advertisement
Racial Issues News
December 8, 2019

Top Headlines
 

'You All Look Alike to Me' Is Hard-Wired in Us, Research Finds

We are hard-wired to process -- or not process -- facial differences based on race. And that process occurs in the earliest filters of our thought process, according to newly published ... read more

Mortality Rates Rising for Gens X and Y, Too

Declining life expectancies in the US include Gen X and Y Americans, in addition to the older Baby Boomers. But the causes of premature mortality vary by race, gender and ethnicity, according to a ... read more

Culture Affects How People Deceive Others, Study Shows

People's language changes when they lie depending on their cultural background, psychologists have discovered. Linguistic cues to deception do not appear consistently across all cultures. The ... read more

Infants Show Racial Bias Toward Members of Own Ethnicity, Against Those of Others

Six- to nine-month-old infants demonstrate racial bias in favor of members of their own race and racial bias against those of other races, two new ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 10:19am EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Children Associate White, but Not Black, Men With 'Brilliant' Stereotype, New Study Finds

The stereotype that associates being 'brilliant' with white men more than white women is shared by children regardless of their own race, finds a team of psychology researchers. By ... read more

Does Being a 'Superwoman' Protect African American Women's Health?

A new study explores whether different facets of being a strong black woman, which researchers sometimes refer to as 'superwoman schema,' ultimately protect women from the negative health ... read more

Many Injured US Adult Cyclists Not Wearing a Helmet

Men and ethnic minorities are less likely to wear cycle helmets and more likely to suffer from head and neck injuries in accidents, according to new ... read more

Experience of Being a Minority Puts US Teens at Higher Risk of Anxiety, Depression

Puerto Rican teens growing up as minorities in the South Bronx are more likely to experience anxiety and depression than their peers growing up as a majority in Puerto Rico, even under similar ... read more

Autism Rates Increasing Fastest Among Black, Hispanic Youth

Autism rates among black and HIspanic children are catching up to and, in many states, exceeding rates among white youth, who have historically had higher prevalence, a new study ... read more

Type 2 Diabetes and Sleep Problems in Midlife Women

Hormone changes are known to alter insulin sensitivity and glucose metabolism, as well as interfere with women's sleep patterns. But little was known about the association between diabetes and ... read more

Medical Mistrust Impacts African American Men's Preventive Health, but Racism Also Matters

Mistrust of health care providers, fueled by painful experiences with racism, makes African American men more likely to delay routine screenings and doctor's appointments, with potentially ... read more

Characteristics of Older Adults With Moderately Severe Dementia

A study has found that many characteristics among older adults with moderately severe dementia differ depending on whether they live at home or in residential care or nursing ... read more

Black Students Receive Fewer Warnings from Teachers About Misbehavior

A social work professor found in a new study that black middle school students receive fewer warnings from their teachers about misbehavior, giving them fewer opportunities to correct their behavior ... read more

New Insights on Overdose Rates, County Segregation, and Socioeconomics

Deaths from drug overdoses have risen dramatically in the United States over the past 20 years, and researchers seek to understand complex factors that may affect these deaths. A new study examined ... read more

Race, Ethnicity and Exclusionary Discipline Practices

Discipline and how it is administered in schools across the US continues to be a hotly debated topic. A new project analyzed how ethnicity and race are associated with school exclusionary discipline ... read more

Monitoring Educational Equity

A centralized, consistently reported system of indicators of educational equity is needed to bring attention to disparities in the US education system, says a new report. Indicators -- measures used ... read more

Racism Has a Toxic Effect

Researchers have long known that racism is linked to health problems, but now results from a small study using RNA tests show that racism appears to increase chronic inflammation among African ... read more

Want Black Women Students to Stay in STEM? Help Them Find Role Models Who Look Like Them

Representation matters for Black women college students when it comes to belonging in rigorous science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) programs, according to a new study. Having role ... read more

Racial Bias Associated With Disparities in Disciplinary Action Across US Schools

Across US counties, black students experience higher rates of suspension, expulsion, in-school arrests and law enforcement referrals than whites, according to a new ... read more

African-Americans More Likely to Be Misdiagnosed With Schizophrenia, Study Finds

African-Americans with severe depression are more likely to be misdiagnosed as having schizophrenia, according to a new ... read more

Academic Performance of Urban Children With Asthma Worse Than Peers Without Asthma

A new study shows urban children with poorly controlled asthma, particularly those who are ethnic minorities, also suffer academically. Kids who were kept home due to asthma symptoms weren't ... read more

White Math Teachers Treat Students Differently in Predominantly Black Schools

White math teachers in predominantly black middle schools are more likely to respond negatively to students' behavioral or academic issues - and this may have long-term negative consequences for ... read more

Lack of Fair Access to Urban Green Spaces

People with higher incomes and more education tend to have greater access to urban green spaces than their less privileged neighbors, a new study of parks and greenery in 10 major North American ... read more

How Today's High School Cliques Compare to Yesterday's

Changing demographics, cultural influences and the increasing number of college-bound youth have led to the emergence of new peer groups and perceptions among ... read more

Thursday, October 10, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Friday, September 13, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Monday, June 17, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Friday, May 31, 2019
Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Monday, October 22, 2018
Thursday, October 4, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Wednesday, August 22, 2018
Tuesday, August 21, 2018
Monday, August 20, 2018
Sunday, August 12, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Monday, July 16, 2018
Monday, July 2, 2018
Monday, June 25, 2018
Thursday, June 14, 2018
Thursday, May 24, 2018
Tuesday, May 22, 2018
Thursday, May 17, 2018
Tuesday, May 15, 2018
Monday, May 14, 2018
Friday, May 4, 2018
Thursday, April 19, 2018
Friday, April 13, 2018
Monday, April 9, 2018
Thursday, March 1, 2018
Friday, February 9, 2018
Thursday, February 8, 2018
Monday, February 5, 2018
Wednesday, January 24, 2018
Tuesday, January 23, 2018
Tuesday, January 16, 2018
Monday, January 8, 2018
Monday, December 18, 2017
Wednesday, December 6, 2017
Tuesday, December 5, 2017
Friday, December 1, 2017
Thursday, November 30, 2017
Monday, November 27, 2017
Monday, November 13, 2017
Thursday, November 9, 2017
Monday, October 16, 2017
Thursday, October 12, 2017
Wednesday, October 11, 2017
Wednesday, October 4, 2017
Tuesday, September 26, 2017
Wednesday, August 30, 2017
Monday, August 21, 2017
Wednesday, August 16, 2017
Wednesday, August 9, 2017
Monday, July 31, 2017
Tuesday, July 11, 2017
Tuesday, June 27, 2017
Thursday, June 22, 2017
Tuesday, June 20, 2017
Thursday, June 15, 2017
Friday, June 9, 2017
Tuesday, May 23, 2017
Wednesday, May 17, 2017
Monday, May 15, 2017
Tuesday, May 9, 2017
Thursday, May 4, 2017
Tuesday, March 28, 2017
Friday, March 24, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017
Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Monday, March 13, 2017
Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Tuesday, March 7, 2017
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Monday, February 20, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017