advertisement
Parenting News
December 8, 2019

Top Headlines
 

Children's average daily time spent watching television or using a computer or mobile device increased from 53 minutes at age 12 months to more than 150 minutes at 3 years, ... read more

At What Age Is It Considered Child Neglect to Leave a Child Home Alone?

A majority of social workers surveyed believe children should be at least 12 before being left home alone four hours or longer, and they are more likely to consider a home-alone scenario as neglect ... read more

Only Half of US Children Get Enough Sleep During the Week

Only 48% of school age children in the United States get 9 hours of sleep most weeknights, according to new research. Those who do, the study suggests, are significantly more likely to show a ... read more

Mothers' Behavior Influences Bonding Hormone Oxytocin in Babies

A new epigenetic study now suggests that mothers' behavior can also have a substantial impact on their children's developing oxytocin ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 9:49am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Study Teases out Factors Associated With Postpartum Overdose

A new study uncovers several risk factors associated with postpartum opioid ... read more

Complementary and Alternative Therapies to Treat Colic in Babies

A review of the evidence on the use of complementary and alternative (CAM) therapies to treat babies with colic has shown some that some treatments -- including probiotics, fennel extract and spinal ... read more

Trauma and Kids: The Role of the Early Childhood Teacher

New research has explored the growing uncertainty faced by children aged 0-8 years in disaster zones, such as bushfires, finding that early childhood teachers hold a vital role in supporting children ... read more

Preterm Children Have Similar Temperament to Children Who Were Institutionally Deprived

A child's temperament appears to be affected by the early stages of their life. Researchers have found children who were born very preterm (under 32 weeks gestation) or very low birthweight ... read more

Mothers' Pregnancy-Related Anxiety May Alter How Infants' Brains Respond to Sad Speech

A study shows a correlation between mothers' self-reported pregnancy-related anxiety, and babies' blood flow to brain areas responsible for emotional responses when listening to sad ... read more

Associations Between Childhood Maltreatment and Offending Behaviors Later in Life

Children who experience maltreatment, such as neglect or physical or sexual abuse, are more likely to engage in delinquent and offending behaviors in adolescence and young adulthood, according to a ... read more

Only-Children More Likely to Be Obese Than Children With Siblings

Families with multiple children tend to make more healthy eating decisions than families with a single ... read more

How Human Population Came from Our Ability to Cooperate

Humans' ability to cooperate during child-bearing years by sharing food, labor, and childcare duties is the story of population ... read more

Whether Direct or Indirect, Parental Alienation Harms Families

In one particular form of family violence, a parent tries to damage a child's relationship with the other parent. The outcome of these behaviors is called parental alienation, and it can result ... read more

Seizures in Babies: UVA Sheds Light on Why They Have Lifelong Effects

A doctor is using an elegant new approach to mapping brain activity to shed light on what happens during seizures in newborns that can lead to behavioral issues and learning disabilities much ... read more

How Are Psychiatric Disorders Linked to Infections During Pregnancy?

Severe infections during pregnancy have been connected to a range of psychiatric disorders by different studies in humans and animals. Now, researchers have shown in mice how the infections affect ... read more

Teens Who Have Loving Bond With Mother Less Likely to Enter Abusive Relationships

A mother's warmth and acceptance toward her teenagers may help prevent those children from being in an abusive relationship later in life, even if her own marriage is contentious, according to a ... read more

Immune 'Control Switch' Could Prevent Brain Injury in Premature Babies

About 15 million babies are born prematurely around the world each year and many suffer brain injuries when their immune response goes into overdrive. Researchers have now discovered an immune ... read more

Should Preschool Writing Be More Communication and Less ABCs?

Writing instruction in early education should be about more than letter formation and penmanship, argue researchers who found preschool teachers don't often encourage writing for communication ... read more

Significantly Fewer Pregnant Women Take Antidepressants

A pregnancy is not always a happy event and as many as 10-15% of pregnant women in Denmark have depressive symptoms. A new study now shows a significant decrease in the use of antidepressants by ... read more

Teen Marijuana Use May Have Next-Generation Effects

A new study shows how a parent's use of marijuana, past or present, can influence their child's substance use and ... read more

Power of Family Resilience to Protect Children from Bullying

Studies show that children exposed to childhood trauma known as adverse childhood experiences (ACEs) are at increased risk of being bullied or bullying others. New research suggests that family ... read more

Baby Formula Improved by Ingredient Often Removed During Homogenization

A clinical trial shows infants who consume formula containing milk fat globule membrane (MFGM) score higher in cognitive, language and motor development than infants consuming a milk-based formula ... read more

Babies Understand Counting Years Earlier Than Believed

Babies who are years away from being able to say 'one,' 'two,' and 'three' actually already have a sense of what counting means, researchers have discovered. The ... read more

Young Moms More Likely to Have Kids With ADHD

Young mothers have a greater chance of having a child with attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), according to new research. Exploring the genetic relationship between female reproductive ... read more

Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Saturday, October 5, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Friday, September 27, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Monday, September 2, 2019
Friday, August 30, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Friday, August 23, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Friday, August 16, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Monday, August 12, 2019
Saturday, August 10, 2019
Tuesday, August 6, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Friday, August 2, 2019
Thursday, August 1, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019