advertisement
Insomnia News
February 18, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Later School Start Times Reduce Car Crashes, Improve Teen Safety

A study found that later school start times were associated with a significant drop in vehicle accidents involving teen ... read more

Forgetfulness Might Depend on Time of Day

Researchers have identified a gene in mice that seems to influence memory recall at different times of day and tracked how it causes mice to be more forgetful just before they normally wake ... read more

Stressed to the Max? Deep Sleep Can Rewire the Anxious Brain

Researchers have found that the type of sleep most apt to calm and reset the anxious brain is deep sleep, also known as non-rapid eye movement (NREM) slow-wave sleep, a state in which neural ... read more

Only Half of US Children Get Enough Sleep During the Week

Only 48% of school age children in the United States get 9 hours of sleep most weeknights, according to new research. Those who do, the study suggests, are significantly more likely to show a ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 5:48pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Sleep Linked to Language Skills in Neurodevelopmental Disorders

New research has discovered that Down's syndrome, Fragile X syndrome and Williams syndrome are all linked to sleep disruption in very young children, and that sleep plays a crucial role in the ... read more

Blue Light Can Help Heal Mild Traumatic Brain Injury

Daily exposure to blue wavelength light each morning helps to re-entrain the circadian rhythm so that people get better, more regular sleep which was translated into improvements in cognitive ... read more

Parents Aren't Powerless When It Comes to Sleep-Deprived Teenagers

Teenagers in the US simply don't get enough shut eye. The consequences of this sleep deprivation epidemic are extensive and include increasing rates of anxiety and depression among adolescents, ... read more

Losing a Night of Sleep May Increase Blood Levels of Alzheimer's Biomarker

A preliminary study has found that when young, healthy men were deprived of just one night of sleep, they had higher levels of tau -- a biomarker for Alzheimer's disease -- in their blood than ... read more

Chronobiology: 'We'll Be in Later'

Students attending a high school in Germany can decide whether to begin the schoolday at the normal early time or an hour later. According to chronobiologists, the measure has had a positive effect ... read more

Neurons Responsible for Rapid Eye movements/REM During Sleep

Why do we move our eyes fast in the paradoxical sleep -- in that sleep phase, in which most dreams take place? The secret is not yet fully aired, but we are on his track: A team has identified the ... read more

Can Good Sleep Patterns Offset Genetic Susceptibility to Heart Disease and Stroke?

A pioneering new study found that even if people had a high genetic risk of heart disease or stroke, healthy sleep patterns could help offset that ... read more

A New Way to Optimize Sleep and Light Exposure Can Reduce Jet Lag and Improve Alertness

Researchers explain how they have developed and demonstrated a series of algorithms that can analyze biometric information recorded by a smart device and then recommend the best combination of sleep ... read more

Nurses Sleep Less Before a Scheduled Shift, Hindering Patient Care and Safety

Nurses sleep nearly an hour and a half less before work days compared to days off, which hurts patient care and safety, finds a new ... read more

Refined Carbs May Trigger Insomnia, Finds Study

Women who consumed a diet high in added sugars and refined carbohydrates had a greater risk of developing insomnia, a new study has ... read more

Take Long Naps? Sleep More Than Nine Hours a Night? Your Stroke Risk May Be Higher

People who take long naps during the day or sleep nine or more hours at night may have an increased risk of stroke, according to a new ... read more

Skipping One Night of Sleep May Leave Insomniacs Twice as Impaired

Poor daytime functioning is a frequent complaint among those suffering from insomnia. Previous studies have found that their daytime cognitive performance is not significantly degraded, seemingly ... read more

Open Source EEG Visualization Tool

Researchers have developed a free open source computer program that can be used to create visual and quantitative representations of brain electrical activity in laboratory animals in hopes of ... read more

Three Types of Cells Help the Brain Tell Day from Night

Researchers report the discovery of three cell types in the eye that detect light and align the brain's circadian rhythm to our ambient light. The study marks the first direct assessment in ... read more

Probiotic May Help Treat Colic in Infants

Probiotics -- or 'good bacteria' -- have been used to treat infant colic with varying success. In a new trial, investigators have shown that drops containing a particular probiotic strain ... read more

Machine Learning That Works Like a Dream

Researchers have developed a machine learning algorithm that classifies the sleep stages of mice with record accuracy. This work may be used to greatly enhance the field of sleep ... read more

Compound Controls Biological Clock With Light

A chemical cage suppresses the activity of a biological clock regulator in the dark and releases it with light, showing potential for future treatments of circadian-clock-related ... read more

Concussion Recovery Not Clear Cut for Children

Sleep problems, fatigue and attention difficulties in the weeks after a child's concussion injury could be a sign of reduced brain function and decreased grey ... read more

Science Underestimated Dangerous Effects of Sleep Deprivation

One of the largest sleep studies dubunks theory that suggests attention is the only cognitive function affected by sleep ... read more

Chronic Opioid Therapy Can Disrupt Sleep, Increase Risk of Sleep Disorders

Patients and medical providers should be aware that chronic opioid use can interfere with sleep by reducing sleep efficiency and increasing the risk of sleep-disordered ... read more

Thursday, January 16, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Friday, December 20, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Friday, December 13, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Friday, September 27, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Thursday, August 8, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Tuesday, August 6, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Friday, July 19, 2019
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Monday, July 1, 2019
Friday, June 28, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Friday, June 7, 2019
Thursday, June 6, 2019
Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019
Friday, May 31, 2019
Thursday, May 30, 2019
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Monday, May 20, 2019