advertisement
Biotechnology and Bioengineering News
January 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Scientists have developed a new gene-therapy technique by transforming human cells into mass producers of tiny nano-sized particles full of genetic material that has the ... read more

Bacteria Made to Mimic Cells, Form Communities

Scientists have found a way to make single-celled bacteria behave like stem cells, differentiating into genetically unique individuals as they ... read more

Genetic Control for Major Agricultural Weeds?

Waterhemp and Palmer amaranth, two aggressive weeds that threaten the food supply in North America, are increasingly hard to kill with commercially available herbicides. A novel approach known as ... read more

'Semi-Synthetic' Bacteria Churn out Unnatural Proteins

Synthetic biologists seek to create new life with forms and functions not seen in nature. Although scientists are a long way from making a completely artificial life form, they have made ... read more
Latest Headlines
updated 11:52pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Poplar Genetically Modified Not to Harm Air Quality Grow as Well as Non-Modified Trees

Field trials in Oregon and Arizona show that poplar trees, which emit trace amounts of the gas isoprene, can be genetically modified not to harm air quality while leaving their growth potential ... read more

Synthetic Phages With Programmable Specificity

Researchers are using synthetic biology to reprogram bacterial viruses -- commonly known as bacteriophages -- to expand their natural host range. This technology paves the way for the therapeutic use ... read more

Non-GM Produce Earns 'Halo Effect' Under New Labeling Laws

Consumers were more willing to buy unlabeled produce after being shown food tagged as ''genetically modified'' in a new study that comes two months before a new federal law, ... read more

Researchers Call for Responsible Development of Synthetic Biology

Engineering biology is transforming technology and science. Researchers outline the technological advances needed to secure a safe, responsible ... read more

CRISPR-BEST Prevents Genome Instability

Scientists have developed CRISPR-BEST, a new genome editing tool for actinomycetes. It addresses the problem of genome instability caused by DNA double-stranded breaks in current ... read more

Researchers Unlock Potential to Use CRISPR to Alter the Microbiome

Researchers have developed a new way to deliver the DNA-editing tool CRISPR-Cas9 into microorganisms in the lab, providing a way to efficiently launch a targeted attack on specific ... read more

New Method to Purify Cell Types to High Purity

Current biology research relies on the ability to purify cell types using antibodies or transgenic constructs. However, antibody availability is often limited, and genetic manipulation is labor ... read more

How Time Affects the Fate of Stem Cells

Scientists have discovered how temporal fluctuations in the levels of two transcription factors can push embryonic stems cells into becoming different cell ... read more

New CRISPR Class Expands Genetic Engineering Toolbox

Biomedical engineers have used a previously unexplored CRISPR technology to accurately regulate and edit target genes in human cells. With this new approach, the researchers hope to dramatically ... read more

Genetically Engineered Plasmid Can Be Used to Fight Antimicrobial Resistance

Researchers have engineered a plasmid to remove an antibiotic resistance gene from the Enterococcus faecalis bacterium, an accomplishment that could lead to new methods for combating antibiotic ... read more

Synthetic Biologists Extend Functional Life of Cancer Fighting Circuitry in Microbes

Bioengineers have developed a method to significantly extend the life of gene circuits used to instruct microbes to do things like produce and deliver drugs, break down chemicals and sense the ... read more

Revolutionizing the CRISPR Method

Researchers have refined the famous CRISPR-Cas method. Now, for the very first time, it is possible to modify dozens, if not hundreds, of genes in a cell ... read more

Research Team Redefines the Footprint of Viral Vector Gene Therapy

Building on a track record of developing adeno-associated viral (AAV) vectors as a groundbreaking clinical tool for gene therapy and gene editing, researchers report a more sensitive method for ... read more

Microrobots to Change the Way We Work With Cellular Material

Scientists have developed a system in which moving patterns of light are used to control the activity of microrobots, which are programmed to 'scoop up' mammalian cells so that they can be ... read more

Transformed Tobacco Fields Could Cuts Costs for Medical Proteins

A new study describes the first successful rearing of engineered tobacco plants in order to produce medical and industrial proteins outdoors in the field, a necessity for economic viability, so they ... read more

World First: Homing Instinct Applied to Stem Cells Show Cells 'Home' to Cardiac Tissue

In a world first, scientists have found a new way to direct stem cells to heart tissue. The findings could radically improve the treatment for cardiovascular disease, which causes more than a quarter ... read more

Scissors Get Stuck: Another Way Bacteria Use CRISPR/Cas9

Before humans repurposed it as a gene editing tool, CRISPR/Cas9 was a sort of internal immune system bacteria use to defend themselves against phages. Scientists have found that the ... read more

Take Two E. Coli and Call Me in the Morning

What if the bacteria in your daily probiotic were also able to detect diseases in the gut and indicate when something is awry? New research has created an effective, non-invasive way to quickly ... read more

Robot Arm Tastes With Engineered Bacteria

A robotic gripping arm that uses engineered bacteria to 'taste' for a specific chemical has been developed by engineers. The gripper is a proof-of-concept for biologically-based soft ... read more

New Study on Gene Editing in Wildlife Finds People Are Wary

The applications of CRISPR based genetic engineering tools range from changing colors in butterfly wings to developing gene therapies that might one day cure or prevent human diseases. Some ... read more

Monday, January 6, 2020
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Friday, October 4, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Monday, September 16, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Wednesday, July 3, 2019
Monday, July 1, 2019
Friday, June 28, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Tuesday, May 7, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Thursday, November 15, 2018
Monday, October 29, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Tuesday, October 2, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Monday, September 17, 2018
Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Friday, August 31, 2018
Friday, August 24, 2018
Tuesday, August 21, 2018
Thursday, August 16, 2018
Tuesday, August 14, 2018
Monday, August 13, 2018
Wednesday, August 8, 2018
Friday, August 3, 2018
Thursday, August 2, 2018
Wednesday, August 1, 2018
Tuesday, July 31, 2018
Wednesday, July 18, 2018
Monday, June 25, 2018
Thursday, June 21, 2018
Wednesday, June 20, 2018
Friday, June 15, 2018
Friday, June 8, 2018
Monday, June 4, 2018
Tuesday, May 29, 2018
Thursday, May 24, 2018
Tuesday, May 22, 2018
Thursday, May 10, 2018
Tuesday, May 8, 2018
Thursday, April 26, 2018
Thursday, April 19, 2018
Friday, April 13, 2018
Thursday, March 29, 2018
Monday, March 26, 2018
Friday, March 23, 2018
Thursday, March 22, 2018
Monday, March 19, 2018
Tuesday, March 13, 2018