advertisement
Parenting News
January 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

A team of researchers has conducted the first study of how baby and adult brains interact during natural play, and they found measurable connections in their neural activity. ... read more
Ever since humans domesticated the dog, the faithful, obedient and protective animal has provided its owner with companionship and emotional well-being. Now, a study suggests ... read more

High Amounts of Screen Time Begin as Early as Infancy

Children's average daily time spent watching television or using a computer or mobile device increased from 53 minutes at age 12 months to more than 150 minutes at 3 years, according to a recent ... read more

At What Age Is It Considered Child Neglect to Leave a Child Home Alone?

A majority of social workers surveyed believe children should be at least 12 before being left home alone four hours or longer, and they are more likely to consider a home-alone scenario as neglect ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 2:19am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Bilingual Language Program for Babies: Online Training for Teachers

A study shows that a bilingual language program for babies can reach more families, and instructors, through online training for ... read more

Women Still Face Barriers to Breastfeed at Work

Despite the protections in place to support breastfeeding for employees, the burden still falls on working mothers to advocate for the resources they need, according to a new ... read more

When Pregnant Moms Are Stressed Out, Babies' Brains Suffer

Knowing that your unborn fetus has congenital heart disease causes such pronounced maternal stress, anxiety and depression that these women's fetuses end up with impaired development in key ... read more

One-Fourth of Children With Autism Are Undiagnosed

One-fourth of children under age 8 with autism spectrum disorder -- most of them black or Hispanic -- are not being diagnosed, which is critical for improving quality of ... read more

Parents Aren't Powerless When It Comes to Sleep-Deprived Teenagers

Teenagers in the US simply don't get enough shut eye. The consequences of this sleep deprivation epidemic are extensive and include increasing rates of anxiety and depression among adolescents, ... read more

Addressing the Emotional Toll of Pediatric Chronic Conditions

Report calls upon pediatricians to increase efforts to support emotional health of parents of children with chronic ... read more

False Negatives: Delayed Zika Effects in Babies Who Appeared Normal at Birth

Colombian infants exposed to Zika virus in the womb showed neurodevelopmental delays as toddlers, despite having 'normal' brain imaging and head circumference at birth, a finding that ... read more

Moms' Obesity in Pregnancy Is Linked to Lag in Sons' Development and IQ

A mother's obesity in pregnancy can affect her child's development years down the road, according to researchers who found lagging motor skills in preschoolers and lower IQ in middle ... read more

Genes and Family Are Biggest Predictor of Academic Success

Whether children will enjoy academic success can be now predicted at birth, a new study suggests. The study found that parents' socioeconomic status and children's inherited DNA differences ... read more

Parental Coaching Adolescents Through Peer Stress

During early adolescence, especially the transition to middle school, kids face a number of challenges both socially and academically. Parents can act as social 'coaches,' offering support ... read more

Mothers' and Babies' Brains 'More in Tune' When Mother Is Happy

Mothers' and babies' brains can work together as a 'mega-network' by synchronising brain waves when they interact. The level of connectivity of the brain waves varies according to ... read more

Women Need Professional Emotional Support During High-Risk Pregnancies, Study Finds

Little is known about how women manage emotional distress during high-risk pregnancies, but researchers learned that without psychosocial support, many women struggle with fears and tears while ... read more

The Rare Genetic Disorder Identified in Only 3 People Worldwide

A team of researchers has cracked a rare gene variant for a disorder that causes severe neurodegeneration in ... read more

Paving the Way to Healing Complex Trauma

A major study has identified key themes that will be used to inform strategies to support Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander parents in the first years of their children's ... read more

Zika Vaccine Protects Both Mom and Fetus, but Mom Needs a Higher Dose When Pregnant

Researchers showed, for the first time, that a single, higher dose of vaccination to a pregnant mouse safely protects both her and her fetus from the Zika virus. The researchers found that a single, ... read more

Artificial Intelligence Boosts MRI Detection of ADHD

Deep learning, a type of artificial intelligence, can boost the power of MRI in predicting attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), according to a new study. Researchers said the approach ... read more

Water Births Are as Safe as Land Births for Mom, Baby

A new study found that water births are no more risky than land births, and that women in the water group sustain fewer first and second-degree ... read more

Prenatal and Early Life Exposure to Multiple Air Pollutants Increases Odds of Toddler Allergies

A new article shows a significant association between multiple prenatal and early life exposures to indoor pollutants and the degree of allergic sensitivity in ... read more

Brain Differences Detected in Children With Depressed Parents

The largest brain imaging study of children ever conducted in the United States has revealed structural differences in the brains of those whose parents have ... read more

Probiotic May Help Treat Colic in Infants

Probiotics -- or 'good bacteria' -- have been used to treat infant colic with varying success. In a new trial, investigators have shown that drops containing a particular probiotic strain ... read more

Thursday, January 23, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Monday, January 6, 2020
Monday, December 23, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Friday, December 13, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Saturday, October 5, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Friday, September 27, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Monday, September 2, 2019
Friday, August 30, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019