiety May Alter How Infants' Brains Respond to Sad Speech

A study shows a correlation between mothers' self-reported pregnancy-related anxiety, and babies' blood flow to brain areas responsible for emotional responses when listening to sad ... read more

Late Talkers Twice as Likely to Have Severe, Frequent Temper Tantrums

Toddler speech delays and temper tantrums have long been assumed to be linked. Now, for the first time, a new, large-scale study supports that assumption with ... read more

Seizures in Babies: UVA Sheds Light on Why They Have Lifelong Effects

A doctor is using an elegant new approach to mapping brain activity to shed light on what happens during seizures in newborns that can lead to behavioral issues and learning disabilities much ... read more

Teens Who Have Loving Bond With Mother Less Likely to Enter Abusive Relationships

A mother's warmth and acceptance toward her teenagers may help prevent those children from being in an abusive relationship later in life, even if her own marriage is contentious, according to a ... read more

Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Monday, January 20, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Monday, January 6, 2020
Monday, December 23, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Friday, December 13, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Saturday, October 5, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Friday, September 27, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Tuesday, August 6, 2019
Friday, August 2, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Monday, July 22, 2019
Thursday, July 18, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Sunday, July 7, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Friday, May 31, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Sunday, May 26, 2019
Friday, May 24, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Saturday, April 27, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019